We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 would want to go back there”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelandur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
K Gudi Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

1. Selected the last Log Hut.
2. Great wilderness experience all around the camp.
3. Continues russel of the dry leaves during the night because there are many Deer, wild bore, some Sambars and 1 or 2 Barking deer (which never come close to the camp) all around the area.
With so many eyes on the alert you get to here many alarm calls during the night and especially before dawn which always continue right till the time one leaves for the morning Safari.
4. Small tourism zone and one might feel we are travelling in the same area time and again (good for the wild life though as there is very less disturbance) but the sighting is good enough and the forest churns some or the other surprise - In our 4 trips we saw Bear, Elephants, Bison, Sambar (Spotted and the Barking deer are every where), Missed a family of Tigers (may be within few minutes time) as they walked ahead of us and into an area which is a non-tourism zone. Jungle was still resonating with all sorts of alarm calls as we watched from the border of the tourism limit.
5. Great location for birding. Tip: To watch smaller species of Birds, don't try too hard - Just stay at the dining hall (01:30 till 03:00) and turn towards the bird bath that created. U will go crazy... i counted 14 species of birds interacting within themselves, in just 30 minutes.
6. Food is really simple and very tasty - Staff ready to cook what you want. Staff is very supportive, kind and ever so helpful.
7. I felt it was (no... IT REALLY IS!) expensive when you compare safari and the guided trek - these should simply and at least be the double of what they are now. Believe this is a really extreme measure taken up by the govt in restricting the tourists or the tourism zone - Especially on those who have a genuine interest and well aware of the rules of Nature.

Room Tip: Last Log Hut... as its the last one. U get to see Sambars from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK1132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 279 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great place to visit if you are a bird lover. The property is in the buffer zone of a reserve forest and you will love the stay if you love the outdoors. The staff are very polite and courteous. There are predators around but very hard to spot. You might wake up in the middle of the night and stay awake listening to the langoors call, because you are excited not because you sleep quality is bad.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pathfinder2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great place to go. Amazing facilties provided in such remote location. Staffs are extremely good & friendly. Food is very good.
lesson learned, go there only during weekdays. Avoid public holidays, so that you have some chance to spot some wild animals

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sent2sunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Recently visited K Gudi Wilderness Camp with wife and a couple friend. Stayed for three nights to get the real feel of staying deep inside a forest, this being the only resort actually inside a forest unlike most which are on the periphary of the forests/sanctuaries. The tented cottage one stayed in was decent and facing the wilderness, adding to the thrill/fear of having some predators sulking around. The nights were really thrilling what with warning calls emanating from all directions by Sambar deers/cheetals and barking deers, indicating presence of some tiger/ leopard in the vicinity. Though ond did six safaris, luck was not in favour as could not spot any big cats/elephants. Saw lots of Barking deers which is very rare in most other places, and Gaurs.The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only and serious concern is the Safaris where the Driver is also the naturelist/guide, a rather dangerous arrangement given the type of terrain. He can either concentrate on driving or on spotting wild animals/ birds, because if he tried both we could land up in some ravine/ ditch. JLR needs to look into this aspect seriously.Food was very average and the chef needs to be trained in some proper place.

Room Tip: select tents number 6/7/8 for better view of the jungle and for real creeps at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esveekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

An awesome place to enjoy the beauty of wild with 'feel home' experience. 'Kudos' to the entire Management and staffs of Jungle lodges for perfectly setting up this place. All my friends were thrilled and delighted the experiences they had during their short visit and most of them are looking to come back to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vimalnair09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I visited K Gudi Camp over the weekend, been to many other jungle camp his one was special as the camp is located exactly inside the BRT sanctuary with a very well maintained camp. The welcome was very good from the staff and received me with a welcome drink, was then been escorted till the cottage and briefed about the happenings at the lodge with timings. The Food was too good, and the cottages are well maintained and very clean.

Night sleep was too calm even without comforts such as light, TV and internet. Birds will wake you up in the morning. The best part was safari in the jungle, I am a photographer and one main thing I wish for is spotting of animals. This wish was fulfilled as I spotted many animals like deer, sambar, elephants, wild dog, indian guar along with the predators leopard and Tiger.

Will highly recommend to someone who love to be in wild jungle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshwinSrinivasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited KGudi Wilderness Camp over New Year. Beautifully set in the midst of nowhere, this camp is ideal for a serene, relaxing weekend or short breaks. The camp is certainly not luxurious, no TV or internet but meets the basic needs well and in fact is perfect to stay away from media-savvy comforts and indulge in bit of solitude and nature-friendly environment. The cottages are very clean and tidy, and except an odd spider or two in the bathroom (typical of a wilderness camp), no other annoyance at all. Electricity was time-bound, so as hot water. The staff were very friendly and courteous and catered to the needs of everyone including children and infants. Food was delicious and homely, you will certainly over-eat if you don't watch out. So long you don't expect a tiger or leopard to show up on every safari you won't be disappointed. Abundance of bird-life (amazing), varied flora and fauna and a good viewing of common game (such as elephants, gaur, barking deer, spotted deer, langur monkeys) is almost guaranteed. Having travelled a lot within India and been to many national parks, I am impressed with the quality of safaris and the attitude of guides to deliver their best. I have enjoyed my stay thoroughly and would love to visit the property again sometime in the future. It will certainly be more fun, if you travel in small groups - that way you won't get bored beyond 2-3 days unless you are an avid reader. I must also say that the road to this property from Bangalore is absolutely amazing, particularly the scenic drive through the forest once you cross the check-post.

Room Tip: I believe the loghuts are slightly better, but I am quite happy with the tented cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anindya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelandur
6.5 mi away
Gorukana
Gorukana
#1 of 1 in Biligiriranga Hills
221 reviews
12.2 mi away
Nijaguna Residency
Nijaguna Residency
#2 of 3 in Bandipur
31 reviews
6.5 mi away
Akasa BR Hills
Akasa BR Hills
#1 of 3 in Chamarajanagar
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Raya Resort
Raya Resort
#1 of 1 in Mudukuthore
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to K Gudi Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Gudi Wilderness Camp

Address: Kyathadevara Gudi | B.R. Hills, Yelandur 571313, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chamarajanagar District > Yelandur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yelandur
Price Range: $199 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inimitable rush of untamed terrain - gorges, valleys, forests and swirling, swollen and frothing white water: that's what the Kali Adventure Camp at Dandeli is about. A sprawling bungalow on the banks of the majestic Kali River, this wilderness camp is all about making a connection with nature. Take a walk down the wild side and discover just how invigorating it can be. Discover the sheer adrenalin rush of being alive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
k Gudi Wilderness Camp Hotel Yelandur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing