We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best resorts (if not the best) I´ve stayed in”
Review of Raffles Seychelles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raffles Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Me and my wife were at Raffles Praslin in early March and travelled from Iceland through London and Dubai.

We flew from Dubai and landed in Mahé were we were greeted with a staff-member wich showed us the way to the domestic wing of the airport - wich was very good as we were very tired after the flight and did not know our way around the airport (but still it´s small so don´t worry!).

The flight from Mahé to Praslin takes 15 minutes and was fine - and there we were again met with a staff-member, this time to pick us up and take us to the hotel, maybe a 20-30 minute drive at most.

We had a panoramic villa with a fantastic view.

In short, everything was top notch. But I must note that prices (food/drinks) are high. Probably we would have had even more to eat and drink if it wouldn´t have been so expensive. We went a couple of nights outside of the hotel to eat, where prices are maybe 50% cheaper in some instances. Otherwise we would just have stayed at Raffles, as the food and service was of high quality.

I highly reccomend the hotel. Beautiful location, extremely nice staff, very good villas, good food ... all you need for a good relaxation in the sun!

ps. we did the couples massage wich was great! gym was also very good (not big) with great views.

Room Tip: Panoramic if you like the view. Beach if you prefer that. We had panoramic and it was fantastic. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReykjavikResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Reykjavik,

Greetings from Raffles Praslin Seychelles.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Raffles Praslin Seychelles and for recommending our beautiful resort on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to have welcome you here and are surely looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back very soon.

We are very happy to read that we have contributed in making your stay in Seychelles a memorable one specially with the good services, nice staff, delicious food, the location of your villa, good massage and the gym as you quoted. We will pass these comments with the team.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in paradise very soon.

Best tropical regards

The Raffles Pralin Seychelles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We went to Raffles Praslin on our honeymoon and it was the clear leader on the island. The property is exceptional location, and quality. All staff are at your service all the time. Drinks were well made. Food was good, though pricey. Big credit to the breakfast buffet which had excellent quality and variety to start off the day right. Rooms were well laid out and enjoyable. Perfect place for couples.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pretesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time at Raffles Praslin. We hope to welcome you back for your next anniversary.

Best Tropical Regards,
The Raffles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you are travelling overs-seas and need to keep 100% gluten free (or have another specific dietary need) then you will know how important it is to select a base where you are confident you will be able to eat safely and well.

I echo what others have said - this is a beautiful resort in the gorgeous and other-worldly Seychelles, however, I will concentrate on the food in order to help other coeliacs.

Firstly, we arrived via a small boat, dishevelled, hot and hungry. We had made the mistake of chartering a "luxury scuba diving catamaran" from Mahe - which turned out to have no AC and some very dubious hygiene standards. My daughter got on board and burst in to tears, even my stoic and diving-mad family baulked when we saw the captain downing a beer before his first dive of the day.

We spent one night on board and then made a frantic call for help to our travel agent on London, John Sloan of Stylish Resorts. Amazing as ever, they communicated with Raffles Praslin, secured us two gorgeous villas (and some nice freebies) and then ... we sailed out of cell phone reception.

Hence we arrived hot and bothered like a family of five castaways on the beach of Raffles Praslin the next day with no 100% confirmed reservation. It is a measure of this amazing hotel that the manager and staff met us beautifully, gave us cold drinks and put us in a hospitality villa to relax and shower while our booking was confirmed.

My daughter and I are both GF and we were very hungry. It had taken me more than 10 emails to communicate our dietary needs with the owners of the catamaran. They had told me that the Seychelles does not readily recognise coeliac disease and that products were hard to come from, with all islands relying on one particular shop in Mahe where there was neither GF flour or any chocolate without gluten (they asked me to bring my own).

We were therefore concerned that we would have the usual discussions and menu investigations at the Raffles pool bar as we headed there, exhausted, for lunch.

Not so - gorgeous gluten free bread arrived (better even than the UK brand, Genius) quicklyt and every menu item was marked to show whether it contained any allergens. Bliss - chicken salad and creme brullee. More than that, brilliant John Sloan had already alerted the hotel and every restaurant was prepared for us.

The executive chef is a lovely lady who ensured that every breakfast we had a different selection of gluten-free cakes and muffins, and she managed to turn up magically at every dinner to ensure everything was fine and that we had some special treat to try. She even offered to create some local food GF - so that I would be able to sample authentic Seychellois cuisine.

At breakfast the staff would box up extra GF bread and muffins if we were heading out for the day (we continued to use the un-loved catamaran as a dive boat). Be warned - you'll need this to keep you going - because whenever we stopped at another island it was very difficult to buy anything GF (even crisps or chocolate) from local shops or bars.

The staff (Ronnie, ladies on reception, house-keeper, buggy drivers) were all wonderful. The only
element that was out of synch with the hotel's service-orientated ethos was our butler, who was always late, forgetful and didn't seem to care (we managed to organise our luggage and check ourselves out before she even thought to find us and ask if we needed any help). If you are coming for any length of time I'd request Charlie to be your Butler - he helped us when our Butler went AWOL and he's charming, intelligent and happy and will help make your holiday special.

My only regret is that we didn't book Raffles for our stay in the Seychelles at the beginning. If you are considering a tropical holiday, the Seychelles are incredible and have a unique topology and fauna. If you need to remain gluten-free, then Raffles Praslin will help you and go as far as possible to ensure that your stay is stress-free and that you eat wonderful food. I recommend booking with Stylish Resorts as they have a great relationship with the resort and can communicate needs with the management team effectively. Plus - as I found out - they are also there when things go wrong!

Finally, I learned the hard way not to book anything in the Seychelles that is not well-reviewed (or part of a larger group). Our catamaran was unlovely and an expensive 11,000 Euro mistake.

Room Tip: If you have a room up the hill, you will rely on buggies to transport you around the resort. We'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoanneSkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Absolutely outstanding stay at Raffles, Praslin. You will not be disappointed. Every member of staff were exceptional. If only more premium hotels took a course from the Raffles, Praslin team on customer service. The Villas were exceptional and extremely comfortable. The pool and beach area were absolute paradise. Can't say one thing bad about Raffles. If you are going to spend a decent amount of money (Accommodation in Seychelles anywhere is generally expensive) you won't be disappointed with Raffles, Praslin. Big shut out to the staff at Raffles! Well done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ransy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Ransy83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Raffles Praslin. We are very pleased to read your positive feedback and we will communicate your comments to all our team. We always strive to offer our guests the best possible service, with attention to details, and personalised touch, to make each stay a memorable one. We are also happy that you enjoyed your villa, the pool and beach facilities.

We hope to welcome you again to our paradise!

Raffles Praslin, Seychelles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Like:
~superb view from villa
~really friendly and helpful staff
~main pool is beautiful and the staff there are good
~beach is excellent, clean and good water quality
Dislike:
~plunge pool is too small
~food for room service is just average
~variety of food for breakfast is limited
I would say overall experience is good here but not excellent.

Room Tip: Go for Panoramic View Pool Villa! The view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ying1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

So incredibly wonderful place! We had a beautiful private villa with an amazing view. All stuff is very professional and efficient. The beach is very good to swim. Didn't want to leave this hotel at all )))

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Peter L,
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Raffles Praslin, we are delighted that you had a pleasurable experience and that you particularly enjoyed the villa, the service and the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Raffles Praslin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This way we were greeted from the very first moment when we stepped at Raffles Praslin.
And that was the truth!
I am still wondering how could be someone not happy here…
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, the villas are big, private, cleans, modern furbished with a wonderful view, each one! And of course they have a small but so nice swimming pool.
But what is making the difference is the staff. All of them are nice, smiling, and attentive all the time!
We have to mention our butler, Durga, a great guy, smiling and helping us every day. Thank you, again, Durga!
Caroline, from management, who offer us an early check in, the professional ladies from the Spa, the Yoga instructor, the French guy from the restaurant, the friendly guys with buggy and not the last, Mirela, our fellow countryman!
The grounds are spotless; the beach is perfect, not at all crowded!
We did some trips (arranged by Durga) to the islands in the neighborhoods, Curieux with giant turtles, Bird island, La Digue and for snorkeling Coco, Felicity, St Pierre – perfect!
One day, we rent a car and go to Valle de Mai and the great beaches on the island (Anse Lazio, Anse Georgette).
We can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InesTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear InesTa,

Greetings from Raffles Praslin Seychelles

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team always enjoys receiving comments and I will share these with them as they will be thrilled to hear that they contributed to your stay.

As per your review, you have make the most of your holiday by visiting some very beautiful places and engaging in different kind of leisure activities while at Raffles Praslin.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

We remain at your service for any further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Raffles Praslin Seychelles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Takamaka
1.7 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,441 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,053 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
820 reviews
10.5 mi away
Six Senses Zil Pasyon
Six Senses Zil Pasyon
#1 of 1 in Felicite Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Seychelles

Address: Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Price Range: $891 - $1,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From across the continents of Europe and Asia, the legend of Raffles now extends to the enchanting islands of the Seychelles, cradled at the heart of the Indian Ocean. Raffles Praslin Seychelles presents an all-villa Seychelles luxury resort nestled within the stunning island of Praslin that was once declared the rediscovered Garden of Eden. This Seychelles hotel seeks to present guests with an escape where warm native Seychellois hospitality is infused with the enchanting touch of Raffles. Surrender to the sun-kissed allure of Anse Takamaka’s powdered sands, on to which spill the eighty-six spacious villas fashioned to assure lavish comfort. These private abodes offer a choice of whispering, opal-hued oceans and lush green hills. Be immersed in the relaxing therapies of the exclusive Raffles Spa, which coupled with the soothing embrace of unsullied nature, rejuvenate both body and spirit. Taste the distinguished flavours of the breezy Curieuse Seafood Restaurant, the local cuisine and Mediterranean delights of Losean or the light comfort food by the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raffles Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Praslin Hotel Anse Takamaka
Raffles Seychelles Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing