We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful building with everything you could wish...”
other travelers have booked this property
Old St John's Church...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old St John's Church...
Aerial view of the church and gardens... Plenty of outdoor space...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Old St John's Church...
Aerial view of the church and gardens...
Plenty of outdoor space...
Summer colour...
Plenty of parking
Vaulted ceiling above the kitchen...
The well equipped kitchen..
The dining area and former pulpit.
Double-sided fireplace for those cosy nights.
The former vestry now makes a comfortable snug
The master suite is in the spire of the Church.
View from the spire offering an unbroken 360 degree view.
How things used to be!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gamblesby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“beautiful building with everything you could wish for provided”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Was a privilege to stay in such a wonderful old building. Has all the mod cons you would wish for inside and the owners were very helpful. Brought lots of admiring comments when people saw the pictures on Facebook. Had some really good nights sleep and so peaceful would recommend to everyone and ideal for a large group of people (8).

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rooms
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was a quirky place to stay,but so comfortable.
Liked least: The grass was too long in the garden.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela W
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An excellent trip!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June with our dog. The village is lovely and quiet (even down to the farmer across the road who laughed at us when we couldn't at first work out how to open the front door in the pouring rain!) and perfect for short wanders to exercise the dog. The garden itself is completely enclosed, so we felt safe letting the dog out on her own for comfort breaks as well.

The church itself was very impressive, and decorated and restored to a very high standard. We decided to sleep in the room which had the spire access in it, which also had a large shaped window and felt very atmospheric and special. Having had some back problems recently I didn't risk going into the spire itself, but I'm told it offers amazing views. The other two rooms were equally as attractive, and the cleaning was of a high standard. Especially adored sinking into the sunken bath after a long day wandering around the Lake District!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane B
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Bucket List property”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just returned from a long weekend stay at the church with friends and 5 dogs! - Absolutely splendid, well equipped, beautifully restored. There are so many things we loved about the property that I would run out of space if I were to list them all, My favourites are the loft ladder experience into the church spire, the sunken bath and the balcony. The Pub being a mile down the road is a bonus, though the Church being so fabulous we stayed in at nights. There are lots of walks from Gamblesby for all types of walkers, the village is idyllic, with its red sandstone houses.
I couldn't recommend this property enough

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ralanengl...
England
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best weekend Ever”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just come back from a lovely weekend at Old St John’s Church and want to thank the owners for allowing us to stay at such a lovely home, we had such a warm welcome, the bottle of wine went down very well and we had a lovely time, my Son James booked this for my 60th birthday surprise and what a lovely surprise it was, it’s a beautiful home/building and so well restored, quite obviously to a very high standard. The beds were lovely and comfortable and we all had a good nights sleep including Noah (our 8 month old Grandson) he really took to the place and kept looking up at the ceiling! The kitchen is just amazing and has everything you need. The Lounge is large with lots of lovely sofa's for a large family.
We did lots of walking, eating and drinking and a great time was had by all. We went for a 5 mile walk on Saturday and ended up at a little pub, by this time we were all tired so tried to get a taxi back but we soon realised this isn’t as easy as it is at home! Anyway a very nice local lady in the pub offered to run us home! She phoned her husband to bring the car, he arrived 15 minutes later with 3 children, they all bailed out so she could run us home, how nice was that, plus she wouldn’t take any money! It just proves there are still a lot of nice people in the world.
We have some lovely photos and memories and will definately be back and would definately recommend this beautiful home.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome, heating was on and it was lovely and cosy with a bottle of wine waiting for us.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing