We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Raigad, Raigad District, Maharashtra

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kanchan V
1 review
“Excellent place”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Excellent place comfortable accomodation and great people skills. Caretaker was patient with our requests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2017
We would rate Kanchan and her family more than five stars:

Five stars as excellent and patient guests
And one extra star for treating us to prawns and fish which they cooked in their own style in the caretaker's kitchen. We were lucky to be on premises on that day.
And one more extra star since the cooking reminded me of my mom's cooking.

So seven stars in total!

Hope to see you and your family again, thanks a ton!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tushar b
1 review
“Not satisfied”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Infrastucture & garden is good.But the service is poor.Foods are very bad taste n quality, need to improve.water not available many times,TV/DTH not working. No water for the water purifier n washing machine.MOst of the time there is negative answer from the sevice provider person.Manpower is less to serve or to take care.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Thanks for your review, Tushar. The comments about food was surprising since we have got mostly positive comments after we got a new caretaker. Water was a problem on that particular day. Sorry that you were disappointed. We will take care of your suggestions right away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shardul P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Farmhouse for Family and Big groups.”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had visited Devrai farmhouse with a family(6 adults & 1 Dog). The farmhouse in has 2 bedrooms, a dining table, kitchen area and a living room with Tv. Both the bedrooms are equipped with Ac. They have maintained the house very well. There are lot of trees surrounding the farmhouse and it feels good to sit back and enjoy in nature. They have that famous beach side net swings in the garden.
The care taker are very polite and good, but are lazy sometimes.
It's a perfect getaway house for a family from the boring city- scapes.

The owners were very helpful and informative about the issues that we might face there. (only Idea & Docomo has proper range). But we didn't mind that because it's so pleasant to stay away from office mails for while.

Good place, will definitely visit again on some special occasion with family.

Cheers Team Devrai. :) :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Thanks for visiting us with your family and beautiful dog, Sayali. We love pets and it was good to have him around. Also thanks a ton for adjusting to the inconveniences and still posting a super generous review.


You have put your feedback about the caretaker in kind terms. We have received similar (and not so kind) feedback from other guests and hence we are replacing him mid June.

We really hope that you and your family visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I had very high expectations before getting to Devrai. The hosts sent detailed information of getting there and were greeted well by the owners, however that's where it ended.
We were in for a surprise since there were only fans in the cottages which did not help beat the heat since there was voltage fluctuation. The speed was at its optimum post 1:30am,, however by then the rooms were like a furnace. There was electricity outage early morning at 6am and there was no back up. The caretakers were least interested in providing us a cup of tea which was requested at 7am and we then had to go to a nearby restaurant for tea and breakfast.

Overall a disappointing experience since we were there to spend quality time with family and the kids had to sweat it out in their sleep.

You guys have a long way to go before making Devrai a great place to be recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Thanks for putting your disappointment in kind words, Anthony. Extremely sorry that our service was not upto the mark.
To put things in perspective:
1. Electricity breakdown and no backup:
The electricity breakdown happened before midnight and not at 6:30 am - the breakdown continued till 10AM and the entire Kashid region was in dark. The fans etc.. in the rooms were running on inverter backup from midnight till 6:30 AM. We typically claim only 3+ hours, so it was good that the inverter backup lasted more than 5+ hours.

2. Speed of the fans:
Unfortunately there is very little we can do. Coolers are not an option in the extremely humid environment there. Hence we had installed an extra wall fan - this along with the ceiling fan should have helped in easing the discomfort a bit. From your experience, looks like even that is not helping.

3. Caretaker service regarding morning tea:
The milk in the refrigerator was spoilt due to the continuous breakdown. The caretaker should have conveyed this to you and made alternate arrangements. We will take this up with her.

It would have been good to discuss these with you first. After reading the response, I hope you give us another chance and do visit us (but not in summer time!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasad K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I will mention what we liked and what we did not like. This is very much unbiased review.

What we liked :
1. Kashid beach is very near
2. Affordable place
3. mango tree, dogs to play with, care taker is polite

What we did not like :
1. voltage issue: We had booked room with fan. In some other room whenever the people staying there used to turn on the AC, our fan speed used to considerably decrease. This made our stay horrible with lot of heat and sweating. No point in booking this room unless and until owner solves this issue.

2. Network issue: We did not get airtel as well as vodafone's network for entire day we stayed. Major disappointment for location of this place.

2. Rooms are very small and looks very old. Desperately need painting.

3. Do not ask the caretaker to cook the food for you..average thali and for Rs.290 we got extremely small piece of fish in thali..very disappointing as in Alibag we were expecting much better fish thali. Also, dining table for lunch was not clean while we sat for lunch.

4. Locking our room was a big headache as there is some issue with lock and to lock the door you have to life the door first.

5. Only advantage of location of this place is beach is near. Otherwise you will get easily bored. As you come out of the place you get connected to road with high speed cars. Not much to walk around.

Overall, I would rate our experience 1 out of 5.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Thanks for your unbiased review, Prasad. And also apologize for your bad experience.

Here are our unbiased answers to clearly indicate what is within our control and what is not. (1) and (2) are not unique and out of our control, (3) was explicitly discussed with you, (4) is valid and we will take explicit action. Writing a detailed answer so that all the negatives as indicated in your one point rating are not attributed to us.

1. Voltage issue: The entire Kashid side runs on a single phase now. So this problem is not unique for us but for all the resorts/home-stays on that side. We have been assured that a three phase line will be put in within the next 6 months.
2. Network issue: Again this is a problem for all resorts near Kashid beach.
3. Room size: I see that I had explicitly discussed on the TripAdvisor with you -> "Just wanted to confirm before accepting. The cottage is small room with one bed. So you want to stay with your parents in one room? We will provide an extra bed as required." and you had confirmed your acceptance. So surprised to see this comment.
4. Food from the caretaker and cleanliness: Yes, this is a problem. We plan to change the caretaker or stop this totally if the caretaker does not improve the cost and services. Cleanliness cannot be compromised.

Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kris_pune
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Value for money stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My family (self, wife and 6 yr daughter) stayed at Devrai for 2 nights earlier in March 2017. First the positives:
• The owner was extremely prompt in the booking. He also rescheduled my booking as I had to travel on the originally planned dates of stay.
• Along with the invoice he also sent a detailed route to the farm house and also enquired about our return journey back home, which was nice.
• Property (bunglow and 2 cottages)on the whole is good for a nice relaxing stay.
• Location of the property is excellent, close to Korlai beach and fort, Birla mandir, not very far from Kashid.
• Property was clean and maintained reasonably well.

Negatives:
• Almost all the photos shown on the site are those of the bunglow and not of the cottages. While the bungalow seemed to be extremely spacious, the cottage is essentially a small bedroom and an attached bathroom. Can be small even for a small family like ours. Also, due to the mosquitoes, all the windows had to be kept shut at night. Without the AC it could be difficult to sleep for some and some may find it suffocating.
• The caretaker needs to put in more effort on cleaning the tables and property, especially after lunch / dinner. We had dinner one night and the plates were on the table outside. At night the “inhouse dogs ransacked” the dustbin and the cutlery and waste was all over the garden.
• While three hammocks are in place, only two were in a good condition. Difficult to get a hammock, when the property is occupied by 10 to 13 people, as we found out on the second day.
Overall, it’s a great place for a weekend of relaxing, away from the dust and pollution of the city; if you can compromise on a few things. I personally dont mind visiting again...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Thanks a lot for your generous and frank review, Kris.
Takeaways:

1. Cleanliness: The plates should have been immediately taken away, tables should be clean etc.. The feedback is extremely useful. we have directed the caretaker and he will ensure that this does not happen again. At times, he is overburdened with the number of visitors and so we have given hom some leeway.
2. Hammocks: Replaced.
3. Mosquitoes: We typically give mosquito agarbattis to the guests. Some guests are not comfortable with it so we will put mosquito bats as suggested by another guest. We had installed mosquito nets on the windows but removed them since some guests complained that it was blocking the view and ait flow to some extent.
4. Comfort at night: Yes, it can be quite uncomfortable during the summer if the windows are shut, even in the bungalow. Collers are not an option in the extremely humid environment there. Hence we have installed an extra wall fan - this alongwith the ceiling fan should help in easing the discomfort a bit.

Hope to see you and your family soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zalak S
2 reviews
“Very nice place close to nature and greenery”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Good place to stay. The owner and the caretaker both supported us in all respect. Thank you for taking care before and after the journey.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Thanks for the generous response, Zalak. We would like kind guests like you to visit again and again - hence the effort to go that extra mile. THANK YOU!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing