We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The place, the view, the atmosphere, a dream come...”

Review of Katana Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bunutan, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Japanese first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
lady0544
New York City, New York
1 review
“The place, the view, the atmosphere, a dream come through”
Reviewed November 18, 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Located above the village with an incredible view to the sea, Katana villa is truly an amazing discovery. I have been a guest on several occasions and am still in awe of the colorful sunrises and  the green of the mountains rising high behind the villa. The rooms are decorated with tastefull imagination and  built with  local natural materials.I especially appreciated the outdoors with the fun waterslide into this turquoise pool. An oasis of peace and beauty with Western amenities. A place to rest , relax and yet with a few steps down the hill one can bathe in the sea.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2011
As always, it is our joy to have you at Katana Villa! I feel blessed to have gotten to know you, and now the staff thinks of you as family. I appreciate how you taught them to make lemon grass tea. They are always eager to learn new things so they can serve our guests better! Thank you ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanrose...
Bali, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taking a break at Katana Villa to rest and relax was the best decision I have made in a long time.”
Reviewed October 19, 2010 for a stay in October 2010

The loving attention to detail made the villa feel like my (dream) home away from home within minutes of arriving. The luxurious beds, soft towels and linens, fully equipped kitchen.... The loving touches put everywhere in the design and decor provided a constant source of discovery and delight.
Away from the hustle and bustle, pollution and noise of south Bali, Amed feels like a million miles away, and yet every technical convenience is supplied at Katana, from Wi-Fi to giant flat-screen T.V.s, fully equipped gymn and a great stereo system. Set on a hill overlooking the ocean, the whole complex is set up to take advantage of it's stunning location, with different well shaded seating areas in the garden so that you can't resist trying them all out!
The staff are happy, efiicient and relaxed: the perfect support for my relaxation.
The slide into the swimming pool is nothing short of a stroke of genius - we all need to whoop and squeal a little more, not just the kids!
Thanks for a great break, next time I want to stay longer!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2011
It was a pleasure to have you both at Katana Villa. Although I did not get to meet you in person, it has been wonderful staying in contact with you. We all look forward to your next stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckbrewste...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Top end tropical luxury with breath-taking beauty”
Reviewed September 9, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

When you're sitting in LA traffic dreaming about that week-long getaway at an island paradise - this place is precisely what you're imagining! Lush, magnificent views of the ocean and gorgeous hillsides. Sitting by the marvelous pool and reading three novels over the course of teh stay - interrupted only by scooter rides around the island and lunch and dinner escapades at delicously local spots. Ah, just writing about it makes me hear my "mileage statement" calling out!! Return trip? Can't be far off.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2011
You are a beautiful couple and we were all touched getting to know you. You used that water slide more than any of our previous guests! Goes to show that adults can have silly fun too! Cheers ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgankis...
Telluride, Colorado
1 review
“A Gem in the Heart of Balie”
Reviewed September 8, 2010 for a stay in April 2010

My husband and I stayed at Katana Villa this past spring. Not only did we end up extending our vacation by four weeks because we had such an incredible experience, but we also convinced my mother to make a trip over to share the little piece of paradise we had discovered. Here is why: Katana Villa is a perfect haven in the heart of Amed - a secret paradise of Bali. My husband and I stayed there for several weeks for part of our honeymoon, enjoying it's location just a stones throw from the ocean and a short drive into the incredible rice covered mountains towards Ubud. However, in all honesty - Katana Villa has more than enough to offer within its own walls. Beautifully decorated and comfortable bungalows for each guest or couple, or even family. Each is unique and offers an equally wonderful private space equipped with full bathrooms and showers and baths. The common areas are spacious and every way you look is a breathtaking view. One of our favorite amenities was the gym and the pool. The swimming pool is so much fun, with a water slide, cave, and infinite edge. Not to mention an upper pool to relax in and take in the views that stretch from mountain tops covered in vibrant green rice paddies to the clear blue waters below. Our days could be filled with a variety of activities, from renowned Balinese scuba diving, mountain treks, snorkeling, scooter-ing along its winding coastline, tours into some of Bali's cultural hubs such as Ubud or Tenah Lot, or simply having a relaxing day next to the pool with an in-house massage and a fresh fruit smoothie. A variety of seaside restaurants are scattered along the coast - each in their own tropical setting, just down the hill from the property and offer anything from Vegetarian specialties, to freshly caught seafood feasts. Finally, we couldn't have been more happy with the generous and amiable staff at Katana Villa. They were all so friendly and more than willing to lend advice or even better take you on an adventure to explore and learn about the incredible Balinese culture. I couldn't be more happy with our time at Katana Villa and look forward to returning in the future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2011
It was such a pleasure having you all at Katana Villa, and we also feel blessed to have been able to spend time with you during your stay and we still talk about those nature hikes! All of us look forward to your next visit !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annejenny...
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Aw... thank you for your very kind review! I am sure TOBY the cockatoo misses you greatly.. he is such a lover and really enjoys when a guest plays with him. We do hope you return one day... and I promise that Toby will remember you! ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chouchou...
Bayonne, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: En famille
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Merci beaucoup!! ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catarpill...
shanghai
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Thank you for your review. I always appreciate when I get tips from a guest about things that were not perfect so I can know better how to improve. Since your stay we have controlled the roosters that a neighbour surprisingly put behind our house. So, that problem no longer exists. you were also there during raining season and when it rains the grass roofs can sometimes give off a musty smell. In the last 2 years since you have been there the cleaning girls are better at airing out the rooms during raining season so this problems is better controlled. We have also added lamps to the rooms so it is less dark. Thank you once again for taking the time to write this ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing