We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning cottage with Croagh Patrick views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Mike's Cottage

Old Mike's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Mike's Cottage
The Cosy Fireplace The Loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Old Mike's Cottage
The Cosy Fireplace
The Loft
Croagh Patrick & Moher Lake
Bedroom with ensuite
Bertra Beach
Croagh Patrick
Kitchen with traditional dresser
Master Bedroom
Lone climber with Clew Bay in the distance
View of  Westport town
Living Area
The Cailleach
Connemara
Traditional music session Matt Molloys pub,Westport
Moher Lough
Front Cottage View
Our Max having a swim in the lake.
Easter in Mayo
Murrisk Abbey
Delphi River
View of Westport
Killary Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Liscarney, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gillyhawk...
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning cottage with Croagh Patrick views”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a wonderful week in mid-July 2017 and loved our family time in this beautiful and tastefully presented accommodation. We loved every minute of our time there and our only criticism was it needs better lighting especially in the evening when we wanted to read our books. That aside, we would happily return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you GIll for your feedback. We will definitely take your comment on board. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin192...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over at short notice at Mike's cottage and for too short a duration. It has been renovated to the highest possible standards whilst retaining so many traditional features. It contains so much history that you feel very much part of the local culture. Ann's attention to detail is amazing and she has provided all the requirements for a perfect stay and also given lots of information on exploring the magnificent Mayo.
It is situated in a great location outside the beautiful town of Westport but in such a quiet rural area that you will be amazed at the quality of your sleeps in the sumptuous large beds.We could not recommend this venue more highly and are planning our return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and design of cottage is superb
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you Martin and Allison for your kindness. We will be happy to see you again at Old Mike's Cottage. Pity it had to be so short this time. Looking forward to your return trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnfriel...
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heaven on earth!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

on arrival we were greeted with max the dog, a very friendly loving dog, a few lovely baked scones, the cottage was a home from home but only better, the cottage was very clean, it had everything that you needed, very peaceful, scenery was amazing. on departure we met ann the owner, who was a very nice wonderful lady, she had made scones for us before we left, will be returning hopefully next summer. we all miss max (the dog)

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you so much John.Delighted you enjoyed Old Mike's Cottage. We will be delighted to see you next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming cottage”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My extended family group had a very comfortable week's stay in Old Mike's Cottage. We especially loved the large open common space and the big bookshelf with plenty of books and games to keep us occupied in the evenings. The view to the lake and Croagh Patrick from the upper yard was stunning morning, noon, and evening. The house made a great base for going out to Connemara, Westport, the Great Western Greenway, Clara Island, the Aran Islands, etc. And then there was Max! Faithful companion every time we stepped out of the house. Hysterical to watch his spinning farewell as we pulled out of the driveway. If only every rental cottage had a Max!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage atmosphere. The owner was very helpful before and during the rental period.
Liked least: Not much of a view from inside the cottage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2016
Thank you Ellen and Co. delighted you had a comfortable stay and that you found our books and games useful.The view is indeed lovely and you were blessed with good weather so that was a great bonus. Max is a beautiful dog and just loves to be appreciated. Hope the rest of the holiday went well. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJF37
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still fabulous!”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in 2014 and loved being back at Old Mike's Cottage again in 2016. It is a warm and homely base from which to explore the fabulous surrounding areas. Our two boys (age 5&7) also loved staying there. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage design and homeliness
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Caroline, Tim and boys.It was a pleasure to have you again.
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maigheoya...
MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
“Delightful Charming Space.”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were amazed by the delight provoked by this self-catered cottage. The property is well outfitted and charmingly decorated. The owner anticipated our every need. Old Mike's Cottage has a convenient location for touring the breathtaking beauty of Co Mayo and Co Galway. Its close proximity to Westport is a plus. In truth, we could have stayed by the fireside for days, but of course Ireland compells one to explore. Lovely space!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Its charm.
Liked least: No wifi.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Thank you Suzann. That is wonderful.We are delighted you enjoyed our warm log fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh P
Rostrevor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family friendly exquisite cottage, deceptively large”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonder Mike's Cottage is!! A stunning old cottage which has been tastefully & cleverly extended with a large open plan living space, so no-one was crowding each other, but at the same time you can keep an eye/ear on any young children. Ann has a fantastic stock of kids toys/costumes which, coupled along with Max - the friendliest dog ever - kept my children entertained for hours! Situated in a lovely, quiet country setting, but only a 10 minute drive into the bustling town of westport, we will definitely be returning and have already made enquiries into dates for next year.
On a side note - our car broke down on a day trip to Achill (an hour's drive away, but most definitely worth it) and the help we received from Ann's extended family was unprecedented and fantastic! Irish hospitality at it's finest!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing