We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Go Vino

Go Vino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: European, Fusion, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Go Vino has taken the Spanish concept of tapas and evolved it for a New Zealand environment. Go Vino's shared plates (Kaizen dishes) are bigger and more complex than traditional tapas. The dishes also feature ingredients and flavours distinct to New Zealand. Drawing on quality seasonal produce Chef Gabriel Moraes creates a Kaizen menu which changes every few months. Perfectly designed dishes can be enjoyed as a snack or as a complete meal over the course of an evening. Please be aware that we are not located directly in Whitianga, but in Cooks Beach, a short ferry ride and taxi away.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food and great service. Marquee campfire dessert highly recommended. Waiter in duty, Shanan, was particularly helpful and provided great customer service.

Helpful?
Thank Heather286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    51
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing find”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

What an amazing find. No way did we expect a restaurant of this quality with the name of 'Go Vino', so very deceptive. It wasn't italian as I expected but wonderful tasting plates. The spinach gnocchi and steak tartar were delicious and the cheesecake, just a dream. This restaurant should be in Auckland, or London where I live so I could frequent it regularly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tapas!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Excellent food - choice of tasting plates chosen by the chef or individual dishes. We chose the latter and were not disappointed. Beautifully presented food and very tasty. Excellent attention paid by the staff as dishes are presented one at a time with a slight overlap.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a fabulous find in the middle of Cooks beach , immaculate restaurant with plenty of choice, well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Room for Improvemeny”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were a party of 4 and ordered the tasting menu. Out of the 9 dishes we were served, only a couple really stood out - the bacon salad with omelette croutons and the ostrich loin with potatoes. Sadly, the others lacked real impact (and since when were falafel considered to be Spanish?). I think they could also do with serving a few side dishes along the way as we ended up ordering some bread to bulk things out. And finally, with 9 courses, you'd normally expect a few more meat dishes but we predominantly got vegetarian or fish (the first sign of meat was at plate number 7! Finally, you'd also expect the last course to be something sweet, but that didn't happen so we ended up having to order ice cream off the dessert menu.
I don't doubt this place invests passion and care in what they do but for me, I think the concept of mixing high end dining with tapas style dishes leaves me a tad confused. Though looking at the other reviews, I guess I'm in a minority.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drialnayr, Owner at Go Vino, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for you feedback.

I'm sorry you didn't love your Go Vino experience. At the time I thought that your table was enjoying the evening.

You opted for the tasting menu which should have been explained only consist of our Kaizen dishes. For four people this is 9 courses made up of 3 vegetarian, 3 seafood and 3 meat courses at $44 per person. We are happy to provide bread with your meal but do not encourage it as many people find the full 9 courses difficult to finish when bread is added.

We are not a Spanish restaurant (although the style of serving is Spanish influenced) and take inspiration from all regions. Our pork dish currently has Thai flavours, our gurnard ceviche is Peruvian and I'm not sure where our duck dish idea came from.

Our style is not for everyone, but I apologise that we could not impress you on your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Vino also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Go Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing