We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The BEST dog friendly cottage we've ever stayed...”
other travelers have booked this property
As many returning guests have testified, Leaholme Cottage is the ideal Northumberland holiday home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
As many returning guests have testified, Leaholme Cottage is the ideal Northumberland holiday home
Patio and enclosed rear garden Enclosed rear garden with playhouse/slide.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
As many returning guests have testified, Leaholme Cottage is the ideal Northumberland holiday home
Patio and enclosed rear garden
Enclosed rear garden with playhouse/slide.
Lounge with open coal fireplace
View from rear bedrooms over garden to sea
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Kitchen and doors to patio and enclosed rear garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen with range cooker and espresso machine
Downstairs utility / boot room with washer/dryer and second fridge
Downstairs shower room
Bedroom 1 (king)
Bedroom 2 (king)
Bedroom 3 (twin)
Bedroom 4 (twin)
Upstairs family bathroom with shower attachment and WC
Upstairs family bathroom with shower attachment and WC
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kenandbar...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST dog friendly cottage we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We have just returned from a week at Leaholme Cottage and without doubt it's one of the best dog friendly holiday properties we have stayed in. Every room is spacious, light and furnished to an extremely high standard and everywhere was immaculately clean.
The kitchen is superbly equipped and everything in the very generous welcome pack was delicious!! One lovely feature of the property is the patio doors from the kitchen into the garden which is sunny and private but more importantly for us, it was totally enclosed meaning we could let Flynn our 2 year old Welsh Springer Spaniel mooch about to his hearts content without us worrying he'd escaped!!
We would have no hesitation in booking Leaholme Cottage again and look forward to returning next year.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Leaholme Cottage.

The South facing enclosed garden is great for dogs and a perfect space to relax after a day at the beach, especially if the sun is shining!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back with Flynn.

Kind regards

Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
556jack
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family holiday at Leaholme Cottage, Newton By The Sea”
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in June 2017

Just spent a wonderful week at Leaholme cottage. This is our third visit to this beautiful cottage with three generations of our family and Oliver the dog. The cottage is welcoming, well equipped for adults, children and dogs alike.
The garden, which has a wooden children's playhouse/slide, is enclosed and secure. It's a lovely setting to enjoy a meal on the patio whilst the kids are happily playing in the garden. There's also a good supply of DVDs, toys, books and games should the weather keep you indoors for a little while. The attention to detail, from the owners to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible, is second to none even down to providing a dog bed and treats.
Leaholme cottage is within walking distance to the sandy beach and is also ideally placed to explore the Northumberland coastal area. There are two local dog friendly pubs, The Joiners Arms and The Ship which offer excellent meals at reasonable prices.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Leaholme Cottage and for returning year after year!

It's great to know that you and Oliver the dog love the family-friendly house and garden, not to mention the stunning beaches and local pubs.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_das
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic time for family and dogs”
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful week at Leaholme Cottage in 2015. The cottage was exactly as described and shown on the website, clean and extremely well fitted out. We had 2 dogs with us and there were beds for them (suitable for large labradors) and their own welcome pack with chewy treats, biscuits, etc. We all felt very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
Thanks for your review, Dave_das - we hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busterWyl...
Wylam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful holiday house on the breath-taking Northumberland coast.”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our family absolutely loved this house! It is beautifully situated in the picturesque village of Newton-by-the-Sea and is ideal for a large family. The house and its facilities are superb and quite luxurious. The owners really have thought of everything (including games and a playstation for the children and lots of DVDs- there were even treats for our dog!) The welcome package was such a lovely touch after our journey and the owner was really helpful. The beaches (a five minute walk away) are probably the most stunning we have seen in the UK and the scenery on walks to nearby villages (Craster, Embleton, Low Newton, Beadnell) is breathtaking. There are some lovely places to eat close by - a good selection of quality restaurants and nice pubs and cafes. Alnwick (20 mins away) is a great place to visit with lots to see including the castle and treehouse. I'm not sure whether is was the beautiful memory foam beds and quality linen, or the lovely walks we fit in during our stay, but I don't think I've slept so well since I was a child. I would thoroughly recommend this house to anyone wanting to enjoy the Northumberland coast and will look forward to our next stay at Leaholme Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
Thanks for your review, busterWylam - we hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing