We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family favourite holiday spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooks Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooks Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Family favourite holiday spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We're planning our next visit before the end of the school holidays which will be the 6th or 7th stay at Cooks Beach Holiday Resort. The kids love the pool, the proximity to the beach and safe fishing in the estuary, the adults love the spa and that the kids are busy and happy! Management (Kelly and Dave) have always been very friendly and helpful and despite the various other potential destinations for us in our caravan, we always seem to end up at Cooks Beach for the major holidays of the year! Over the 2 or so years we've been going, there have been new facilities added, they're always clean and there's everything you could want for a really great family camping holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
45
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We only stayed the one night here but were taken by surprise by the quality fit out of the facility. The value for money was excellent. Staff were friendly. We sat in the spa from 10pm til 11.30pm having a few quiet beers (don't tell em we did) under the clear sky with amazing stars. The cabin was new and fresh. We took sleeping bags but they had all linen and towels prepared for us. It was quiet, well set up, the pool and kitchen / dining area was clean and new. We cannot speak highly enough of this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryantravelsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just got home after an awesome stay at Cooks Beach Resort. Having spent my childhood holidays at Cooks, I was very impressed with the amazing transformation of the old "Camp". The facilities were awesome, we shared the large chalet (two families with four kids), and friends had two of the cabins. The chalet and cabins were awesome, lovely linen and towels were supplied (and we even got extra towels from Kelly when we asked as we had left the first lot in the rain). Dave and Kelly were fantastic hosts, nothing was a problem, they pretty much left us to it, but were always very approachable if we needed anything and next time we book, we will certainly make time to have a drink with them - wish we had more time - three nights and four days was not enough. It was a home away from home. Good people offering a great place to stay with modern and clean facilities. Wish we had booked there this Christmas instead of Matarangi. We will be back and will not hesitate to recommend Cooks Beach Resort to our family and friends. (PS Sorry Dave, I still owe you $2 for the internet)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very very quiet and peaceful. Incredible history to this place and the new owners have certainly put alot of effort into upgrades. The facilities are modern and new and with the set up of the pool area it really will be a 1st class resort in time to come. It's a long way from the beach however and there really isnt much happening at Cooks Beach - luckily we had plenty of food in the camper. At $15 each it was a bargain. Only negative was the entrance fence ... it has a huge banner on it advertising sites for sale - it cheapens the place and detracts from it being a holiday place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

A weekend at Cooks Beach for a friends 70th birthday. We had a great self catering 'Chalet' with everything we needed including nice bed linen (one of my 'things' that are important). The Chalets (5) were in a small semi circle that was sort of enclosed and would be ideal for a group of 5 families to holiday 'together but separate'. It has the feeling of a little village inside the resort. Contrary to another review we found the management could not have been better. We looked at the facilities for campers etc - first class community kitchen - all stainless steel. Excellent eating and lounge area with the biggest ever flat screen tv. Superb pool area and the the pool was heated! The resort is still a work in progress but at such a stage now that it really works.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

A fantastic holiday park especially for those with kids - awesome swimming pool complex, great playground & super clean & modern amenities, nice, large grassy sites. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteTOP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family and I had a very unsatisfactory experience with the much-hyped, (but appallingly serviced and way over-priced) Cooks Beach Resort. We had booked for 6 nights with Cooks, but stayed only one (paid for two, but just couldn't stand the place or the arrogant, dismissive attitude of the Cooks Beach Resort Management any longer). We swung by Seabreeze in Whenuakite, and were greeted by Kelly. We were shown a massive two bedroom cottage on a sprawling farm location, which had huge amounts of space between the various types of accomodation, which meant that holiday makers were not on top of each other. Lots of room, fully self-contained, masses of room for our young daughter to play safely outside - we signed up straight away (and for a cheaper rate than the "we could rent your Chalet 20 times over - Dave Gallager" Cooks Beach accomodation). Loved Seabreeze - cellphone reception was a bit of a challenge, until I discovered that I could drive a couple of km down the road and get reception - not a real drama. Will hopefully be back at Seabreeze in 2013, staying in the "Kaka" House, and intend to give Cooks Beach Holiday Resort a very wide berth. In an age of Social media, it is astounding to me that Cooks Beach Holiday Resort Management conduct themselves in such a way with paying clients, but there there you go.

Room Tip: We had no TV reception, and were advised that the owners of the $200.00-plus a night chalet were too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooks Beach
1.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
14.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
5.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
2.0 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
14.7 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Beach Resort

Property: Cooks Beach Resort
Address: 874 Purangi Road, Cooks Beach, Whitianga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga > Cooks Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cooks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Beach Resort offers a wide range of accommodation options from powered camp sites and cabins to fully self contained beach cottages. 4.5 Star facilities with fully equipped kitchen and lounge with sky tv. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing