We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wet and windy Visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tilbury Fort

Tilbury Fort
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Tilbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tilbury Fort is possibly the finest example of a bastioned 17th Century artillery fortress in the Britsh Isles. Today visitors can visit the original Guardhouse, Chapel and Gatehouse buildings as well as the huge eighteenth century gunpowder magazines. You can also explore the Victorian underground magazine passages and imagine what life was like for a gunner in the late nineteenth century. There is a free audio guide, museum, exhibition and gift shop. Hot drinks and a range of light refreshments are available in the shop. There is an indoor seating area in the old Guardhouse and picnic tables and benches outside.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Wet and windy Visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

A very grey and blustery day brought a brooding atmosphere to the Fort and we two were one of two couples there at 11.00am on a Thursday morning in April. able to take the dog everywhere and with a very good audio tour we were able to regain the knowledge we had lost since our last visit.Flooding stopped us visiting all the Magazine/Battery stores but plenty to see in an unusual Fort on the banks of the Thames.
Very Good!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScatsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    73
    23
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
south east
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tilbury Fort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Tilbury Fort on the Thames estuary has protected London’s seaward approach from the 16th century through to the Second World War.

Henry VIII built the first fort here, and Queen Elizabeth I famously rallied her army nearby to face the threat of the Armada. The present fort is much the best example of its type in England, with its circuit of moats and bastioned outworks.

Spend a great family day out here as you explore the magazine houses used to store vast quantities of gunpowder or enter the bastion magazine passages and feel what it was like for the soldiers who lived here. Our exhibition traces the role of the fort in the defence of London.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthEastMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Who would think this gem of a historic site was in such a depressing area! Military history is not really my thing but this place was really interesting and it was easy to imagine the lives of the people who lived and worked there. We took the little boat over from Gravesend, which was also a treat.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank crobson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hidden history.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Maintained by English Heritage. In Tudor times this was an important fort defending the access to London via the Thames. It is well kept and quite original. There is a small museum in the officers quarters and you can still walk around the old ammunitions store with its creaky floor boards held down with wooden dowels to prevent any sparks which could have set off an explosion. There are several guns along the top of the embankment, one of which you can twirl the handles to raise, lower and align the gun on a selected target. Friendly, knowledgeable staff, plus an audio guide also available. Everyone will know the first queen Elizabeth's speech telling her army she was only a woman but she had the heart and stomach of a lion, to rouse our defiance against the Spanish armada, well this is where she made it, and I think a bit more could have been made of it. However its still well worth the visit. Ample parking right outside.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
“Essential for history enthusiasts, limited for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Not brilliant for a family day out. The actual construction of the fort is really impressive. The geometric shape comes to light when you walk round the walls and after a while you can appreciate the defence strategy in its design, especially with water and flat land surrounding it. The original fort looked very similar to Walmer castle. The river views are wonderful, especially if you catch couple of ships going upstream. Gravesend also looks quite appealing on the opposite bank and there are regular ferries every half an hour which conveniently dock near the Worlds End pub, an excellent hostelry. Ok, back to the fort. Well I suppose good old English Heritage has done its best. There is a good audio guide which helps you understand the strategic value of the fort, especially when Henry was concerned about the French. The small museum is also useful, although limited. The museum in the officers quarters was OK, but it would been nice to see it as it was originally used, which could be achieved with a little imagination. I did like the original wooden bridge entrance across the water. The drawbridges were great and I could just imagine Sharp marching his regiment into the fort. Overall there could have been a bit more imagination used here to entertain the kids. I don't think you could justify, as a family, more than a couple of hours here. Pedroofpobla

Helpful?
1 Thank Pedroofpobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilbury Fort also viewed

 
Kelvedon Hatch, Borough of Brentwood
West Thurrock, Grays Thurrock
 

Been to Tilbury Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing