We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run, Run away as fast as you can !!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Attwood
Certificate of Excellence
Yoakum
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Run, Run away as fast as you can !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

First off let me qualify my review. I have lived in hotels all over the world for the past 20 years and worked as chief engineer in a 350 room property. That being said - this property is way over priced for the product they have available. The front staff are top notch, The driver is one hell of a human being. They are doing the very best they can with what they have to work with. I was scheduled to stay 9 nights and they wanted me to pay up front for the full stay, I paid for two and went to the Holiday Inn for the remainder.

Take a look on the wall in the lobby - Every one of the employee of the year awards are dated Oct 2011- how can all be employee of the year? Take a look at the front window- they somehow got a Tripadvisor award for 2011... and thus all became employee of the year.

I was "upgraded" from the basic room to a spa room. WOW!!! The spa tub is right next to the bed, how romantic. Sounds like those hotels one can rent in Bahrain by the hour!!! But there was no "full service" available like in Bahrain.

The room is most basic with paper thin walls- TV has 8 channels, bed right up near the window, poor heating, extremely low water flow in the shower and should someone flush or turn on water whilst youre in the shower, get ready for the temp change. If you happen to visit this property pull the bed aside and youre sure to find something left by previous guests, mine happened to have food and debris.

The restaurant is void of any atmosphere (read Sterile) and is very loud. Service is undetectable. Breakfast staff, one person really, speaks at the top of her voice to other staff across the room as well to the guest in a most condescending manner. Basically she is obnoxious and rude. She says they keep the chickens out back. I checked - there are no chickens out back. Fried eggs over medium come out sunny side up, bacon is like leather - that might just be a culture thing.

Basically I suggest avoid this property at all costs. It just isnt worth the abuse.

The only reason they get 2 out of 5 is because of the front desk staff and van driver.

Room 29, August 14 and 15

Room Tip: Find another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback on our property and staff. We take all feedbacks very seriously whether the feedback is good or bad. I will address all the issues listed with other management as to resolve the issues brought up and will speak to the staff member in the restaurant that you are referring to. Once again my apologies and hope to see you back again to give us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    310
    121
    28
    11
See reviews for
146
279
65
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived midnight from Malaysia, first we called the local number for airport free shuttle but no one pickup the phone, so we took the cab instead which cost us about aud24.

The receptionist or night manager were 2 chinese men. One was a slim guy with a funny english accent and the other guy was medium built. We had 4 bags with us.

My husband was struggling with 2 big bags to open the Reception door to go to our room. The medium size man wanted to help but the other guy was murmuring and making a hand gesture "no need'-

At this point I dont know whether to laugh or cry- it was past midnight and we were both tired. it was bad enough that no offer of help was given to us but to discourage another man to help us was totally uncalled for. I have stayed at Best Western Hawthorn and Best Western in Spain and had a wonderful stay especially in spain where the staff are very friendly and helpful..so to receive this kind of treatment..am just speechless.

As for the room..bad smell! I couldnt sleep at all. Thank god we were there for only a few hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments,

We do need comments such as this one to help improve not only the property but the service offered to our guest. Even though we are a 4 star property, we rely on giving our guests 5 star hospitality and service when they stay with us and that is why we take this matter very seriously and will definetly follow up with the staff members mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not a four star stay. We stayed in what felt like the basement. The entrance was flooded from the rain and the brick steps were very slippery. Room was ok, nothing flash. No fan in the bathroom meant the mirror fogged up when the shower was on. We could hear the conversation in the room next to us. Certainly not four star. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandH3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comment on our property

We take all comments and feedbacks very seriously regardless if they are good or bad. The room you stayed in is in our executive wing and in the near future we are looking to renovate these rooms which will definetly fix the problem with the fan in the bathroom. The walls will also be re-plastered as to hopefully fix the sound problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a late checking of 20:00 hours on Sunday night the 4th of August, and met at the reception desk by two very polite staff who were more than helpful. Found our room ok and it was clean and tidy with a nice welcoming corner spa, (room 73 had this one and my wife made the most of that haha),. Went to the restaurant at the Hotel and again the staff where very pleasant and helpful. My wife had the rack of lamb and I ate the rib-eye steak. Both meals where amazingly lovely and well presented. After a few cold beers and a couple of G&T’s for my wife we went back to the room to try get some sleep before a 5-am start/flight. Must admit we both found the bed to soft along with the pillows but we have a preference for a very firm bed and pillows to match, our choice of course. Needless to say not a lot of sleep was had but please don’t blame the hotel for this because as I said its just not our choice of bed. Good well stocked mini bar that we never used but under different circumstances we would have enjoyed some beverages from it in the spa. Overall I would suggest that it a well deserved 4 start hotel with great staff who are always smiling and help make a stay better.

Room Tip: try the steaks or rack of lamb in the dining area. yum
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent post, I'm glad you found our property nice and staff very friendly.
It was also great that you enjoyed your evening meal and I definitely will pass on the information to our head chef about his rack of lamb and rib-eye steak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent Courtesy Bus Transfers from Tullamarine Airport Late Evening and Early Morning thank you. Service very good and room comfortable and clean, price was value for money and location was only 10 minutes from Airport on arriving and 20 minutes departing due to more traffic going back to fly out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
As mentioned we do offer 24hours shuttle bus service and being only 7km away from the Tullamarine airport we see this as important to offer guests to make their stays more enjoyable and easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice accommodation, close to the airport with free shuttle. nice staff on the 2 occasions i have stayed there for flights out of Melbourne. I like getting the cheaper price for room when on special. normally with one of the booking accommodation websites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josjangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and it is fantastic that you enjoyed your second stay with us just as much as your first stay as it shows the consistency with our hospitality remains the same every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 day work conference held at the Best Western Attwood.

I found all the staff very pleasant and helpful, from booking to checkout.
The motel on the out side is no frills, but the room I had was clean, modern and well appointed.
The big conference centre attached to the motel was nice, but could do with a bit of a freshen up. (big light not working in room and carpet seen better days.) The conference was organised well, with heaps of food and drink and great staff.

I am hoping the company will use the Best Western Attwood again for the next conference, in 6 months.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
It is great to see comments from guest who not only stay at the motel but guests who also attend our conference here at the Best Western Airport Motel and Convention Centre. Thank you for your great review and it is also great to see that our service is great from the moment you make the booking to when you check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Attwood
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
2.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Address: 33 Ardlie St, Attwood, Victoria 3049, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Attwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Attwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Airport Motel and Convention Centre is a four star property that is situated minutes from the Tullamarine Airport and it is also situated only 5 minutes away from the very popular DFO Essendon. • Has a range of rooms to cater for a diverse market, from our basic four star motel rooms to our modern and contemporary Deluxe Business rooms• Included in the rate is our complimentary shuttle bus service that operates 24 hours a day seven days a week. • We also have free wireless internet available for all our guests and all rooms also include selected Foxtel channels. • All rooms also include full size iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, mini bar, remote control LCD TV, individually controlled heater/air conditioner and same day dry cleaning service.For our guests going away for either business or pleasure we also offer our long term secure parking to store your vehicle with us whilst you’re away for a minimal rate of 8 dollars per day. The property includes an A La Carte Restaurant that operates for breakfast and dinner. Operating in the reception foyer we have a flight arrival/departure screen that will keep you updated on your flight times or you’re more than welcomed to ask one of our very friendly and professional staff members to give you assistance in finding that information for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Motel And Convention Centre
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing