We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! The lost weekend!”
other travelers have booked this property
Old St John's Church...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space... Summer colour...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space...
Summer colour...
Vaulted ceiling above the kitchen...
Plenty of space to relax.
Double-sided fireplace for those cosy nights.
The well equipped kitchen..
The dining area and former pulpit.
The 'snug' area.
The 'master' suite is in the spire of the Church.
The bathroom contains a sunken bath.
Enter a caption for your photo
Middle room - this is a TWIN room (can also be arranged as a super-king by request).
The downstairs double bedroom.
How things used to be!
Aerial view of the church and gardens...
View from the spire offering an unbroken 360 degree view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gamblesby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Justine B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow! The lost weekend!”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Brilliant place. Beautifully converted. Dogs loved the garden and we all loved everything else. Kitchen is well equipped and we were able to cook a fantastic roast for 8 without any hassle.
Would definitely recommend and would like to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the spire
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ironladyw...
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away with friends”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Old St Johns was a very pleasant place for the six adults in our group.
Lots of space inside and out.
There seemed to be everything we needed from the kitchen thru to the lounge.
The bedrooms were very comfortable with lovely on suites.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman v
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beauty in the country”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We went here for 4 days in June, with 4 people and a dog. One of us is disabled. The church is dog and disabled friendly!

On arrival we were amazed, not only by the surrounding (lots of animals) but also by the interior of the church. On arrival there was a booklet with information about the church and the surrounding attractions. Also, there was a bottle of wine which made us feel very welcome.
The church is beautiful renovated with everything that you can wish for; modern kitchen, large table, large lounge area, all bedrooms have a bathroom-en-suite. Moreover, old details have been preserved.
We did not feel like doing much outside of the church because it is so beautiful. For others that like to see things, there are enough trials to walk, villages to see and castles.

Definitely a recommender and we would love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Communication with owner
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Grace”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a hidden gem this converted restored Church is. Although we were fully aware of what to expect from the excellent website, I was still not prepared for the initial impact when setting eyes on the church for real, and then again when opening the front door and taking in the spacious and well designed open plan living & kitchen space. The Church itself is one of the best accommodations I have stayed in. Extremely spacious and finished to a high standard. The curved kitchen is a pleasure to cook in and all of the bedrooms are spacious and have their own bathroom. The grounds are fully enclosed and spacious and Merlin (our cockapoo) was intrigued by the sheep and occasional horses passing by next door.
Although the church is in quite an isolated spot there are plenty of things to see and do close by. Penrith, Keswick and Ullswater are all within easy driving reach (20 – 30 mins) and there are plenty of great pubs close by. Our pick of the bunch was the Cross Keys en-route to Penrith (we had an excellent Sunday dinner) and overall favourite was the nearby Featherstone Arms in Kirkoswald which served excellent food, plenty of choice and meals were extra indulgent and your usual pub meals. So much so we went here 2 evenings running and would have gone again but there is only so much you can do in a week. Both of these pubs were actively dog friendly unlike the Shepherds inn at Langwaithby. Slight disappointment was the pub in Melmerby was closed/shut down as it is the only pub in walking distance although the scones at the village bakery are definitely worth a try. Its an easy walk to the village through the tracks opposite the church although it can be wet and muddy. One day I spotted pheasants, sheep, horses, cows, rabbits, hares and a deer all in a 20 minute walk!
The walk to the Hartside Café is definitely worth it if you like walking. Quite a tough walk, mainly uphill and can be quite exposed on those colder days. After a good walk, the cooked breakfasts taste all the nicer – dogs are not allowed inside but being prepared I was happy to eat outside.
Ullswater Steamers at Pooley Bridge are a great way to see the lakes, and would recommend getting off at Glenridding, plenty of cafes and pubs for a spot of lunch. Not much to see at Howtown so wouldn’t bother getting off! We did a separate drive to Aria Force and 2hrs parking is plenty of time to have a good walk around and explore the grounds and waterfalls.
For any runners out there I also tried out the Penrith Park Run – nice flat course and such a friendly atmosphere epitomising what Park Run is about…and I came 6th, rather than my usual 100 ish spot at Cardiff!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Z
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fun to stay in a beautifully converted church, even our teen boys were impressed.”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in this beautifully converted, spacious church. We had enough room for our 7,9, 12 and 14 year olds as well as our parents.(8 people total). We were within easy driving distance of Hadrians wall, as well as locations such as Aira Force and Lake Derwentwater.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely No Bats in the Belfry!”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was an opportunity for a group of old friends to get together for a chillout and a catch up, and this was not only the perfect accommodation, but also the perfect quiet, tranquil location.

The property was beautiful and initial contact for making arrangements was very quick with the owners.

A very remote location, I would probably say that if you're looking for a place that is a little livelier then this is perhaps not it, but for walking in the country and spending time together, it was just perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: A hot tub would have been the icing on the cake! :)
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing