We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to go for lunch and a beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moody Cow Brewery

Moody Cow Brewery
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Dardanup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great place to go for lunch and a beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

A group of us went to The Moody Cow today for lunch and could not fault the food, beer or service. I had the mushroom quiche, one friend had the pink throat snapper and 2 other mates ordered the steak sandwich. All meals were amazing! We also ordered the trio of dips (not enough bread to go with dips but that's only if I had to pick something that could be improved). The prices were very reasonable considering the standard and presentation of the meals and it's a great place for families. A hidden gem in Ferguson Valley and we will definately return again soon. Make sure you book ahead though as this place seems to be very popular, and with good reason.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxwell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    43
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very disappointed with the lack of protection we had when it poured down with rain, were not even offered an alternative table but rather, left to get wet & meal ruined. We ate in a hurry purely to get into our dry & warm cars. Had not even stood up to leave yet and two staff members were standing there waiting to reset table for more clients, over booked and needed more seating!!!!!!
Felt very cramped and no space, definitely trying to get more tables/chairs in for more bookings. Definitely a place that got a good name initially but have since been clouded by their success and seem to only be focused on sales!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food but a real pity we got wet!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

A picturesque spot in the ferguson valley, with really delicious food! However, our dining experience was somewhat ruined, due to the lack of outdoor facilities like bistro blinds to cope with the winter months!
We reserved a table for 6 and were placed in the very cramped (way too many tables for the space!) side deck area near the ramp which was difficult to get in and out of. The heavens opened, and the rain drove in! The restaurant was full to capacity, and lots of guests just had to sit there and get wet!
If they continue to stay open during winter months, then facilities should be appropriate!
Extremely busy, in fact ridiculously busy, with a line out the door of people waiting to order!
As we were getting ready to leave, two waitresses were standing next to our table waiting for us to go!!! Not good!!
It was a shame that we had this experience, as the location and food were great!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherylchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a long lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited as a group of 13 for a ladies lunch. Arrived at 1pm and left three hours later! Great food - half of us ordered steak sandwiches and the rest of the group shared bowls of hand cut chips, wedges (these were delicious), nachos and tasting plates which were well priced and generous in both size and quality. All meals arrived quickly and the staff were friendly. The zest beer was a favourite and the wines were fine. It is a gorgeous set up, the restaurant/bar area is well presented and the tables (all outdoors) overlook a big lawn area with a playground. It was a lovely, sunny day so there were lots of kids and families playing on the grass. We had a great afternoon and agreed we would all visit Moody Cow Brewery again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
“Great Food,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food was well cooked and really enjoyable, loved the salmon and the kids loved the chicken parma. The service not so great. I got my meal, no mention of cutlery and as first time here wasn't sure if it was still coming. We waited for the other 3 meals, other tables were served and we interrupted to ask about cutlery. My husband got up and got the cutlery and I started eating on my own, other tables served and then the 2 chicken dishes came, more serving other tables, then my husband finally got up to ask where his meal was. All meals should be served together, not one then onto other tables. It could easily be an amazing place but they really need to get training to waitress efficiently. Will go back again but if service isn't better wont go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talkintom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Cow Brewery also viewed

Dardanup, Western Australia
Dardanup, Western Australia
 
Ferguson, Western Australia
Boyanup, Western Australia
 

Been to Moody Cow Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing