We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, shame about the hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, shame about the hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is set in very attractive grounds which are well maintained.

On arrival we were dealt with in an efficient manner and were given detailed directions on how to find our room. We duly found it despite the strange room numbering system, why are rooms in the 200 series on floor one and those in the 300 series on floor two?

Our room was very disappointing, very small and scruffy. The carpet was very grubby. As we subsequently found, the bed was awful. Very hard and uncomfortable, one of the worst nights we have ever spent in an hotel. By comparison, Travelodge rooms are larger more comfortable and cleaner and at about half the price are certainly far better value.

We used the leisure centre which was very good. Clean and well looked after.

We had breakfast in the morning. The food was fine. This was let down by the attitude of the numerous surly members of the waiting staff. The self service beverage station had run out of Earl Grey tea bags ( quite why staff failed to see this is beyond me). I asked if the container could be replenished, this was grudgingly done. I was left waiting for several minutes with no idea whether or not my request was being dealt with. Eventually a non smiling member of staff thrust 3 tea bags into my hand without comment or apology. We then went through the same pantomime with sweeteners.

Some of the plates at the self servery had not been properly washed and still had food residues on them.

Whilst I was waiting I chatted to a mature lady who wanted her tea in a cup and saucer. She asked a member of staff if she might have one. She was given one but the attitude was very condescending.

All in all the breakfast experience coupled with the poor quality and expensive room mean that this hotel is definitely a no go for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear tim252,

Thank you for offering your feedback on your recent stay with us, and thank you for your positive comments relating to the exterior of the Manor and the quality of our health club.

I was sorry to hear the room was not to your liking, unfortunately from your profile name I have been unable to track back which room your were allocated.

With regards our room numbers, like most hotels we have started with the 100’s on the ground floor, 200’s on the first floor and 300’s on our top floor.

I would like to assure you that we have taken onboard your comments relating to breakfast service and we will continue to work hard to improve our service.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    429
    240
    110
    46
See reviews for
164
598
37
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my 2 kids...
Overpriced food...
Everyone over 50-60...
Lovely grounds is the best thing about this hotel...............
Rooms very basic + small...........
DO NOT STAY WITH CHILDREN !!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshunthydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Writtle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just got back from weekend break at this hotel and must say very disappointed ! Booked 4 rooms all with children in each room and was appalled at the way we was treated the hotel is not child friendly and does not cater for families. Rooms are basic and on the small side food was over priced and nothing special for the price you paid poor bar service not a wide verity to choose from. Staff miserable apart from the 2 young girls and boy serving in restaurants they tried there best !! Would only recommended to older couples 5o

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shark1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Shark1331,

Many thanks for your comments.

I was disappointed that you did not feel we were child friendly, we offer a variety of dishes on the children’s menu and have over 12 acres of grounds for children to burn off some energy.

We welcome all manner of guests everyday to the hotel and we try to cater for all there individual needs.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have stayed at Chilworth Manor about six times in the past few years; we started staying there when we started going cruising with P and 0. We also stay there when we visit our friends who live in Southampton. Its a very nice hotel that stands in its own grounds with plenty of car parking, We have only ever had breakfast, which was really good value as we booked it on a promotion and was only £5 pounds for each morning. As for the staff they are fantastic very friendly and courteous, the rooms are warm and have plenty of space to store your belongings. We think the spa facilities are a added bonus with a large swimming pool.

Room Tip: Its a very quiet hotel no need to worry about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear susan p,

Firstly, thank you for becoming such a regular guest at the hotel over the past few years. I am delighted you continue to return to stay with us.

Many thanks for your positive comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel many more times.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our second time at this hotel,
Again we travelled down from Norfolk to embark on a cruise on the P+O liner Oriana.
We arrived I the morning and were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist.
Our room was well decorated very clean and welcoming after a long drive.
We ordered a bar meal which was very appetising , coffee is free all day.
We would recommend this hotel to any one using the port of Southampton.

Room Tip: All rooms are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Chris G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and for sharing your positive feedback.

I was delighted to read your comments and I’m glad you took advantage of the free tea and coffee we offer our Park and Cruise guests on the day of departure.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a very poor experience with breakfast on the two days that we stayed (which I posted about recently), but after contacting the General Manager my comments were fully investigated & I was made to feel like a valued customer again. Am no longer seething, and now intend to book again for later in the year (as the rest of our stay was great).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank paulaw211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Paulaw211,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor and for your direct emails. I was humbled to read your kind comments regarding myself.

I am truly disappointed that it took my intervention to resolve this matter for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel later this year.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We cHeckled in at what we were told was a preferential rate which I have found out was over 100% more expensive than a Saturday night at Easter, which I find most bizarre! We were having Buck's Fizz and canapés prior to our meal, this was ok however I noticed that the food had been brought out and put on warmers 10 minutes before we were due to sit down, I should have realised at that point it was not going to be that great but I sat down looking forward to dinner. The food was, at best, average with steak so tough that most people took it back due to not being able to cut it let alone chew a piece in under five minutes, it was an 80th after all, looking after the majorities teeth should have been, at least, considered. Most didn't finish their steak and swapped it for the minted lamb and pancetta which could have been any kind of meat as the pancetta smokiness overwhelmed any other flavour, however it did not require much chewing, so maybe a little better. The vegetables were vegetables, the vegetarian option was vegetables. So we moved on to the sweet with a 2 inch diameter lemon tart with more pastry than filling and a chocolate trellis with passion fruit mousse which was best to have missed, nothing was offered to the people with egg allergy and in actual fact the staff couldn't tell us what had egg in and what didn't. All followed up by coffee and mints. Mints were perfect but the coffee was so week and we got one cup! Unfortunately breakfast was not much better. They tried to seat us away from all of the family on a table for two when we knew there were at least two others joining us. They ran out of teaspoons, mugs, pastries, tomato ketchup and fresh bread. Otherwise the cooked breakfast was good. This is not what I expect from a best western and has tainted my view somewhat. Look at my other trip posts and you will see I rarely even find fault, let alone complain.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear 52Sam52,

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I was very sorry to hear that the food served at the event was not to your liking.

We have had very good feedback from the event organiser whose birthday it was, she did mention that the beef was slightly tough for her event but during her Sunday Lunch the following day the beef was excellent.

We have offered our apologies for the beef. She was very happy overall and was kind enough to come back to the hotel to leave a generous gratuity for the staff that served at her event and the brigade in the kitchen.

Thank you once again for your comments.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
9.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Address: Chilworth Manor University Parkway, Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing