We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alami Resort and Restaurant(Amed)(Great Value!)
$29
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
61
52
17
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
52
17
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areabeach frontfishsunset boat tripgreat location on the beachsmall poolpancakesupstairs roomrooms are cleanopen airview of the oceanlipahbungalowbaliscrubdivingkuta
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 143 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy the serenity. Bali Bhuana is a beautiful small place to stay in Amed. Located at Lipah Beach, this place is an ideal choice. Located directly on the beach, completely flat so no hills to negotiate unlike many other hotels. This hotel is next door to hidden paradise which is more expensive. There are a few local warungs, laundry and places to purchase necessities within walking distance. A rather ‘newish’ convenience store / coffee shop is located on the hill about 5 minutes walk away. This is well stocked and reasonably priced. Rooms which are clean, comfortable and all the necessities you need:- hot water, air conditioning, fridge, mini bar, kettle, tea & coffee. Being reasonably new everything is functional. The rooms face an immaculate garden. From here a short stroll has you at the beach front restaurant and swimming pool which faces the ocean. Sun loungers around the pool and also on the black sand beach. You can snorkel off the beach. Freddy has gear to rent right on the beach, at night he plays guitar and sings at a small cafe on the beach front. Food at the restaurant is your usual Bali choice, all at very cheap prices. 30,000- 45,000rp for most choices + tax. The usual soft drinks and bintang is also a good price. Drinks and food are served in the restaurant, pool and beach front.
Our room was number 5, it was one of the downstairs rooms with a pond to cross full of fish. The large patio had table, chairs and large beanbag to relax on. The upstairs rooms don’t have as much outdoor space and the more expensive stand alone bungalows are the same inside as the room I had but the addition of a sun lounger on the patio.
Transport to the hotel is a very reasonable 400,000rp. This is arranged by the hotel staff and worth organizing. Prices can be higher than this. I booked direct and got a discount on our room. (didn’t ask but was offered via e mail). We had 2 adults and one child and the room cost us 550,000rp per night which included breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel and happily stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a downstairs room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After some searching, we {group of 2 couples and 1 single} decided on Bhuana Beach Cottages mainly due to the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Contact was quickly responded to and bookings were made for 4 nights.

This was trip 12 for us to Bali but we had never been above Candidassa. Due to the cheap price of the rooms, we had no big expectations, so it was a great surprise to find such a lovely property, with well maintained gardens and lovely staff. NOTHING was a problem.

Yes there is only a small beach to walk on, but there are a few eating places, and a great way to meet the locals. The pool although not big is right on the beach and the views at sunrise amazing.There is a wee dairy/shop/restaurant about a 5 minute walk which had good wine and a surprising choice of cheese, and of course cold Bintang.

The rooms were spacious with DVD player and a library of DVD's available. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept on in Bali.

All in all a most enjoyable trip.
Thank you to the team at Bhuana Beach Cottages

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chance7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a nice place, if you like diving or snorkling.
It is very limited for walking, because the beach ends quickly and the road is not so nice to walk along.
The deluxe room is ok, but not very practical. Bathroom is basic.
There is very little space to put your things away.

There are a few local warungs for dinner but as there was nobody sitting there, we had our dinner at Cafe Indah and at the hidden cottages next to the hotel.
Nice restaurant along the beach.
The food in Bhuana Beach itself is OK.

The personnel is nice, but at a distance.
We were happy to leave after 4 nights, because for us there is too little to see or to do

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bandung43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages are a hidden gem if you know what you are booking. This is no resort and there are not the sanitized European influences. This is real Balinese accommodation owned and operated by Balinese locals who are friendly, helpful, hospitable and most importantly are very proud of their culture. My wife and I spent 4 nights there and left feeling thoroughly relaxed and much more enlightened about the Balinese way of life and customs. We are about to book for 2 weeks during our next visit to Bali which highlights the enjoyment of our stay.
We were initially attracted to the Bhuana Beach Cottages by favourable reviews on Tripadvisor. Our initial questions via email were answered promptly and professionally. We asked about ocean views and were told clearly and honestly that none of the rooms had views of the sea but the property was beachfront.
We decided to book a bungalow and transfers from the Sense Hotel in Seminyak where we were staying previously and to the airport for our return to Australia. On each occasion our driver was on time, friendly,very knowledgeable, passionate about his culture and most importantly a careful driver. We really enjoyed our 2.5 hour drives to and from Amed through the beautiful countryside and villages.
We were greeted warmly on arrival and shown to our room after a welcome drink. Our bungalow had views of the magnificent tropical gardens and from the verandah the restaurant ,pool area and ocean. The property is narrow and the accommodation is built in a line with the infinity pool and restaurant closest to the beach with great views. All the accommodation looks out over the established gardens and fruit trees. Our bungalow was large,well maintained and very clean. The double bed was comfortable with quality linen and bedding. There was no problem with the air conditioning. All the airconditioners are small modern split systems but with the high ceilings and large room size are only just able to do the job. We operated the airconditioning on maximum whenever we were in the room and were very comfortable. You could certainly notice the difference when venturing outside.The bathroom was sizeable, partly open, very clean with good water pressure and hot water supply. Yes the curtains are not blockout but were clean and provided privacy. We enjoyed waking up early to the sunlight and sound of roosters crowing in the background. Our room had no musty smell as mentioned by another reviewer.
We spent much of our time enjoying the pool area and day bed bure. The facilities are more than adequate for the number of guests and have been carefully set out to provide for enjoyment of both the pool and ocean.
We found the breakfast served at our table to be simple but fresh and satisfying. We ate exclusively at the restaurant and found the food to be good value and plentiful. Yes there was some variation in food quality but overall our experience was very positive.The service was very friendly and the tiny kitchen clean.There was a good selection of local and western dishes. A couple of times we ate lunch by the pool. Nothing was too much trouble. We were going to try other restaurants but settled on the convenience and quality of dining in - house.The outlook over the pool and beach was fantastic both during the day and lit up at night.
We did spend some time walking around the local area and beach. There are no hawkers, scams, or traffic other than motorbikes. Just genuine, friendly locals going about their business - what Bali used to be like. Black sand beach with fishing boats and snorkeling. The water is clear but rubbish was brought in on the afternoon tide/winds.
The owner of the cottages was very engaging and knowledgeable. It was interesting to hear his views about Balinese culture and the efforts to maintain it. His staff were without exception warm, welcoming and focussed on enhancing the enjoyment of our stay. They all seemed to be enjoying their jobs and with any accommodation this always makes such a difference to the enjoyment of guests.
It was interesting that several other guests at the time we were there had moved to Bhuana Beach Cottages after less than satisfactory experiences at nearby establishments. It was also interesting that they were in Amed and at Bhuana Beach for much the same reason - to experience the real Bali and to relax in a safe and quiet environment. Everyone we spoke to were enjoying their stay immensely.
So, in summary, we were delighted with our stay. It ticked all the boxes for us in terms of what we wanted for our holiday hence the rating. Hopefully this review is helpful to others in deciding whether Bhuana Beach Cottages will meet their needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BoonyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Since I had read the reviews before making our booking, I was surprised at what we got at Bali Bhuana, and I'm even more surprised re-reading the reviews now. I have certainly stayed in worse places in my travels, but this place was far from a gem. We stayed in a bungalow, which we booked directly through the hotel as that was cheaper than using Agoda. We had originally made a reservation for 7 nights but canceled and left after 3.

Pros:
1. As others have said, the area around Lipah and Amed is lovely. Very unspoiled, very few tourists. Just cute little fishing villages nestled up to the mountains.
2. The pool was nice, and that's where we spent most of our time since the ocean was pretty rocky.
3. Decent selection of breakfast items and quantity.
4. Nice outdoor bathroom (with the bungalows anyway)
5. They were able to arrange drivers for us at reasonable prices.

Cons:
1. Food, other than breakfast, was mediocre at best. There's a good (but fairly expensive) place up the street called Sails. If you're looking for a nice dinner with a great view, call them. They'll come pick you up.
2. None of the rooms are beach front and I feel like the website leads you to believe they are.
3. The air conditioning in our room seemed to be on its last leg.
4. In the room, there are full length curtains, mosquito netting on the beds (no idea why since you wouldn't want to sleep with the windows open), and a heavy quilt on the bed. I doubt that any of those things have ever been washed. The whole room, and especially the bed, smelled musty. My husband's allergies drove him nuts the whole time.
5. Speaking of the curtains, they're fairly thin, so don't plan on sleeping in. Come 7am, you're room is lit up!

It seemed to me like there are WAY more hotels in that area than there is demand. Do yourself a favor and shop around.

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 is smelly, has bad air con
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trubeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews