We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for cabins, not so great for caravans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Hobart
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for cabins, not so great for caravans”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed over the Christmas period and booked a powered site for my husband and I, and a cabin for my mum who was visiting. Mum liked her cabin, it had everything she needed in it. It was clean and comfortable, and had plenty of room for her. The caravan sites, however, are less impressive. There are only 6 sites available for caravans, all with en-suites (whether you want one or not), and the sites are right up on the top of a hill where you are precariously perched. I must admit, having our own en-suite bathroom was lovely, but of course you pay extra for it. It felt like we, the caravaners, were stuck up the back and out of everyone's sight. I would recommend this park for travellers wanting cabins, but would not recommend it for travellers wanting powered sites.

Room Tip: Give it a miss if you're in a caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi Maria, thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
48
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night during the Sydney-Hobart, Taste time of the year. The cabin was clean, cosy and provided everything we needed. We thought the half wall / half curtain for the 'master' bed was a little un-private though and turning the heater on involved a lot of trial and error and eventually following the lead through a wall to the side of the bed. Some instructions on the would have saved a bit of frustration! It is an easy run from here to anywhere in Hobart (we went to MONA, Mt Wellington and the Taste) with no problems at all. Well suited to a family doing the ''rounds''.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedj2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

An adequate holiday park for our purpose. 6-bed cabin is suitable with all essentials required for a stay. Traffic noise more noticeable on a work day than over a weekend. With a vehicle most things are within easy reach. Without you're better to stay central.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The park is ideally located 15 mins away from airport and the city of Hobart. With a hire car, one can stay close to the city yet on contact with nature & wildlife. Will stay here in future trips too. The unit was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puneet208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Despite booking early in the year, we ended up here as all Hobart accommodation was taken for the Sydney to Hobart yacht race and 'Taste'. Location is good - on the north side with easy access to the city, Richmond and Port Arthur. Cabins are very basic but clean. We were a family group and had one of the "superior" "cottages" with a deck overlooking a modern day prison (quite ironic given Tasmania's history). If I was to stay here again (unlikely) I would request one of the cabins where the deck was covered - would mean you could still use it when it was raining. There is not a lot of room in the cabins so you need the deck for some extra space. There is a full size fridge and a dishwasher.

It is located on a main highway and you do hear the traffic noise. Management has an adversarial approach - there was an error with our booking (something the staff had not picked up) and we were made to feel that it was our fault.

Room Tip: Ask for a covered deck (not all decks are roofed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

this was our first place we stayed in Hobart and i cant say i was too impressed, very dated and too far out of the way. it was fairly noisy as well. some of the attractions to the park were broken or removed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We chose to book 2 standard cabins for 2 couples for 6 nights ( wanted our personal space) We were given 6 berth cabins which had been recently upgraded from budget to standard by adding a full size fridge and stove.. We had also stayed in standard cabins in Discovery Hadspen and Devonport. This was not quite up to that standard. The cabin was clean but there were little run down touches. (we were told that more upgrades and new cabins were planned for the future) There are some standard cabins which are newer. A lovely location not too far from Hobart CBD and other attractions by car. Lots of birds including blue wrens around our cabin and pademelons at our door. Lovely! The office opening hours (9 to 5) were more restricted than the other parks and we often missed them as we were often out early and back late. I had a problem trying to boil a saucepan of water as the base of the pot had bellied out and didn't make good contact with the solid electric element on the stove. Other than that the kitchen was well enough kitted out. It would have been nice if the manager had let everyone know in advance of the controlled burn off in the adjacent bush land (at his request) as it caused some concern during our evening meal one night. Our 2 cabins had different heaters so could be luck of the draw which you get. Ours worked well, but was basically an electric 2 bar radiator with fan. The main bedroom was divided off by a curtain and the fridge is almost in the bedroom. It vibrated a lot while cycling on and off (all night). The shower curtain was annoying too and the shower was small. (other parks had screens) Not bad there and would consider it again. .

Room Tip: If booking a standard cabin try to get a newer one instead of upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risdon
4.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
4.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
1,226 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
5.0 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
575 reviews
3.4 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#25 of 48 in Hobart
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Hobart

Property: Discovery Parks - Hobart
Address: 673 East Derwent Hwy, Risdon, Clarence, Tasmania 7017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Risdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Risdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing