We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect!”

Review of Lower Hedge Farm

Lower Hedge Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lower Hedge Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Lower Hedge Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Pylle, Shepton Mallet, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inspire58...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I never write reviews but i have just come back from our best Christmas holiday ever. This house is just wonderful and was a perfect venue for our 2 family Christmas. It is huge so there was enough room for everyone do as they pleased, but was really cosy at the same time. There were 10 of us and we had extra family to stay mid week. The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in, more than equipped with loads of space. Don't be afraid of the Aga it does the best jacket potatoes ever! The girls had the long bedroom at the top with an ensuite. The kids loved playing pretend games and it was a hide and seek heaven! It was a real pleasure to stay here. Thank you to Ed for your extra help it was much appreciated and for the opportunity to have an amazing experience in your beautiful home. All I would like to see added is a better vacuum cleaner :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2017
Thank you for a great review. We are really pleased to hear you had a great Christmas and the everyone enjoyed themselves. We would love to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend stay!”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a fantastic property! We stayed for the weekend and wished we could have stayed longer. We all said that we would like to come back in the summer so we could make more use of the outside space, but the house was plenty big enough for the twelve of us. Clean, spacious and a great location, we would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2017
Thank you for the great review Jodi. We are really pleased to hear you had a great stay and we would love to see you all back in the future. Kind regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurenann...
1 review
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Had a fantastic stay at lower hedge farm for a friends hen do. Beautiful house with everything you could want or need.
We also organised a number of activities at the house which were all perfectly arranged and ran smoothly to make for a stress free perfect weekend!

We could not have asked for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
Thank you for your glowing review. We are really glad to hear you had a great weekend and enjoyed Lower Hedge Farm. Kind regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaylee s
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely fantastic property”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This farm house property was wonderful to stay in. All of the rooms were lovely and big so there was plenty of room for everybody, and the hot tub was a fun addition! We also went on a 3 mile walk in the countryside surrounding the property which was very picturesque. Ed was extremely friendly and helped us get set up by lighting the wood burner and showing us around, we felt very welcomed! We are already planning on coming back next year!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review and it was a pleasure to have you stay and celebrate an early Christmas at Lower Hedge Farm. Hopefully you all got what you wanted in your Secret Santa, and you would be very welcome again in 2017!

Many thanks Ed and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn D
Barrie
2 reviews
“Lower Hedge Farm”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautifully appointed and equipped home with impeccable restoration. Every detail was looked after with ease.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for the review of Lower Hedge Farm Marilyn. We hope you had a great stay and have been enjoying the UK. Kind regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie C
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very mature and luxurious hen weekend”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

As I am no longer a spring chicken I wanted a special hen weekend for my friends and I, mostly young at heart only! I don't think we could have found anywhere better. House is fabulous, very spacious and well equipped. We made good use of everything, including the hot tub and booked a few extra activities:
Chef cooking dinner for us
Beauty treatments, and
Knicker design

Everyone we met was friendly and good at what they did and we all had a really enjoyable and relaxing time....exactly what we wanted

Only two slight niggles that hold me back from a 5 star rating. The attic room is a little short on headroom in a few places and we had a few bumps and bruises ( not just due to the wine either) and the chef threw away all the left over food without asking us......we paid for it and might have enjoyed it later/ the next day

But in the scheme of things these in no way spoilst our weekend and we are honestly looking for an excuse to go back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Probably the hot tub
Liked least: The attic bedroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you had a great hen weekend and we would love to see you back next year. Kind regards from Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Farmhouse & its great facilities
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Hi Tracy,

Thank you for such a fabulous review of Lower Hedge Farm and The Sedum Spa. We are so glad to hear you all had such a great stay. We're also happy to hear you had good weather to get outside and use the BBQ.

It would be a pleasure to have you stay again and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,

Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing