We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect long stay gite”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Villefagnan, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona L
1 review
“Perfect long stay gite”
Reviewed March 30, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We booked the gite for the four of us (including 2 young children) to stay a few months whilst house hunting in the area.

After an 8 hour drive, arriving in the gite was amazing. The hosts were so welcoming and friendly. The fire was ongoing in the log burner and the gite looked so beautiful.

The gite itself is stunning, and has everything you need, even for a long term stay. The grounds are beautiful. The owners Alison & Rob are great hosts. We are loving our stay here and will be sad to go! It looks amazing in the winter, looking forward to Spring in the gite :)

The surrounding area is also beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2018
Thank you so much for your superb review. We are throughly enjoying having you as our first long term guests and will miss you all when you leave. Good luck with the house hunting! Warm regards, Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, we really appreciate it! It was great getting to know you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again!
Kind
Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rose18705...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the gite for a week. Upon arrival I wished we were booked for a fortnight or longer. It was beautiful.
Location is v v rural. You need a car. The nearest village villefagnan is at least 30 minute walk. However there is a boulangerie, doctor, restaurant and chemist. The gite is in a small hamlet surrounded by sunflower fields.
The villa has two reasonable sized bedrooms, up a steep open staircase. The shower room is upstairs. The shower is a good size. Both bedrooms have wardrobes and bedside lights and fans(necessary in the night as when it is hot the rooms are difficult to sleep in-however better to have hot sunny days than rain and cold!).
Downstairs is one big kitchen/dining/living. TV has free sat channels, lots of DVDs, books and games. Kitchen v well equipped with full size cooker and dishwasher. All cleaning materials supplied inc small supply of dishwasher tablets(assume I could have asked for more if needed). There is an undercounter fridge.
Outside is a fridge, and freezer by pool. This is stocked with drinks and ice creams that you note on pad and pay at end of week. Also a washing machine at 5€ a use. I bought washing tablets but fabric conditioner was supplied. Wonderful to go home with minimal washing!!!Washing line and pegs in garden. Garden beautiful with chickens, wildlife galore.
Nice touches included good quality bedlinen, towels and pool towels. Welcome pack of tea, coffee, bread, jam,and butter and milk and wine. Supermarkets at Ruffec 10 mins away.
Alison and rob made us very welcome. Had a night round fire pit with drinks to help get to know other gite occupiers.
Lots of info about where to go/what to do. We did canoe trip from ruffec to verteuil. Fantastic. However we spent most days around pool chilling.
The Charente is not the most touristy area of France. But there were things to do and places to see. We just enjoyed driving around seeing quaint villages and towns. Several good restaurants nearby including the porteblue in verteuil. Lots of English speaking restaurants although we do speak French so not a problem for us. Definitely recommend canoe trip but be aware it will take 1 1/2-4 hours and does require stamina and courage as you go down three chutes and have to lug canoe over a bridge to re-access river at one point. That said it is safe for young children but make sure you have a map-unlike us as there are several dead ends and twists and turns!!!! We got wet and found it hard work wv double paddles but our daughter in another canoe didn't get wet at all. Would probably be better wv single paddles
Wifi signal at gite poor in our gite Forsythia but better at other one attached to main house.
Alison and Rob also accommodated our friend and her two dogs(in garden only) due to her last minute change of plan for ferry crossing due to family crisis-this was MUCH appreciated by her and us. Although only requiring a few hours sleep on the sofa, a dip in the pool and parking for her van and trailer for 8 hours outside prior to her 4am departure we and she appreciated their hospitality and understanding. This was typical of their desire to make our stay as welcoming as possible.

Definitely a little bit of heaven in the Charente. We can recommend this gite with absolute certainty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
Many Thanks for your very detailed review.
Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull, quite and family-friendly location”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The week we spend at Forsythia Gite was wonderfull. A warm and friendly welcome from Alison, Rob and dog Charlie was a good start. Everything was well prepared, especially for our 2 year old daugther. The house was clean and fully equiped with all we needed. The pool was clean and well heated. The swing, the hammock and the chickens were highlights for our dauther. We can recommend a stay at this lovely place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Vielen Dank!
Thank you so much for this great review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we are thrilled you had such a lovely holiday! We hope you can return soon!
Best wishes
Alison, Rob & Charley!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Thank you so much for this great review. It was a pleasure getting to know you both and we're so pleased you had such a marvellous holiday.
We hope to see you again. Warm regards Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hellyarli...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of four with 7yr & 5yr old children. We stayed for a week in Forsythia gite and had a fabulous holiday. The gite itself was immaculate. Very clean, all the amenities you need and with just the right balance of modern features & rustic charm. It far exceeded our expectations. The grounds are fab and provided a great area for the kids to let off steam. The pool is great and the kids thoroughly enjoyed it...even in the rain!!!! Alison & Rob were perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. They are a wealth of information on the local area & things to see & do. Their personal touch made it feel a real home from home. The area itself is great and there is an abundance of things to do. We barely scratched the surface in our week there. Canoeing on the Charente is a must and the best way to see the chateau at Verteuil has to be by canoe on the river! We hired bikes for the week so were able to see lots of lovely rural French villages. The roads were very quiet & great for cycling with the kids. We were lucky enough to have both a deer & pine marten cross our path..amazing!. I have to mention Charlie the dog. He was a big hit, especially with the kids who loved playing with him. Villefagnan itself has a great butchers, bakery & convenience store so ample amenities close by with Ruffec and its larger shops not much farther away. All in all, this is the perfect base to explore the area and thankyou to Alison & Rob for making us feel so welcome. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it. We hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you so much for this amazing review! We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you and your family and having you all to stay. ( That includes Charley! ) We hope you return soon too! Warm regards Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F
Thornbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the beautiful Gite for a week and can't fault the accommodation. The Gite was spacious and well maintained and the welcome pack was a nice touch when we arrived. The pool area provided a relaxing setting whilst the children took a break from sightseeing. The area is very peaceful with lots to do within a short drive. Rob and Alison are a friendly couple with lots of ideas for places to see and things to do. Overall, we would thoroughly recommend staying here as it exceeded all of our expectations and is a real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it means a great deal to us.
We hope to see you all again.
Kind regards
Alison & rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing