We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cooks Beach
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
150
9
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
150
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand cathedral cove coromandel peninsula at home nothing is too much trouble honeymoon suite short walk moment you arrive five star made us feel wonderful lodge spent two nights little touches delicious breakfast other guests thank you so much out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a same in such a lovely place to find a place in such a desaster and dusty estate

It may have been a lovely place but it is not anymore and since à long time.

Too rusty and not so clean - to avoid !!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank joemanito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
970LonelyBayLodge, Manager at 970 Lonely Bay & The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a shame you did not enjoy your stay. Your family were appreciative while at the Lodge so this hostile review, (from you as one of that party), came as quite a shock: it would have been so much more helpful had you discussed your concerns with us at the outset, directly. Unfortunately, you also upset others of our guests by inconsiderate behaviour to them. The Lodge prides itself on providing a unique and elegant experience and this is reflected in every other review we have received to date. We can only wish you the very best on the remainder of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019 via mobile

After several hectic days in Hong Kong we needed to unwind. Lonely Bay Lodge in Cooks Beach fitted the bill perfectly. The accommodation and facilities in our Atrium room during our two night stay were excellent. But it was our hosts Denise and Kym who made the stay particularly memorable with their friendly and relaxed approach. From the wine and cheese on arrival to the wonderful breakfast as we left, a lovely experience.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank EastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2019 via mobile

If I could give this 10 stars I would, that’s how good it is! The welcome was wonderful and the room and facilities are second to none. They think of everything, even beach towels in the room and spades for digging on the Hot Water Beach. As for the location.....5 minutes from the beautiful Cooks Beach which we had to ourselves and a short walk to Lonely Bay which is truly stunning. We went to Cathedral Cove for the sunrise and dug holes on Hot Water Beach. On a rainy morning we visited The Lost Springs hot pools and spa which was a real treat.
But the absolute best thing about our stay was Denise. She was just lovely, providing a delicious breakfast and great top tips on things to do. Nothing was too much trouble and made our stay extra special. I really really really hope I can come back again. Thank you so much Vicki and Gareth

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank d0nald43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights - the rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed The location next to Lonely Bay and the lookout is well worth the walk to watch the sunrise
The Lodge is a fabulous house with lots of seating areas and places to relax - try out Eggsentric a short walk from the house.
Recommend Purigi room that we stayed in

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stevemC9727XU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I had a great stay at 970 lonely bay on our honeymoon. Kym was an excellent host and made us feel right at home. The lodge is beautiful, and the attention to detail with making your stay as comfortable as possible really makes it a perfect experience. The breakfast was delicious and Kym was happy to cater to every need.
Kym's knowledge and connections to the area was so helpful in helping us figure out what to do to make the most of our short stay. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 925jasperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
970LonelyBayLodge, Manager at 970 Lonely Bay & The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Thank you Jasper for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to host you both, we love taking care of our guests, and seem to succeed in finding the most suitable activities and excursions. So many places to explore! Hopefully we'll see you again for an Anniversary. Kym

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews