We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cross Keys Inn
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$58
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
$83
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$155
$149
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorns Hall(Sedbergh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
90
77
27
18
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
77
27
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteak and ale pieroaring fireyorkshire dalesscampishared bathroomgenerous portionsgroupon deallovely foodshort breakboth nightsrelaxing weekendwarm welcomepleasant staylake districtfull english breakfastfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 236 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I spent a week here whilst working at the services on business, and thoroughly enjoyed it! I didn't eat anywhere else all week! All the bar staff were very friendly and there was a decent atmosphere in the bar, especially when the fire was burning. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The chalet style rooms at the back of the pub looked right over the rolling hills and I would probably choose one of them was I to visit again.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for a great review I will pass it on...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here as a base for visiting the surrounding national parks. It's was a good budget price for a double ensuite room. The rooms were clean and had what you needed. The staff were really friendly and the food was tasty, home cooked fare. A comfy and pleasant place to spend a few days.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bakery_treats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Lovely comments thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked an overnight stay on way home from Lowther Show (have use inn for drinks a few times)
however on being shown to room no.4 we were met with a strong smell of damp in both bedroom and the bathroom, both bathroom with very old brown bath suite and bedroom with large scratch marks on door and skirting boards exposing bare wood the wardrobe with missing handle did not bode well for a nights stay so we paid up our £80.00 and promptly left, they did not seem surprise that we had only stayed in the room for max 5mins and did not enquire why we were leaving, but thanked us for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

The room you were checked into has only just been decorated, however I will check if damage has been done & I will fix it straight away. The bath is old but is very clean I keep it as its the only bath we have in the premises & some people like a bath. We are very busy this summer no body else has made a complaint about this room. However, when I go to a place I don't go just for the room, I go for ambiance, food, drink etc etc. I am sorry but you never gave us a chance for us to show you what we can do, food & drink etc. So I don't know how you can base your opinion on just a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights and found it enjoyable and relaxing we were made to feel extremely welcome by all the staff the food was excellent and reasonably priced this is a place we will be staying again soon

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webby393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Once again thank you for lovely comments...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have visited the Cross Keys on numerous occasions over the past 3 years as we have a caravan sited 2 miles away at Westmorland and we have always found a warm welcome. The building itself is an old coach house from yesteryear situated in the village of Tebay. The location of the Cross Keys is ideal for visiting the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales or further afield. The service is second to none and the staff are always cheery and welcoming.
I cannot believe some of what the previous reviewers are suggesting and it isn't anything that we have encountered on many visits and we will continue to visit in the future, this was a great find and an establishment we will continue to use going forward.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments I do know you both and yes you do visit us very often, thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews