We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel with a view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cross Keys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Tebay B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hotel with a view.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here very recently for a night. Lovely location near the M6 with a fantastic view of the Lune gorge! The Cross keys is an old 16 century coaching inn. The room was clean & tidy & service was fine. Lovely food both in the evening & at Breakfast. If your a walker & or cycling in the Lake District or the Yorkshire dales than this will be fine as the location is great & the rooms are basic but clean. i think the hotel offers good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Nice comments thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    19
    17
    17
See reviews for
32
87
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here in September and had a terrific time. The food was great , the room was clean and the host was a perfect one ! Would certainly stay here again.
We went as a group and no one seemed to have a complaint about anything. The staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble for them. There was a live band on the Saturday night who was really good and gave the night a party atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123amandaj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Nice comments thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The welcome which we received was great, the pub reasonably OK, but that unfortunately was where the good part ended. The room was basic, which is not a negative alone, but the smell was awful, with a damp smell in the room and a very strong smell of dog in the corridor. In fairness, the beds were comfortable and clean, but the TV didn't work and even on asking, they weren't sufficiently bothered to try and fix the problem.
The bathroom was shared (a fact of which we were aware in advance) however the shower in the INCREDIBLY small shower room did not work, and the bathroom, which was old, tired and in desperate need of renovation, was the only working shower for residents of the main building, thus our bathroom that was supposed to service 2 rooms, saw people from the upper floor having to use it. We had a quick peek at the garden rooms, which were in a completely different league, and looked reasonably tasteful and clean.
Breakfast was fine, and the owners pleasant enough, but for £60, I feel the room was unreasonably over-priced. Overall, I certainly wouldn't want to stay in the main building, nor would I recommend it, however those in the garden rooms may have better luck.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, don't stay in the main building, definitely go for the garden roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments that part of the building has now been totally re-decorated... And customers only from those rooms are allowed to use the showers, no-one else needs to as all other rooms are en-suite....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stopped off here for a night in august 2012 to break the journey back from a holiday in the Scottish highlands. Chose the Cross keys at it looked like a place with a bit of character close to the M6 and roughly the half way point on the journey and seemed a better prospect than a motorway travellodge. The "family room" we booked had a disabled bathroom with a walk in shower, no bath, tiny sink and a high toilet despite there being no description of this on the website or in the booking material. Not suitable at all for small children. As an aside I would have though after spending no doubt a considerable sum providiing the disabled facilties the owners would want to make more of this on thier website.

The room, one of a set of recent build chalets outside of the old pub, was cold despite it being late august and the heating was switched off with no means of switching it on.
The double bed was comfortable enough but the single bed our daughter had needed a new matress and was really not too comfortable. The room was clean however.

The waiting staff were pleasent enough, just a bit useless. My dinner was nice enough (Steak) although I had to go looking for the pepper sauce meant to come with it. My partner's Salmon was overcooked and the prawns tiny and not very nice.
Breakfast time next morning, we were not offered sauces or given any indication as to where we could find the juice and cereals. I had full english which was nice enough but kind of flung at you rather than served.

Positive points
Nice views of minor fells on edge of lake district
Good childrens play area.
The beer was OK and the old part of the pub characterful.
Location, just off the M6 convenient for a journey break

In total, including dinner we paid £170, whilst not a huge amount, I didn't feel like it was worth it for what we got and will not be staying again if we decide to break a journey to/from Scotland. We will perhaps venture further from the motorway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
All those rooms have their own thermostat which only you can use once your in your room, the room is described as disabled, but it can take a family of four, the only disabled facilities are the bathroom..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I cannot agree with many of the reviews.We have stayed here on more than one occasion and relish the old fashioned charm of staying somewhere with true history. Yes some of the older rooms are small ( and very old ) but that's what it is all about. There are modern rooms which we have not tried as we enjoy reliving a time gone by. The staff have always been great and the food fine.An ideal place to stay en route to perhaps the Lakes or as we have done to break a journey to Manchester airport. Appreciating what the place has been and what it offers is the beauty of the Cross keys-don't go looking for 21st century modernity you can find that elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhaywoodandsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Nice constructive comments thank you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in a lovely cottage in penrith area and decided to have our evening meal in this pub.
I popped in one afternoon to check if it was ok to take my well behaved dog. The reception i got from the barmaid was insulting and very negative but i could take our dog. we decided to give it a go anyway just in case it was a bad moment. Unfortunately we couldn't be more wrong. The same barmaid was working and she was insullent, miserable, rude, no manners whatsoeve. To top it off the meal was awful. Dont waste your time or money at this place, hopefully it will be taken over by someone decent who appreciate the custom. It is a shame as it is in a lovely location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
As always I would advise bringing your comments to the management, when we can do something about it for you, my apologies...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

On the road out of Tebay heading towards Kendal is a burger van. I suggest you get your evening meal from there about mid-day and reheat it a few hours later. It will be better. I just paid over £40 for out of the packet pizza and sausage 'meals' for the kids and a chicken-ish dinner for the wife. After the burger without cheese I ordered came with cheese the replacement came like it was thrown onto the plate with frustration and disgust. We didn't stay for desert as the thought of another £20 for a bowl of Tesco's value ice cream each was sticking in my throat more than the manky cucumber supplied with my leather burger and cardboard chips. I can only assume the recommendation given to me from the owner of the cottage we are staying in was either via a rather large 'bung' or under duress from the shady looking local mafia type staff. Still, the pint was good....although its hard to get that wrong isn't it. So glad we didn't have to stay the night as its the kind of place you see in a Carry On Film where the locals all stop and stare when the strangers walk in....then ignore you when they hear you have a London accent.

Room Tip: Buy a tent instead and camp in Tebay services behind the truckpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
I know that the locals are not like you suggest one bit, in fact the opposite... I suggest in future bring your disatisfaction to the management, or do you not do that in london???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tebay
0.0 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
1.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
643 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 5 in Orton
199 reviews
9.9 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
426 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys Inn

Property: Cross Keys Inn
Address: A685 | Just south of Church St, Tebay CA10 3UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Tebay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tebay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Keys Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cross Keys Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing