We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A totally relaxing stay at Chez Sophie”
other travelers have booked this property
Main upstairs bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main upstairs bedroom
main bedroom with daybed/single bed Guest upstairs bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Main upstairs bedroom
main bedroom with daybed/single bed
Guest upstairs bedroom
guest bedroom front view
Kitchen/indoor dining
Living area
Swimming pool
Side view of the pool
Swimming pool
Pool and outdoor loungers
Front entrance to the house
Downstairs shower room & laundry
Outdoor dining
Back garden
Villefagnan
Village square
Swimming lake at Villefagnan
Short drive to Verteuil sur Charente with its gorgeous castle and cafes
Easy drive to Cognac, enjoy the shopping and distilleries
local sunflowers
stunning properties in the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Villefagnan, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A totally relaxing stay at Chez Sophie”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from two amazing weeks at Chez Sophie, in the lovely village of Villefagnan, and cannot wait to go back again next year.
Chez Sophie was exactly what we were looking for, clean, comfortable and ideally situated. We didn't have to get the car out every day as the bakers, bar and mini-mart are all moments away!
Chez Sophie has been decorated and kitted out to a high standard, helping to ensure that you have a relaxing stay. The garden and pool are not overlooked in any direction, and we spent most of our time in the garden sunbathing, swimming and bbq-ing!
The house manager is lovely, and went out of her way to help us and make us feel at home.

We would highly recommend a stay at this lovely house in a lovely village! The only thing missing was a coffee machine, but this hasn't stopped us booking for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
thanks for your review, good to see you all enjoyed.. coffee machine should be on our list!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamSeabr...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful house, beautiful location, great holiday”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Chez Sophie is a wonderful home. We were made to feel very welcome by the local manager Sylvie and all pre-holiday communication with Rose was excellent.
The house itself is beautiful, spacious and comes with everything you need. the generosity of Rose to encourage her guests to make themselves at home meant that we felt relaxed from the minute we got there. We all loved the pool!
The local bakery and butchers are excellent. Auberge Du Noyer restaurant (a 5 minute drive away) was superb.
We all had such a great holiday, I wouldn't change a thing!

How easy was it to book the property?
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
We are so pleased you all enjoyed the holiday and everything went well. Its great to see you found the local places we love!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamy790
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Chez Sophie in the summer, the house is gorgeous with lovely decor and feels very homely. The house is well stocked with lots of cooking utensils, towels, bedding, games etc. There is a huge outdoor space and we all enjoyed the pool on the hotter days! Villefagnan is well located, easy to find with quite a few shops and larger supermarkets are also close by in Ruffec. Sylvie & Mike, the local managers were great and on hand without invading your privacy.
Thanks Chez Sophie - we would definitely return!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you had a lovely time and had superb weather. We would love to see you back at Chez Sophie any time. Kind regards Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spot, quiet and fun”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2013

We (wife, me + 18 month old twins) spent a lovely ten days at Chez Sophie. It is located in a nice quiet village, with an Eddie Leclerc with a quality wine cellar a short drive away - what's not to like??
The house (this was pre pool) is nicely appointed, with linen and furniture very stylishly placed. As long as the bottom of the stairs is blocked, it is easily suitable for young children, the garden is enclosed and is an adventurous toddlers playground.
The village itself is quite, rural French - just the sort of place to visit for a relaxing break. It may have been the twins, but I found contact with the locals enjoyable, despite my horrendous attempts at Kiwi schoolboy French.
We drove from London - a car is necessary to explore.
WiFi/TV etc.., but no need to turn it on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambience
Liked least: The lack of restaurants (only one nearby, albeit a nice one)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Thanks for reviewing Chez Sophie, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca L
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday house in a friendly village - a perfect break!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful break at Chez Sophie. The house is very well equipped, beds very comfy, nicely decorated and everything has been thought of. We arrived v late Saturday to find a bottle of wine and other essential provisions, bread, cheese and ham. The pool was the perfect size for my husband and I and our (just) five year old son to enjoy each day. The owner and (v helpful) English speaking local manager made some excellent recommendations on places to visit and highlights for us were Verteuil sur Charente and Cognac. Most days though we just lazed around and wandered no further than the boulangerie. The local Superette had some excellent fish, cheese and wine so we ate very well without having to go far. All in all a fabulous holiday.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
We are glad you loved Chez Sophie again. You are right we will continue to improve the house and furnishings as it is always good to have a fresh approach. Hope we see you again. Regards Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judith R
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"HOME FROM HOME"”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chez Sophie is a home from home, not just a holiday let. The house feels lived in and loved.

Decor and fittings are lovely and have a nice french feel. There is currently a swimming pool being built in the garden which will greatly add to the house's appeal, especially in the hot summer months.

The welcome pack and a bottle of wine were much appreciated and Sylvie who showed us round was warm and friendly.

The only down side for us was that we found the area itself a little quiet, but if its quiet and relaxation that you want you could do no better.

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
Glad you felt like you were at home. Regards Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing