We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend jungle getaway!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of K Gudi Wilderness Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
K Gudi Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Weekend jungle getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Always wanted to visit the K Gudi Wilderness Camp because we had heard a lot about this place being a great place for wildlife spotting and well within the jungle perimeters. Indeed this place is situated deep inside the forest. Once you cross the forest check post, this place is a good 20-25 kms inside, which makes it really really close to nature. Not much traffic on this route during weekdays so that adds to the beauty of this place. The staff is good natured like we are used to all the Jungle Lodges by now but the property does not have the same "great place" feel. May be this is not as popular as other Jungle Lodges, may be this place is a little old. But none of this takes away from the amazing experience you can have amidst nature and wildlife here. The food is Jungle Lodges-like, safaris are am out of the world experience. And if you get to spot something in the wild, just adds to your long list of points to like this place. Highly recommended for those who love nature and want to have a quiet time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite spaced out so doesn't matter which room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivekkadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    116
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
116
64
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

JLR-K Gudi Wilderness Camp is a government-run jungle camp within the BR Hills forest. It is located within the forest on top of a hill. This property is not intended to be a luxury camp and looks to cater to the basic needs of a wildlife safari crowd. You do not have TV, cable, Internet or 24 hours Electricity. It's costly considering the lack of amenities. But the price that you pay includes the safari charges + 3 meals + evening tea/snacks and the stay within a forest. Therefore please set your expectations accordingly and do not expect any luxury at all.
Staff: The reception staff was very polite and friendly. They brief you about your programme during the stay and about the facilities available at the lodge. There are attendants, polite and friendly, who look after your needs
Room: The property has lodge rooms, loghuts and tented cottages. I stayed in Tented Cottage#1 named Black Drongo, on single occupancy basis. The room was basic and very small. The foundation and bathroom of the tented cottage is made of cement. Only the room has a canvas tent. There is a thatched roof in which you may find Birds with nests. The room had a double bed, couple of small tables and a few clothes hangars. There is electricity in the morning for about 45 mins (before the safari) and for about 4 hours from 6.00 pm to 10.00 pm.
The room was clean and tidy. Since there is no electricity for majority of the day, they provide you with a battery-operated Emergency lamp.
Bathroom: The bathroom was large and very very clean. The bathroom windows are netted. However being in the middle of the forest please expect insects esp. spiders. They provide soap, shampoo sachets and towels which were new and clean. Hot water is available only in the evenings from 6.30 pm to 8.30 pm (pls reconfirm)
Food: Meals are buffet style at the Gol Ghar (dining area). The buffet choices are limited but the food was decent.
Other Facilities/Things to do:
1. This a spacious property within the forest and you'll see a lot of birds in and around the premises, Bhraminy kites, Spotted doves, grey wagtails, orange headed thrush to name a few. The wildlife esp. deer, wild boar, langurs are common sights near the cottages
2.You can watch wildlife films in the evenings in the Office buidling
3. There is a TT table in case you long for some indoor games
4. There is a small library in the office building from where you can borrow books for reading
Things I disliked:
No hot water during the day and unreliable Mobile reception (Vodafone). But that's a small price to pay for being so close to nature.
Things I loved:
1. The lovely location within the forest
2. The wildlife safaris in the Tiger reserve and actually sighting 2 huge sub-adult tigers and a sloth bear in one safari trip !!!
3. The friendly and helpful staff
4. Watching and photographing the birds and animals when sitting in your cottage
Verdict:
I would return for the following reasons 1) The beautiful location within the forest, so close to nature 2) The tiger and sloth bear sightings

Room Tip: The loghuts have a great view of the valley Tent # 6 also has a good view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobindavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The K.Gudi Wilderness Camp is adjacent to the forest department guest house and forest staff quarters and surrounded by forests. There are 7 tents and 3 log huts. We stayed in the log hut situated on top of a hill. You get a good view of the valley below from the Log hut/Tents. The hut was very clean and neat. The food is average but tasty. The staff were very courteous and helpful. There is no electricity and the generator is put on only between 6 to 10 in the evening. Hot water is available only in the morning. Unlike other Jungle Lodge Resorts there is no bar here. Any payments has to be made by card only, no cash is accepted. You get good BSNL mobile coverage at the resort.

We had been to the Biligiri Ranganathaswamy Temple about 25 Kms away from the resort. The temple is situated on top of a hill.

We were taken on two safaris a day, one from 6.30 to 9 in the morning and the other from 3.30 and 6 in the evening. The forest unlike Bandipur and Nagarhole, is thick with lantana bushes, besides this area is very hilly. So sighting of wildlife is very difficult and if at all you get to see anything, it has to be on the road and by the time you can have a good look at it, it would have run into the bushes. We were there for two days and went on four safaris. There is only one route given on which we had to go on all the four safaris. We were told by our safari driver cum naturalist that there are 40 tigers and 60 leopards in this sanctuary. So we kept our eyes and ears wide open and mouths shut to atlest hear if not see one of them. The animals we saw were small herd of deer numbering 3 to 12, unlike in other sanctuaries were we can see a minimum of 20 in one herd. Sambar deer heads as they were standing in the bush, a pair of Gaur and a number of barking deer which are normally solitary and shy.

But on our 3rd safari, just as we gave up hope and as it was time to go back, thanks to the alertness of our driver cum naturalist who saw a tiger run across the road. But as there was a big drop in the hill, the tiger just sat down there itself about 20 feet from our vehicle. He must have realised that we were very anxious to get a better view of him, he obliged us and came and sat on the road and refused to get up until our driver started the vehicle and moved on as it was time to get back to camp. We got to see the tiger for almost 15 minutes. If it was not getting late we would had sat there longer, as this was a one time experience to see a tiger for so long and that too so close.

On the forth safari we saw the same deer and Gaur and nothing else but left with an unforgettable experience of seeing the tiger and hope to return to see the remaining 39.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew3504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location. Set amidst the forests. Great wildlife location, serene, quiet and chilled out. The amenities are very basic. Since it is inside a Tiger Reserve, they do not sell alcohol. The hot water takes a long time to come. You have to waste two or three buckets of good cold water before the hot water starts flowing. The staff are extremely friendly, warm and committed. The resort shuts down power generator at 10.00 PM. You have to stay inside the tents or log huts. Not very children friendly. Excellent for adults. Safari has one limited track and you have to do the same route on all trips. Great tiger movements. But very difficult to spot the cats.

Room Tip: Choose the Log Huts if you are scared of the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerRamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It was my first visit to this JLR and can only describe as "Incredible Experience". We were 3 families with two kids. Started at 6 from Bangalore in our Xuv 500 and we all fit in, spacious car and took Mysore road but later i felt we should have taken the Kanakapura road which we did while coming back. Reached at 1:00 PM as after Mysore we have taken some wrong route which took us in villages and bad road eat the time.
The resort staff was very friendly and greeted us on our arrival with welcome drinks, later they took our luggage to assigned cottages. With our surprise deer and wild boars were also there to welcome us, kids were first scared of them but later become use to of their presence.
We did 4 safaris and seen few animals but the highlight were Sloth Bear and Dholes. The safari drivers were good and have knowledge of both flora and fauna. In one of the safari, it was pouring and we could only see the green median on the road with some scary skids of the jeep but overall amazing experience.
This property is really in middle of forest, which is just the adjacent to core area. On first night while having dinner we have heard Sambar deer warning call just coming from downhill where Gol Ghar is situated. Next day was awesome from wildlife enthusiast point of view and frightening for a normal person. We came back from morning safari and just behind tented cottage 6 on the hillock was an intense warning call from Langur later from Sambar and Chittal and after 5 mins from barking deer. As who know jungle and warning calls and the intensity, they can imagine it was for Tiger or Leopard. We along with few JLR staff were watching the situation as it seem that the predator will show up in next 5 mins but it moved and we can track by warning calls from distance. But i can say it was really an amazing experience as later i was informed that this path comes under a Tigress territory and she keep moving from this place.
About food, i can agree with some fellow travelers that the taste is really good then other JLR properties and even few good restaurants. The service was nice and staff is always ready to help you for any requirement. The place gets engulfed in fog & mist after evening and you can feel the chill, which gives it hill station feel. The place do not have electricity after 10:30 PM but none of us feel it is required as its very cold, so no fan required. They provide an emergency light in room and lanterns outside the cottages.
Overall, I will recommend this property to my family and friends who want to have a different experience in a jungle.

Room Tip: Choose Log huts or tented cottage then number 7 as the scenery is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReprendraChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is my second visit to K Gudi Wilderness camp and I am happy to see that the place still is pristine. This time we were blessed with a tiger sighting as well.

Just around 4 hours drive from Bangalore and situated at the corner of a thick jungle, this is something not to miss if you are a wildlife enthusiast.

A few important tips

- Do remember this is a government run chain to promote wildlife and Eco tourism.
- This is not a regular resort . So do take the plunge only if you can stand a few days without TV, no swimming pool, room service, no power in the night etc.
- Please do try to follow the rules and regulations of a wild life resort and use common sense , even though you can occasionally find a few boorish guests who have utter disregard for this type of set up.
- There is no concept of extra bed charges here- meaning even if you are 3 or 4 and want only one log-hut/tent you will be charged fully

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms here- Log-huts(3 in number) and tents. Although log-huts are more comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anupkma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

As a regular visitor to the Jungle Lodges chain and as a second-time visitor to K Gudi, the recent price hikes are beginning to show on the value proposition.

The log-hut is very comfortable and the balcony is a very relaxing place for an evening drink. The people are all warm and genuinely passionate about eco-tourism. The complementary two safari rides per day is the main activity at this camp. The food is good.

Although nothing to complain, the value proposition is eroding fast at Rs5000 per person per day (50% for kids!).

Room Tip: Log-Huts are better, in my opinion, than the tented cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelandur
0.0 mi away
La Flora Prakruth Resort
La Flora Prakruth Resort
#22 of 44 in Kodagu (Coorg)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
14.2 mi away
Nijaguna Residency
Nijaguna Residency
#2 of 3 in Bandipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
15.5 mi away
Raya Resort
Raya Resort
#1 of 1 in Mudukuthore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Akasa BR Hills
Akasa BR Hills
#1 of 2 in Chamarajanagar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eka Resort Hallibyle Village
Eka Resort Hallibyle Village
#6 of 34 in Sakleshpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Gudi Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Gudi Wilderness Camp

Property: K Gudi Wilderness Camp
Address: Kyathadevara Gudi | B.R. Hills, Yelandur 571313, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Yelandur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yelandur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inimitable rush of untamed terrain - gorges, valleys, forests and swirling, swollen and frothing white water: that's what the Kali Adventure Camp at Dandeli is about. A sprawling bungalow on the banks of the majestic Kali River, this wilderness camp is all about making a connection with nature. Take a walk down the wild side and discover just how invigorating it can be. Discover the sheer adrenalin rush of being alive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your K Gudi Wilderness Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Gudi Wilderness Camp Hotel Yelandur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing