We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Whitehead
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely family day out

I took my 5year old to the museum and he loved it. The staff were really informative and friendly... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sianew1980
,
Aix-en-Provence, France
Excellent family day out

We hadn’t intended to visit but were passing and thought we’d see if the museum was open. It was... read more

Reviewed January 2, 2020
Ems8581
,
Portadown, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
64
11
3
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
64
11
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preservation society steam engine signal box scones knowledgeable guide full marks guided tour restoration work pot of tea thomas the tank engine excellent family harry potter on display two hours great tour car park carriage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

We hadn’t intended to visit but were passing and thought we’d see if the museum was open. It was and we were amazed by how much there was to see and do and the amount of work that goes on there behind the scenes too. A definite hidden gem and somewhere well worth a visit.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Ems8581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

just out for a days shoping and felt like something to eat ,lots of people around being its near xmas ,i enjoyed a nice buttered scone and cream with pot of tea ,kept me going till i got home lols sr

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 323sadie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019

Booked this event when it was advertised late summer as a family day out. We arrived around 1.45 and the staff in the cafe were very confused we were told 'it doesnt start until 2 but you can sit in the carriage'. Down hill from there went to the static carriage and it was totally freezing there was a small electric heater at 1 end which wasnt making an impact on the temperature. A waitress brought uo a pot of tea for us and you could have stood on it. About 30 minutes scones arrived and a cake stand of pasteries in which time we got 2 refils of tea to warm us up. Then a plate of sandwiches came about another 15mins later which you would have thought would have came with the scones as some pf us have eaten the pastries. They supplied boxes to take any remains home, but the whole atmosphere was not great and a few staff seam not be be 'Customer Friendly'. For a special event that was highly advertised it wasnt very special for us & at £18/head you could have got Afternoon Tea in a hotel and comfortable surrounding for same price.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank CoArmaghontour27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPSITrains, Public Relations Manager at Whitehead Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2019

Hi CoArmaghontour27,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are so sorry to hear of your experience with us on the 23rd of November.
Unfortunately our team experienced a few issues and the Afternoon Tea and service you received was not up to our usual high standard.
It is saddening to hear that we did not deliver on the experience we intended, rest assured we are working tirelessly to correct the issues that occurred.
Could we ask that you send an email to marketing@steamtrainsireland.com so we can talk about this further?

Kind Regards,

Zoë
Marketing & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019 via mobile

I was at Whitehead Railway Museum for their inaugural Model Railway Show. Despite inclement weather it was a fantastic event with amazing backdrops to the tabletop models. The museum is well worth a visit in its own right, but if you’re into model railways then this is a great day out.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank DavidHeatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2019 via mobile

A few Saturdays ago I went with a few friends to the railway museum. It is a voluntary society that run the museum and restore the old steam engines and railway carriages. Our guide walked us round the various sheds containing most of their collection from 100 year old locomotives to relatively modern engines. Some had been converted into static displays such as dining cars. All amazingly interesting. They also were running an old steamer and carriage up and down the track giving rides to children. It reminded me of Thomas the Tank Engine. A very worthwhile morning out and I intend to visit it again.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews