We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food”
Review of Go Vino

Go Vino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Go Vino has taken the Spanish concept of tapas and evolved it for a New Zealand environment. Go Vino's shared plates (Kaizen dishes) are bigger and more complex than traditional tapas. The dishes also feature ingredients and flavours distinct to New Zealand. Drawing on quality seasonal produce Chef Gabriel Moraes creates a Kaizen menu which changes every few months. Perfectly designed dishes can be enjoyed as a snack or as a complete meal over the course of an evening. Please be aware that we are not located directly in Whitianga, but in Cooks Beach, a short ferry ride and taxi away.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Go Vino's Kaizen plates are an astronomic delight. Never before have I eaten food that is surprisingly different and each was a taste sensation. We had the five plates for $44 and each was amazing. Especially the ostrich and the tuna. Cant wait to go back for more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PattenDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    51
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Food and wine match was awesome”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here a few months ago. We decided to let the owner choose the wine to go with our food. The food was fantastic but the wines took it up another level. If you go here ask the owner to surprise you with the wine choices.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have been coming to Go Vinos regularly for 5 years and have always had an excellent experience. A number of our friends who use our holiday home always come back raving about the quality of the food and the service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iniz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best meal ever”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

If octopus is on the menu I get it. A couple of weeks ago I had a 4 course meal at go vino and it was truly remarkable. All courses were a taste sensation and the octopus was the best I have ever had. Fortunately the servings are "small plates" so you can indulge yourself and sample the range of amazing flavours.
Sure the setting may not be the best and a sea view would be great but that is just not possible for that location. But you're there for the food and you will not be disappointed. If you are on the east coast of the Coromandel Peninsula then a meal at go vino is a must. And have the Octopus!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahei, New Zealand
1 review
“Up There With The Best”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have dined at some of NZ best restaurants including Al Browns in Wellington and Josh Emmetts in Queenstown and Go Vinos is up there with them.The food,service and wine selection is superb. We cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Vino also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Go Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing