We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arthur River Holiday Units
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthur River
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a good choice for accommodation. The units are big enough and are clean and comfortable. The hosts are friendly and very helpful. The must do is the cruise that the hosts also offer on the MV Reflections. All up, very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

After living more than 25 years in Tasmania we decided it was (finally) time to visit the 'wild' West Coast. We booked 3 nights at the Arthur River Holiday units and also the river cruise on the ‘A R Reflections’. It can come as a package dial. We had no idea that we were in for such a pleasant surprise - of course it was helped by the picture book weather. Rob & Kaye Chandler went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible and were always at hand with some good advice what to see and where to go.
We had a 1br unit with river view. The unit is basic, self-contained, comfortable, clean and best of all affordable. We had all we needed and we felt it was our home away from home while at the Arthur.

The boat trip was just great, so relaxing and Rob's good and often funny commentary helped us to enjoy the beautiful wilderness of the Arthur. Certainly a highlight was the observation of the wild Sea Eagles as was the delicious lunch in a very private bush setting.

We would have loved to stay longer. Would we come back? YES, any time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank downunder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelserin, Owner at Arthur River Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

After 25 years in Tasmania so glad you came to visit us at the Arthur River it was lovely to meet you both. Thank you so much for your kind words we do hope to have the priviledge of your company again some time in the not too distant future. Arthur River and our beautiful wild West Coast are certainly a special place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went on the MV Reflections and we had a most enjoyable trip. The Captain was very informative and tried very hard to make sure everyone saw the wildlife that he spotted. The Sea Eagles were waiting for us becasue he feeds them. The lunch with wine was very good and the wallabies joined us. The path around the bush well laid out with good explanations.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BambiSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelserin, Owner at Arthur River Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

So happy you both enjoyed your River Cruise up the beautiful Arthur River with Rob. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

From the moment I checked in till I left (4 days) Kaye and Rob were the most charming of hosts. It was like staying with family and nothing was to much of a problem. Upgrading my accommodation to one of the larger units which Kaye considered more suitable for my extended stay. Clean, comfortable, recently renovated and very cosy.

Their knowledge of the area, what to do, what to see, where to go was extremely helpful. Stuff only a local would know including what roads were closed due to road works.

They also run the Arthur River Reflections Cruise http://www.arthurriver.com.au/tasmania-cruises.htm Rob's knowledge of the river was astounding. Locating wildlife that many of us would not know was there. His running commentary pointing out the flora and fauna was impressive.

The beautiful lunch prepared by Kaye and served by Rob was superb and plentiful, not to mention delicious.

Following lunch Rob guides you on a 'nature walk' and includes a booklet that also explain things to be seen. He takes you part way and then allows you time to explore alone. The tracks are easy to follow and the book certainly assists in knowing what you are looking at.

Unfortunately on the 2nd day of my stay I fell seriously ill and had it not been for Kaye and Rob things could have turned very nasty (I was travelling alone). Kaye's care and concern was that of a person looking after a member of her own family, very motherly. She helped re-arranged my travel plans, arranged medical care and insisted I inform her of my safe return home (which I did).

Putting aside that I fell ill, I can not speak highly enough of Kaye and Rob. Definitely intend to return in the near future and resume my travels in the area but I may choose a slightly warmer month of the year - October can still be cold and wet down there. The vision of sitting in the outdoor area enjoying a lovely BBQ (one undercover and one fully outdoors) and a glass or two of wine is very appealing, even fishing in the river or at one of the coastal inlets.

Make sure you take plenty of layers in the cooler months and being self contained units you do need to take your own food supplies. They do have a small shop on-site with basic supplies and each unit is well equipped with usual items - bar fridge, microwave, small bench top oven/griller, heating, comfy beds, crockery, cutlery, pots pan, baking dishes and many more items, definitely a 'home away from home'.

Again AAA+++ for this establishment and its current host owners Kaye and Rob Chandler

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Anja-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The hotel operators run a river cruise on the AR Reflections. This is a very pleasant way to spend the day and they have packages that include room and cruise. The cruise goes up a wild river to see sea eagles, hawks, pademelon, kingfisher, and other wildlife as well as some lovely scenery. The guide, Blue, is a native of Tasmania and familiar with every tree and nest along the cruise. The gourmet lunch on the cruise is the best we've ever had on similar excursions - a wide array of wine, cheese, sandwiches, fruit, teas, nuts and desserts.

The accommodation is basic and simple, but offers a clean place that includes kitchenette and there are laundry facilities on site. The included breakfast is very basic and not great but no worse than normal continental buffet types.

The location is beautiful. The best thing we did in Tasmania was to go see Tasmanian Devils in the wild with Geoff King, who met us at the hotel after the cruise and dropped us back off there also. If interested in wildlife, be sure to ask how to arrange this. It's amazing to see the animals in the wild and Geoff King is a fascinating host who has turned family cattle ground back into a nature preserve.

Stayed: June 2008
7  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arthur River Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur River Holiday Units

Address: 4 Gardiner Street, Arthur River, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Arthur River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthur River
Price Range: $54 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur River Holiday Units 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arthur River Holiday Units, situated on the banks of the picturesque Arthur River, gateway to the Tarkine wilderness and close to the ocean and beaches. Explore the Tarkine, visit the Edge of the World. Accommodation and River Cruise packages available. A warm welcome awaits you at the Arthur River Holiday Units on Tasmania's rugged far North West coast. These modest one and two bedroom holiday units with absolute river frontage offers easy access to the river for fishing and boating. All units have fully equipped kitchens, satellite TV and radio, electric or log fires. All linen is provided and continental breakfast provisions are available. Wood and gas barbeques, situated in landscaped gardens are available for guest use. Off street security car parking. The Tarkine is at your doorstep to explore. Visit the Edge of the World and throw a pebble into the Southern Ocean. Fish for salmon or trout. Beautiful beaches to walk and brilliant sunsets to capture. The Arthur River Shop and River Cruise booking office are both located at these premises. For a truly unforgettable wilderness experience join your hosts Rob and Kaye on their vessel "M.V.Reflections" for a 6 hour eco-cruise up the beautiful Arthur River. Wilderness, waterfalls, playpus, native quoll, azure kingfishers and the feeding of the white-bellied sea-eagles are just some of the highlights of this Tasmanian cruise. Accommodation at Arthur River Holiday Units and A R Reflections River Cruises packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arthur River Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing