We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pooja International
Ranked #6 of 8 Davangere B&B and Inns
Indore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very bad service”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was planning to stay for one night in Davangere. The room is booked by someone, so i stay here. There is nothing international about this hotel. Even local Indian tea is not available here. Rooms are OK. Facilities are basic. Of course I didn't expect more from small place like Davangere. Dinner in restaurant was fine with reasonable good service. But room service is below average. The problem was with breakfast, they were serving only Idly-Vada to all guests. The restaurant doesn't serve breakfast. There are get good service to reception, as i stay with my friend and hotel offer me king size bad. As i reuest, he given me the lower rate room and need to charge the suite room.

Room Tip: Front side are good and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashvin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
3
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I Stayed in this hotel while going to Surat from Calicut. I was driving to Surat from Calicut-Kerala. So, after long 650km drive, i reached Devangere and find out this hotel.
When i checked in Trip adviser, saw that this is the somewhat best hotel in Devangere.
Non AC Room cost around 1000 bucks. Room is quite big but not that properly maintained. Even it has a sofa which you don't feel like to sit. Toilet is good. But Old property.

Very average hotel & ok for a night stay. Restaurant is highly over priced. BAR Attached too.
Food is not Bad.
Breakfast is not complimentary.

Room Tip: Okai for a Night !! Thats it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ofabyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was planning to stay for a night in Davangere, on the way to Karwar. The name attracted me, so i choose to stay here. There is nothing international about this hotel. Even local famous Benne-Dosa is not available here. Rooms are OK. Facilities are basic. Of course I didn't expect more from small place like Davangere. Dinner in restaurant was fine with reasonable good service. But room service is below average. The problem was with breakfast, they were serving only Idly-Vada to all guests. The restaurant doesn't serve breakfast. There are no good eateries around this place. I feel there are better places in Davangere than this place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drsridhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good things:
- large well ventilated rooms. Bed/Bedsize/sofa/lighting/bathroom/24hr-hot-water -- good. Good parking space.
- Food is good/ok, restaurant ambience is good.

Bad things:
- People around (reception, housekeeping, roomservice) seemed unfriendly. I left a just-bought water bottle near the main gate after dinner just to walk 20m in the front, the bottle disappeared within a minute.

- Noisy and disturbing: Could here staff speaking loud even in the midnight, some banging the doors (of nearby rooms) open and close several times (frequency made me feel if they were intentional) which was just unbearable.

- There was some 80s color tv where the quality of the channel was horrible. The bathroom door was lose and just just vibrating (literally, due to some chamber attached to wall , which I couldn't make out what it was). The glass on the sofa table was broken with edges out which could hurt kids.

- They are doing renovation, I could hear noises of tiles being cut. And most of the other rooms in the floor (quite large) were closed, it felt very lonely.

- Room service is bad. They dont take away the food left overs/utensils even days after, they dont voluntarily come to room for cleaning and changing bedsheets.


I would still go here if I dont find room in other places. Not worth the price. Service needs to improve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagathsanchari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Pooja International, Davanagere for 1 night only....it was a sponsored stay, so I donno about rates, but regarding the rest

The good:
-Spacious hotel and rooms
-Good location
-Tasty food (Chicken Biryani is little spicy)
-Prompt service and friendly staff
-AC available
-Ample parking space
-Good auditorium, suited for wedding receptions
-Daily free newspapers
-Free toothpaste,soap,coconut hair oil and shampoo given


The bad:
-Hotel needs renovation very badly
-No health faucets
-No free water to drink(Donno why they did not offer)
-Lift is old fashioned and is dangerous(it's the grill type).

It's ok for 1 night's stay

Room Tip: Room no 119 and 120 need renovation;so don't take them unless they have renovated it, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSanjeevGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Rooms are pretty big and spacious.
May be hotel is design by some intern architect because some of the things in hotel's structure u can't understand.
Food is just ok ok.
Bathrooms are big.
Easy to access from NH4.
They don't have good breakfast menu, it was serving only idly and chachav badh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vishaljogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is maybe the biggest in Davangere, rooms are spacious, and clean. You need to be careful at the reception while checking in as they take an advance more than full fare. The corridors are dark but rooms are fine. Ample and good natural light from large windows. The tariff is ok for this size of room. Do check bathrooms for towels and tissue rolls. The food is ok. Service in restaurant is pretty slow.

Room Tip: 209 and 210 are good with an outside green view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davangere hotels
0.6 mi away
Srigandha Residency
Srigandha Residency
#1 of 2 in Davangere
117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankama The Boutique Hotel
Sankama The Boutique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Davangere
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shoven
Hotel Shoven
#3 of 8 in Davangere
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pooja International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pooja International

Property: Hotel Pooja International
Address: Pune-Bangalore Road, Davangere 577006, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Davanagere District > Davangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Davangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pooja International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing