We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Set in the garden of Eden.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Seychelles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Raffles Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Set in the garden of Eden.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at raffles for 3 nights in March. This is a wonderfull resort and I will start with the pros:
1- great staff. Caroline from management was great absorbing our frustration with the electrical outage and provided us with a lovely 2 step upgrade. Ashok our butler was so helpful and pleasant all the time. Joseph the driver was very polite And helpfull too. Edna the massuse was superb. Hany and Ramez at the restaurants were great as well. Gerard the buggy driver was always pleasant and cheerful. I am very bad with names and to remember all of them is a testament to the great work they have done.

2- the villa. Checked into a bay view villa and got upgraded next day to a panoramic ocean view villa. Both villas share an identical layout but differ in the view. The bay view is higher up in the mountain and angled so you are within the forest with the ocean visible from one end of the balcony. So it is a generous partial sea view.The panoramic ocean view is set directly facing the ocean. Both are superb views.the only advantage for the ocean view is that you can see the ocean from your bed. Otherwise, the villa is very luxurious, nicely equipped and very comfortable. The plunge pool on the balcony is amazing.

3- attentive service. Everybody is helpful and they remember your name and villa number from day 1.

4- beautiful surroundings. The resort is set up on a hill/mountain slope with a small beach at the bottom end. The landscaping is gorgeous and the views amazing.

5- top notch buggy service. They arrive to you villa within minutes of your call and transport you anywhere and back.

Cons:
1- power outages and telecommunication failure. There was a routine maintanance to the generator when we checked in and repair work the next day and internet and telephone outage the day after. In all fairness, these are out of the hand of management and maximum effort was put in to get the repairs done quickly and to ensure that guests continued to enjoy their vacations. Still, no matter how understanding of a guest you may be, it does dissapoint you a bit.

2- Food variety. Breakfast buffet is very good but can become excellent with more variety. The Creole buffet at dinner again was a bit limited. A La Carte dining at the pool bar has about 5 appetizers and 5 main course choices only. Quality and taste was very good but not phenomenal.

3- energy and vibe. The resort feels a bit dead. The main pool was empty most of the time. Most guests are also on the older side (i.e. 55+). At dinner we only would find 3-4 other tables having dinner and after dinner they would dissapear. Maybe because of the lack of entertainment or maybe because of low season occupancy rates?

4- for such a wonderfull and luxurious resort, an ironing board is expected as standard in every villa and should not be provided only on request.

5- it is far away from town and you can't safely walk to anything especially at night.

---------------
Summary,
Great resort. Very luxurious. Superb villas with amazing views. Attentive and personal service. A bit more variety in food and some night entertainment would make this a perfect place.

Room tip, Room 155 is great. Don't spend more on ocean view or panoramic villas as bay view villas are identical in layout and give you 80% of the view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    163
    39
    16
    10
See reviews for
164
666
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Seychelles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My week end at Raffles praslin was amazing. The service was great, the staff were very friendly and they made us feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was very clean and very comfortable.The food was very delicious and the waiters and waitresses were very professional. I will definitely recommend Raffles hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Had a nice stay at Raffles Hotel, would reccommend it on the spot to anyone, the room is beautiful, the service is excellent the staffs are very welcoming and the food is very delicious. The location is very nice for the hotel, for the rooms get amaxzing views of the beautiful sea of Seychelles.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

One of the best places ever been.Must be somewhere close to heaven,at least walking distance to Anse Lazio,rated as one of the best 10 beaches in the world.Very nice room with a huge terrace containing big sofa(covered for sun) sunchairs and plungepool.Architect has done great work placing every room so everyone get a more the less private place.When you want things to happen,call your butler.The room itself airy with walk in closet and nice bathroom with an extra shower outside.Breakfast was very good,but not exceptionell.The rest of food experience was the only negative about the stay,very expensive and nothing to remember.A little difficult when the only restaurant within walking distance (top rated at this site) was closed for the week.But no reason to let this ruin a very good vacation experience,only sad was there only for one week.When moved on,VERY difficult to get used to the ordinary 5 star+ experience again(not very much cheaper),was just comparing all time.So next time Raffles will be the last stop at the Seychelle stay:))

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristianVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our weekend trip to Raffles Praslin Seychelles was amazing. The staff and management treated us with great care and made us feel comfortable. The food and service was excellent. I highly recommend Raffles Hotel & Resorts as destination if you are coming to Praslin Seychelles.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wonderful stay in a paradise-like island. The staff very friendly and a lot of improvements over the past year. Ideal also for vegetarian people and definitely a place to relax in a great environment Once you go to Raffles Praslin, you have to come back. A big thanks to the hotel for having made our stay a memorable one and having made us feeling pampered all stay along!

Room Tip: Panoramic villas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We decided to stay at Raffles Praslin because we wanted to have an amazing wedding there because of the great location. Right from the beginning we felt very warm welcoming when we have been greeted by the driver at the airport till our private check-in which was done by the wonderful Viktoria who as well has arranged our wonderful and very romantic wedding. Because we had a special package we have been upgraded to a different Villa with maybe the most and best stunning view. The villa was very private because it was well hidden and surrounded by trees and bushes so that we could have our privacy during our 2 weeks. All the stuff at the hotel have been so wonderful to us and our private butler has done for us whatever he could do. The food in the restaurants was always great to enjoy, no matter if you wanted to have BBQ or a la carte. The whole landscape of the hotel was breathless and just beautiful because the complete hotel was build in a way that it will match with the landscape. I only can see that we both had the best time of our lives at Raffles and want to say thank you to the great stuff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Takamaka
1.7 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Seychelles

Property: Raffles Seychelles
Address: Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From across the continents of Europe and Asia, the legend of Raffles now extends to the enchanting islands of the Seychelles, cradled at the heart of the Indian Ocean. Raffles Praslin Seychelles presents an all-villa Seychelles luxury resort nestled within the stunning island of Praslin that was once declared the rediscovered Garden of Eden. This Seychelles hotel seeks to present guests with an escape where warm native Seychellois hospitality is infused with the enchanting touch of Raffles. Surrender to the sun-kissed allure of Anse Takamaka’s powdered sands, on to which spill the eighty-six spacious villas fashioned to assure lavish comfort. These private abodes offer a choice of whispering, opal-hued oceans and lush green hills. Be immersed in the relaxing therapies of the exclusive Raffles Spa, which coupled with the soothing embrace of unsullied nature, rejuvenate both body and spirit. Taste the distinguished flavours of the breezy Curieuse Seafood Restaurant, the local cuisine and Mediterranean delights of Losean or the light comfort food by the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Raffles Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Praslin Hotel Anse Takamaka
Raffles Seychelles Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing