We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winery Tour and Stay”

Vina Casa Marin Winery
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lo Abarca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Viña Casa Marín is a family-owned boutique winery located in the San Antonio appellation, founded by María Luz Marín in 2000, a passionate wine maker and entrepreneur. Viña Casa Marin is now recognized as one of the 100 best vineyards in the world. Its truly unique terroir, just 4 kilometers from the coast, makes it currently Chile's closest vineyard to the Pacific Ocean. Casa Marin has been described as the “most daring and innovative vineyard” in Chile, famous for their cool climate fine wines. They have won many awards including the “Best Sauvignon Blanc in the World” in 2010 and the best in Chile in 2013. Open for private tours and tastings of their Premium wines, lunches with the family members and winemaker, and overnight stays in the private Bed & Breakfast, situated at one of the vineyard’s most privileged spots with a spectacular view of the Pacific ocean.
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Winery Tour and Stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

They let us be flexible! We were to be in Chile for three weeks and stay at Casa Marin for two days but had to change our plans because my mother had health issues in the U.S. When we found ourselves a half-hour away from their winery on our fourth day in Chile, I called and they were able to have us stay that night in the little house in the midst of their winery. The quiet beauty and panoramic views proved very relaxing after the stressful news from home. My husband and I had the house to ourselves, had a great dinner, got to watch the pickers right outside our door the next morning, and enjoyed a wonderful tour of the winery with Jamie. This slightly out-of-the-way place isn't that far from Valparaiso or Santiago and is definitely worth a visit!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A paradise”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I have spent 2 nights at Vina Casa Marin and I can highly recommend the place: a little villa with 2 bedrooms in the middle of vineyards. The place is new, renovated with class and perfect for any solution, both romantic or with the family.
They offer you a cook that comes to the villa (you can go there only if you have a car) to prepare breakfast and dinner at reasonable prices (only pay attention to the cost of the wine: rather expensive).
On top of that they include in the cost of the room a wine tasting tour with the brother of the owner that is very nice and competent. We also had the chance to talk with the owner (fascinating woman) and her husband (a gentleman) that speak perfect English and made our holyday even more personal. A must do.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jean thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful, secluded, delicious retreat”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I visited Casa Marin with three friends at the end of February, 2012. The winery is in a sweet village near the boisterous beach town of Cartagena. It is ultra modern but designed with respect for its location and heritage. The wines are very distinctive, due to the vineyards' location so close to the cool breezes off the Pacific Ocean.
We stayed in the guesthouse, in the middle of the vines, on a breezy hilltop. Access is via a steep dirt road, so it is very private. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed lounging on the deck and sketching the hillside views.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank quibblest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in the cottage nestled among the vines for one night in March and if we had known it would be so cosy with beautiful views and complete tranquility we would have stayed much longer. It only takes an hour and a half to drive from Santiago but this spot feels like a million miles away from the City. Needless to say Casa Marin is renowed for it's exceptional award winning wines but we never expected the cottage to be so beautiful.

We were also so very lucky to have breakfast with Osvaldo Marin (the winemakers charming brother) who treated us to a tour of the Bodega and a tasting. It really was the icing on the cake that Osvaldo spent time with us and made our stay such a memorable occasion.

This place is really worth the visit and you will feel as lucky as we felt being able to stay here.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMcGoos95A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“THIS IS THE WINERY TO VISIT”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you are short or long on time in Chile.

This is the tasting you should not miss and make sure you taste as much as you can

do not miss the best Winery in Chile from a Warm and Geniune family who love wine and make it so well.

Take it from me its my business and I think the wines and hospitality are fantastic.

Thank you Casa Marin.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vina Casa Marin Winery also viewed

Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Lagunillas, Valparaiso Region
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Vina Casa Marin Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing