We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable”
other travelers have booked this property
Old St John's Church...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space... Summer colour...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space...
Summer colour...
Vaulted ceiling above the kitchen...
Plenty of space to relax.
Double-sided fireplace for those cosy nights.
The well equipped kitchen..
The dining area and former pulpit.
The 'snug' area.
The 'master' suite is in the spire of the Church.
The bathroom contains a sunken bath.
Enter a caption for your photo
Middle room - this is a TWIN room (can also be arranged as a super-king by request).
The downstairs double bedroom.
How things used to be!
Aerial view of the church and gardens...
View from the spire offering an unbroken 360 degree view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gamblesby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chellesui...
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed August 13, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have just returned from a very enjoyable few days in Old St John's church.
The church itself is very unique and we found it to be very clean and well equipped with everything you could need while away (including high chair, travel cot and plastic plates). There was even a bottle of wine for us on our arrival from the owner which was a very nice gesture.
Gamblesby itself is a lovely quiet little village surrounded by farms. My son was in his element watching all the passing tractors and we were made to feel very welcome.
I would definitely recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Many thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed the church and it's surroundings - Gamblesby certainly is a friendly place.

Thanks again,

Phil and Hanah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceymoo...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such an amazing hoilday”
Reviewed August 13, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed at Old St John's Church as a family of 5 with our 2 dogs in July for my birthday. On arrival our first impression was wow, the church is amazing a great space for kids to run about with every home comfort you could need. Phil and Hanah very kindly left a card and bottle of cava as a birthday gift which was lovely of them. We had such an amazing time and would love to stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Hi Stacey,

many thanks for the wonderful review; Hanah and I are pleased that you had an amazing holiday and enjoyed your birthday at Old St John's.

Hopefully we'll see you all again sometime,

Phil & Hanah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2018
Hi Shani,

thank you for the lovely review, Hanah and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that you now have wonderful memories of Old St. John's.

Many thanks,

Phil & Hanah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David W
1 review
“Tranquility & space, so much space”
Reviewed July 18, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The Old Church really is a lovely place to stay, with its huge kitchen and dinning area and so much space. Our one year old daughter loved walking the length of the Church endlessly but space is not really the point here. It is an old church and you really feel the peace and tranquillity. We all slept like babies, even the baby and loved having our breakfast around the table on old pews. The location is great for pretty much all of the Lakes, (most are within an hours drive) and we visited two each day, on average.

Let's face it, how often do you get the chance to stay in an old church in such beautiful countryside. The location is very peaceful and you are faced on one side by a real working farm. Within a few minutes drive you have a little shop for essentials or if needed, within 15 minutes there is a Co-op but who needs that when you have farm shops. Great local produce, even goat sausages.

All in all, perfect for us. There were four adults and one baby but you could easily cater for 8 or so.

Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2018
Hi David,

Thank you for the lovely review - we're glad you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the church and using it as a base to explore the Lakes (whenever we get a chance to get away from our everyday jobs our time at the church is always incredibly relaxing!).

We're really glad you had a good time.

Phil and Hanah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
Hi Lesley,

we are so pleased you enjoyed spending your holiday at the church as much as we enjoy spending our time there.

Hopefully we'll see you again sometime in the future.

Many thanks,

Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lisamcd0u...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Old St Johns Church”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed here for May bank holiday weekend with the family and pet what a beautiful part of the Lake District and a hidden gem. Would highly recommend this place to anyone Booking a break away from it all ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2018
Thanks for this lovely review Lisa. I'm really glad you had a good time.
Phil :).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina W
1 review
“Highly recommended!!! No complaints”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Myself and 7 others stayed for the weekend, the drive from Manchester was easy, post code brings you directly to the chapel.
So much space to enjoy, so much comfort in the bedrooms and every utensil needed to cook for everyone was provided. The area is quiet,pleasant and delightful. Anyone who would like a break away in a quirky chapel - please don't miss out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing