We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church Court Cottages
isle of wight
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and myself stayed at Hawthorn cottage for 4 nights, it was much more spacious than we expected from looking on the internet, a really comfortable and clean holiday, mark and Pat gave us a very warm welcome , and a great bottle of wine in the fridge. we did not have a dog with us, but if we had there was some very nice walks everywhere. We cannot speak highly enough of our stay. Thank you Mark and Pat, you are doing a great job. We plan to return, Keith and Chris Tindell

Room Tip: Hawthorn cottage was for us the best choice as everything was on the ground floor, and my wife has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Booked into the Church Court with my Girlfriend and 2 Dogs, Mark and Kat welcomed us and showed us where we could take the dogs to stretch there legs. The accomodation was a home from home with everything you could wish for and a great bottle of wine in the fridge. The views and wals in the are are amazing and Marks knowledge of the area was exceptional. I would Highly recomend any one to stay here as it is a paradise in the lakes without the over crowding of the national park. Go on book it now and maybe we will see you there.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have just spent a fabulous week here in the Eden Valley. And we almost missed the rain! Mark and Pat are great hosts - on our arrival Mark gave us a tour of the village (which is tiny and a delight). We were with my sister and her husband and my sister and I had birthdays while we there there. Mark arrived at the door with highly unusual and very delicious birthday gifts!

We stayed in the Barn, it's comfortable and has everything you might need - including a log fire (which we didn't need to light) but I'm sure looks cosy on a cold day. Also lots of games for both adults and children.

The Eden valley is gorgeous, rolling hills and beautiful scenery. It's on the edge of the lakes so quiet and peaceful but not a long journey to any attraction.

We ate in The Crosskeys, the Fox Inn and the Shepherd's Inn in Malmerby and enjoyed all our meals - a word to the wise though - the meals are HUGE so if you aren't a big eater then a starter will be enough.

I would recommend Church Court Cottages to anyone wanting to stay in Cumbria - the Cumbrians are a friendly bunch and you will be made very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shipsatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights with our dog Dora. As soon as we arrived Mark greeted us and walked us up the lane so she could stretch her legs. He introduced us to his own dogs and made us very welcome. We stayed in Herdwick and it was the sweetest doll's house of a cottage. Warm and cosy with everything you could need, I could even have baked a cake if I'd felt inclined. The wine in the fridge was a nice touch as was the venison sausage. There was so much info in the cottage about places to go and Mark directed us to some lovely places far from the crowds. Dora thought she was in doggy heaven! She is only 6 months old but settled as if she'd always lived there. There were water bowls in the cupboard for dogs and we took her bed with us. Our mobile phone got no reception so family couldn't reach us which meant for 5 whole days we just chilled. I hated coming back to the real world and will definitely be going again.

Room Tip: Herdwick is best for a dog if only 2 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaBadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights last November. Helm cottage was cosy, warm, very clean and well equipped - ideal for coming back to after wonderful walks around the village, Melmerby, Lacy's caves and Long Meg stone circle. We enjoyed a welcome bottle of wine kindly provided by Mark and Pat and ate very well at Melmerby village pub, the village bakery and Little Salkeld mill cafe. We are keen to return, and after being shown all 4 cottages by Mark as we left, can recommend any of them for family and couples breaks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayview30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

I stayed recently at one of the Church Court Cottages with my family (Wife & 2 children, 7 & 8 years old). We stayed in the barn.

The barn was really well appointed, living space upstairs, which was a novelty for the children! Every utensil you could need, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, organised recycling area, flat screen TV with DVD player, loads of games & books to keep you entertained.
The Sofas were the most comfortable piece of furniture I have sat on. There is a wood burning stove, which is ready to light when you arrive, in the corner which creates a great atmosphere.

The owners Pat & Mark were extremely welcoming, A chilled bottle of wine in the fridge and a couple of chilled beers greeted us on arival. Plenty of guidance and ideas for our holiday was greatly appreciated.
Nothing was too much trouble, we had set off last minute on our holiday and needed a few essentials, butter & milk were offered to us without hesitation.

Gamblesby was a tranquil setting, farmland surronded the cottage with a great view of the North Pennines from our windows.

A great break, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaptersGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

My partner hadn't told me where we were heading to for our Valentines weekend. When we drove 5 hours from London I knew it would be special.
We arrived and it was the most beautiful surprise. Our cottage had original features, great facilities, was cosy and clean. Mark and Pat were very helpful and recommended some good places to visit which we thoroughly enjoyed. The cottage location was fantastic as it had the peaceful country surroundings whilst still being only a short drive away from all amusements. I would have given 10/10 instead of 9/10 if there was a bath along as well as the shower and more heating - but that really wasn't too much of an issue as the romantic experience on a whole kept us warm :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyd84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Church Court Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Court Cottages

Property: Church Court Cottages
Address: Church Villa, Gamblesby, Gamblesby CA10 1HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Gamblesby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gamblesby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four high quality red sandstone cottages in picturesque Gamblesby near Penrith, gateway to the North Lakes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing