We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT COMING BACK..”
Review of The Elephant Shack

The Elephant Shack
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pupukea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

we were really excited to try their vegan dishes. Unfortunately, after 45 min there were no food to be seen. Staff was more preocupied with their friends, we canceled our order. They wanted to keep the tip. Amazing!

Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelephanttruck, Owner at The Elephant Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

in your square review you said 30 minutes and on trip advisor it became 45 minutes.. ?

no one tried to keep any tip?

aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 182 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for some good Thai fresh spring rolls and decided to give this place (which was highly rated) a try. Beer was cold but then we had to order our food from a separate section of the restaurant. Ok fine no problem. I ordered the spring rolls and asked if they had a peanut sauce to go with that. The answer I got was that the chef makes an amazing peanut sauce but it’s really time consuming so they don’t make it . Oh and you’d think that we’re on the north shore of Hawaii where shrimp trucks and shrimp are plentiful that they’d offer shrimp? No dice...vegetarian or chicken only So chicken spring rolls ordered and out comes 4 small deep fried rolls. I don’t think the chef got the memo that fresh spring rolls are just that...fresh!! Needless to say they refunded our money and we didn’t dare order anything else. Service was weak at best and overall the place we had driven for and looked forward to eating at was an utter disappointment. Did I mention it’s almost impossible to find the place...no signs and it took us literally 3 passes to find it before asking a local if he heard of it. Save your money and find a better place where your business is appreciated

Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelephanttruck, Owner at The Elephant Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

aloha, please read attached memo:

"spring rolls" are fried, summer rolls are "fresh"...

our spring rolls are made fresh, by hand.. people love em.. we can't make enough of em.. no false advertising. we never advertised shrimp spring rolls? lol.

aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

The Elephant Shack is so delicious! We ordered spicy chicken pad Thai, mild shrimp pad Thai and chicken Penang curry which was amazing.
I love cilantro so I always ask for extra ❤️ its a must eat if visiting the North Shore

Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Came here with my girlfriend just before closing on a Wednesday and had food with a couple of drinks. The Pad Thai and Penang curry were both delicious, we eat Thai food a lot and this was right up there at the top. Best thing is that it was very reasonably priced, we paid $34 for both meals with a couple of beers. Also the atmosphere was good, they play great music and they have a nice little courtyard out back that’s undercover. Highly recommended if you’re on the north shore (it’s even worth a trip if you’re not).

Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

We stooped for lunch here and we tried their food, the prices were not that bad for the island, we enjoyed some fried egg rolls and some salad with plenty of vegetables, the customer service was kind of dried but we still enjoyed our food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Elephant Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing