We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place for a family weekend away!”
other travelers have booked this property
Old St John's Church...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space... Summer colour...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space...
Summer colour...
Vaulted ceiling above the kitchen...
Plenty of space to relax.
Double-sided fireplace for those cosy nights.
The well equipped kitchen..
The dining area and former pulpit.
The 'snug' area.
The 'master' suite is in the spire of the Church.
The bathroom contains a sunken bath.
Enter a caption for your photo
Middle room - this is a TWIN room (can also be arranged as a super-king by request).
The downstairs double bedroom.
How things used to be!
Aerial view of the church and gardens...
View from the spire offering an unbroken 360 degree view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gamblesby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex_Barr...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous place for a family weekend away!”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

10 of us ranging from 7 months to 73 visited Old St Johns on the 13th-16th May and all absolutely loved it! it was the ideal location for our first Family Weekend Away, made extra exciting by being able to watch it on Channel 4's Restoration Man before arriving! on arrival the first impressions are WOW! it is very clear to see the the amount of love and care put in to the stunning renovations, with lots of gorgeous period features but a modern homely feel.

The Church really has everything you could think of for it to feel like a home away from home! and the children in our group really enjoyed the amount of space available to play and the use of a few toys provided, we all had a lovely afternoon in the huge walled garden too! the village itself is lovely, really peaceful with nice neighbours! and a short walk into the next village with a pretty local shop/tearoom and a fun wooden toymaker's shop was great! and the The Rheged Centre only 22 mins away another fun day out.

Overall we were all sad to leave this fabulous place and wanted to stay longer! we all hope to rebook for next year soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow factor, family friendly.”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a family weekend, to get away from it all and celebrate my husbands bday. The accommodation is stunning and yet homely. All that we needed for a family break. Wifi, board games, big kitchen, ensuite facilities. We even decided to stay in and have a take away delivered on the Sunday as we felt it was a shame to go out.
Surrounding area scenic, immediate area a farm.
Well worth a look, think we will be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the property
Liked least: The spire room needs cleaning and updating
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan M
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have recently returned from an 8 day break to this lovely church. We had 2 days to ourselves before family started to arrive. The 4 dbl bedrooms, 3 en- suite and 1 downstairs with separate bathroom worked out brilliantly and everyone had their own space. The living area was perfect for lounging around and playing board games. The Log Burner was a welcome sight after long walks and visiting local towns and villages. The kitchen was spot on for entertaining and knocking up meals for large groups. Our dog and another family dog who stayed for 3 days loved the outside space, it is very enclosed and safe so we never worried about them roaming around freely. The kids ( and adults) thought the spire viewing area was very exciting. The WIFI worked consistently and the supply of board games was well used.

We booked quite a while in advance and Phil the owner was always on hand to deal with any questions we had. He truly takes pleasure in all who visit having the best times possible, he kindly helped organise a extra nights stay at our late request and also had provided a supply of logs for our arrival. The red wine was greatly received also! Cheers Phil.

The church was immaculate on our arrival and we really enjoyed our stay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckimmins
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Building”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We recently travelled to Old St Johns Church, 7 people and 3 dogs. It easily accomodated us, the church itself is superb and the scenery surrounding us was beautiful. Would Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senior699
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“We loved itl”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a lovely place to stay in a quiet part of England. We had an almost one year old with us who had great fun in the space. Great walk to Melmerby's highly recommended pub. And Hadrian's Wall is not so far away.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PandaExpl...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved every second!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this beautifully converted church with our family (6) and 3 small dogs. We loved the open layout so much space, it meant that we spent more time together, cooking and playing board games and the dogs loved it! The bedrooms were huge and each had an en-suite, also the garden is fully walled off, so we had no fear letting our dogs out at night. I would recommend this rental to friends and families. The location is in a quite village just outside the Lake District (Buy your food in Penrith 20 min away), which means it's much cheaper and still very close to all the attractions.
When you come and visit I recommend going to High Force Falls and doing the beautiful walk down to Lower Force Falls, then having a great lunch at the tourist info. Also visit Ullswater, it must be the best lake there is!! Stunning!! You can Drive to Glenridding (One the edge of Ullswater) and just before you hit Glenridding on the right there is a National Trust sign, park here and follow the Footpath to Aira Force Waterfall.
One the other side of Ullswater, there is Hallin Fell (a hike up to an amazing view) Park at - The Parish Church of Saint Peter Martindale, Cumbria. But remember to go inside the church, the stain glass is beautiful!!
Thank you so much for an incredible holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Living area and Kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local people all very friendly & helpful
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing