We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended!!! No complaints”
other travelers have booked this property
Old St John's Church...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space... Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space...
Enter a caption for your photo
The dining area and former pulpit.
Vaulted ceiling above the kitchen...
Plenty of space to relax.
Double-sided fireplace for those cosy nights.
The well equipped kitchen..
External image of the Church.
The 'snug' area. N.B. The fireplace does not work.
The 'master' suite is in the spire of the Church.
The bathroom contains a sunken bath.
Enter a caption for your photo
Middle room - this is a TWIN room (can also be arranged as a super-king by request).
The downstairs double bedroom.
How things used to be!
Arial view of the church and gardens...
View from the top of the spire offering an unbroken 360 degree view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gamblesby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katrina W
1 review
“Highly recommended!!! No complaints”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Myself and 7 others stayed for the weekend, the drive from Manchester was easy, post code brings you directly to the chapel.
So much space to enjoy, so much comfort in the bedrooms and every utensil needed to cook for everyone was provided. The area is quiet,pleasant and delightful. Anyone who would like a break away in a quirky chapel - please don't miss out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to write your review! It was great to have you stay and we're really glad you had a good time. Phil :).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Thanks very much for the review Katherine! I'm really glad you had a good time and the celebrations went well. Phil :).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shelleysh...
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful base for exploring!”
Reviewed February 22, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed at Old St Johns church for Feb half term. We came with our friends and our 4 year olds sons and it was perfect! Lovely location for exploring - we particularly loved Lowther Castle (and were very lucky with the weather).
Lovely clean accommodation - all bedrooms and bathrooms well sized! There is plenty of inside space - the boys loved playing in the large open plan living area. Outside area was fab too!
Thanks - can’t wait to stay again :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2018
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Shelley! I really appreciate it and am glad to see you had a great time. Phil :).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Joyous Famiky Christmas Break”
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a fabulous property, absolutely first class. We selected St John’s as a central point for our family to meet up over Christmas, Dundee, Huddersfield and Corwen (North Wales), grandparents, parents and grandchildren it was the perfect choice.
Our grandson, who is 5 1/2, was worried that Santa would miss him in Dundee but he had no need to worry as the Church was trimmed for Christmas with not one but two trees! The Christmas card, chocolates, wine and Port waiting to welcome us was a lovely gesture.
The party included a toddler and a baby, high chairs and cot were provided as well as kiddy friendly plates, tumblers etc. There was even a dolly, pushchair and walker in the corner for the toddler, she thoroughly enjoyed playing with them.
Thanks you so much for allowing us to rent your property, Harry has already stated that he would like to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing