We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. But..”
Review of Cross Keys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Tebay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food. But..”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed a good meal here. The chicken goujons were great however two soups were warm not hot. The meals were pretty good and there was a lot of choice. My concern was that there was a large dog (obviously resident) that was thrown a ball a couple of times by the same person that took the order and served the food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank milkygraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
If me or my staff handle my dog at any time or if we visit the toilet we all wash our hands in the bar area right in front of customers, I encourage this as its good hygiene practise. I would never take an order, serve a drink or take food to the table with anything less than totally hygienic hands or clothes etc..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    60
    22
    18
    20
See reviews for
37
96
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice beer; decent food at a fair price; my room was in need of decoration and a thorough spring clean. Nice log fire and a big breakfast. Cheap but not too cheerful as far as motorway stopovers go and close enough to the M6 to make an early start again the next morning when heading north or south.

Room Tip: Check what time the restaurant closes because if you arrive late there may be nowjere else to eat. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We visited here on our way up to Scotland for a rugby weekend as its close to the motorway. The food choice was good and at a reasonable price. We all ate the steak and ale pie which was really tasty with lots of steak and full of flavor. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Lovely comments thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I note that most of the reviews are similar to my previous comments- "Dump." However, if you go to booking.com you will mainly positive reviews. I think the landlord is working overtime on sending the reviews. He certainly was not slow in sending me unpleasant emails after I stayed there in December 2011. I do not know what advice can be offered to the landlord but I note laterooms.com do not even give the place a star rating.

As far as the place is concerned, I will never be back and the landlord has put me off Tebay for life.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Owner at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I cannot place my own comments on Booking.com the comments on there are genuine as are the comments on freetobook.com. I am only just registered with laterooms hence the lack of comments or star rating. You have made your feelings public maybe you should just leave it at that, instead of commentg again on a visit that took place a long time ago!
T.Gerrard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in room two upstairs with my daughter who was a baby at the time, the room had terrible damp problems, which was just the start, 2 am and the damp ceiling caved in and fell in my babys cot covering her in rubble. This could have killed my daughter!! There was no one around to tell them what had happened at the time so I had to stay in another open, empty room that night. In the morning the landlord looked more worrird about what would happen to him rather than what had happened and simply blamed the brewery. The legal case is ongoing and the brewery are trying everything they can to squirm out of responsibility for this. It is disgusting and atrocious that this happened to a baby of less than a year old and nobody wants to take responsibility!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janette1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Owner at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I would like to put the record straight regarding this review as you are only reading one side of a long story. Yes the cieling did fall on on your daughter however you were the head chefs wife & all of you were staying here for free for nearly two months, as I was helping you out while you found accomodation in the village. Both yourself & your husband had my mobile number but you did not want to wake me up. I was extremely upset when I found out what had happened & my only concern was for your daughter. I then moved you all to one of my better rooms in the garden. I remember your husband telling me he was going to push the insurance company for compensation, to which I was 100% okay with as it would not effect my premiums whatsoever. Unfortunately I had to sack your husband for criminal damage to my property, hence the non truth comments from yourself. To be honest I am hurt by the fact that you would write such a comment when you know what happened was a complete accident & I was very upset by it, plus I tried my upmost to accomodate all your family settling into the village.
T.Gerrard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked into the cross keys inn to break a journey from kent to scotland . Upon arrival due to a mix up with the bookings we were upgraded to en-suite double rooms which was no problem for us, we choose to dine in the restaurant and the food was excellent as was the choice of local ales , all in all a great place to dine and stay .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klethaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Lovely comments thank you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked a room at this pub to break the journey from South Wales to Scotland and as we were talking our dog we required a dog friendly place. The staff at the Cross Keys couldn't do enough, and even set us a quiet table in the bar for breakfast so we could keep the dog with us as she was only 14 weeks old. We booked a garden suite as this was larger and could accomodate the dogs sleeping crate. An additional feature of the room was that it lead directly out on to the rear carpark so it was really easy to take the dog out for toileting. The room was modern and tastefully decorated in creams and maroons, with a double bed, sofa, TV and dining table.
The food was better than I was expecting and very tasty. Breakfast was good and provided a filling start to the day.

Room Tip: If you have dogs the only dog friendly rooms are the garden suites. These are ideal as the large pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipsy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you we try to get it right all of the time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tebay
1.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
11.1 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
541 reviews
2.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 5 in Orton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys Inn

Property: Cross Keys Inn
Address: A685 | Just south of Church St, Tebay CA10 3UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Tebay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tebay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Keys Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Cross Keys Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing