We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go by what it's name suggests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't go by what it's name suggests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Disappointed - expected a manor but apart from the wood in the lounge and dining room it definitely does not have the air of a manor house. We stayed just one night and it was OK - room overlooked the bins and delivery entrance and, as we are on the Best Western rewards group we would have expected a little better room (we would get an upgrade if one is available). What we didn't like about it was that this is definitely a hotel for 'workers' and not holiday makers. People on laptops, mobiles, tablets etc. was very offputting - especially when having dinner or breakfast. The food wasn't bad but the menu is on a plastic covered page - so more like a bar menu. Service was good, but nothing that would make us think Oh we'll definitely go there again. Warned off a type of nature trail as there are adders.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jane H,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

The hotel is an Edwardian Manor House set in 12 acres of lovely grounds, in addition to the galleried and wood panelled main hall you mentioned we have many beautiful architectural features from when the Manor was a private residence. Our dining room and kitchen are still in their original positions and many of our event suites still have the original features; high ceilings, coving and fireplaces.

I was sorry your room did not have a view over the grounds, on some occasions not every guest can benefit from a view. As a rewards member we would of upgraded you had we had any upgrades available, unfortunately out of our 95 bedrooms we only have a small number of rooms available as upgrades.

As a hotel we welcome all guests equally; leisure, corporate, event, tours and local residents.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    435
    243
    112
    46
See reviews for
173
606
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worksop
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights in October for a friends get together. Reception Staff were very friendly and helpful and so were the bar staff. The Lounge/bar area is very large and impressive, althougth the skirtings were very dusty! The Maitre d' of the restaurant was a little bit pompous and made us feel that we were disturbing him when we asked for a table. The food was reasonably good but the menu was trying too hard to be "posh". The room was fairly clean and tidy, but would agree with 'Antimaps' comment that the rooms are very tired and the bed was not particularly comfortable. The bathroom could do with a complete refurb too. At breakfast I asked for tongs for the croissants and danishes and after disappearing for a few minutes into the kitchen, the waitress returned empty handed and asked me "could you not just use your fingers?" I was not really that impressed, although the rest of the breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard.

All in all, this is a conference centre that caters for meetings, weddings and somewhere to leave your car whilst on a cruise with a one or two night stay included. Again, agree with previous comments that the outside is a bit shabby and could do with being looked at. Certainly not one of the best Best Westerns we have stayed in and would be a bit disappointed if we had come away for "a romantic break"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue1966-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Blue1966-17,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences of the hotel and thank you for your very kind comments regarding the friendliness of our front desk and bar teams, like all comments we receive I will be passing them onto the team.

I will also discuss the dust you noticed in our main hall with Cheryl our Head Housekeeper. Our cuisine and service is something we are well known for and regular reviews are held with the Food and Beverage teams, I will be discussing your comments with them. On our most recent AA inspection the inspector felt our cuisine was of a very high standard and along with our grounds was one the most classed as a 4 star standard. The Hotel itself is a 3 star property.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked for a three night stay to escape London and have a nice stay in country manor while touring the local area.

On arriving at the hotel the approach through the grounds and the facade of the building were impressive. Unfortunately from then on all downhill. We were allocated a room in the modern block which consists of a 3 storey rectangular block connected to the main building by a corridor half way along which was the wedding venue. The corridor had an institutional feel to it ramps and fire doors at either end with lots of signage.

The block felt like a University Hall of Residence. When entering our room it felt similar to what our son and daughter had for their 1st year at University. The furnishings were on the compact side, not much room. You could touch the ceiling without having to stretch. The desk light was cheap I'm sure you could pick up for a £5 or less. The decor was all pastels and soulless. The wall picture looked like it came from a pound land shop. The bed was very uncomfortable. It didn't help that with Weddings on Friday and Saturday there was high spirited noise until the early hours. Management may look to constrain smokers and Wedding party goers to designated areas outside but late night wedding parties tend to become a law unto themselves. However the room was clean.

There was a reasonable spread for Breakfast but can be a bit of a scrum. Coffee was dispensed by one machine where queues often formed. We asked to be upgraded to the Manor but we're told it was full. We didn't stay our paid for 3rd day. We needed som sleep and went home.

The grounds and the surrounding area are worth exploring, but unless you can get a room in the Manor, or want to try a Uni dorm as your Grandma would have decorated using the leftover money from her state pension, give this place a miss.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the modern block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for one night B&B in a double room. I did not try the restaurant or the leisure centre.

I found the hotel to be uncomfortable and poor value. I would not stay here again.

Good:
Clean
The public bar is quite grand and comfortable
The reception staff were efficient and polite
The grounds are nice
Breakfast offers plenty of choice
200 metres from the front gate is a very nice gastro-pub (Chilworth Arms)

Average:
The bar staff seemed rushed off their feet, even though there were two behind the counter and I was the only customer, it still took five minutes to get served!
The reception staff were less than friendly when it got busy

Bad:
Closer inspection of the grand facade reveals a shabby, decaying building in desperate need of care and repair. Some outside public areas really need a power-wash to get rid of the flaking paint and green film of algae.
The rooms! Uncomfortable beds and ancient, cheap furniture. Rotting window frames and a purely functional bathroom.

Amusing:
The clothes people wear to breakfast when they're about to depart on a cruise ship.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antimaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Antimaps,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your personal thoughts regarding the hotel, it’s service and facilities.

I note your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel, our helpfulness of our staff and the variety at breakfast.

In relation to the externals of the building, I’m sure during your closer inspection you noticed that a third of the Manor windows have already been replaced. The remaining windows are far from decaying but inline with our improvements program and for superior energy efficiency the remaining windows of the main manor will be replaced next year. I’m sure you can appreciate it is not possible to carry out further external works during these cold and wet winter months. During these periods we are busy improving our bedrooms and back of house areas.

Thank you again for your comments.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here on the nights of 11-12 November prior to a transatlantic crossing on the Queen Mary. The hotel is excellent value for money, the cuisine is very good and the staff are really first rate. That said, the rooms could do with a bit of "refreshing". Although acceptable, they are showing wear. But for a stay of a few nights or a weekend in the country, this hotel is hard to beat. The grounds are stunning and the rooms are quiet, unless of course the hotel is packed for a wedding reception (those are always unpredictable as to what the guests get up to).

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the reception rooms, in case there is a wedding party having a bash dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Northern 1941,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent pre cruise stay at the hotel.

I was delighted with your comments in respect of our cuisine and ‘first rate staff’.

We are currently going threw a decoration program of our bedrooms, hopefully in the new year we will see the continued investment into our bedrooms, which will allow us to develop the overall experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

stayed here prior to cruise with friends. room and bathroom good size and clean, great views over the grounds. found all staff very friendly and polite. great choice at breakfast.comfortable bar area for a quite drink. would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turnaround S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Turnaround S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent pre cruise stay at the hotel.

I was really pleased to read your comments and glad you had a relaxed and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I used to have a lot of massage but work has been getting in the way lately. I've been suffering from headaches and my Dr suggested having a neck and back massage so I booked myself in the The Club at Chilworth Manor. I can honestly say that I've never had a better massage. Leanne was wonderful! I carry all my stress in my shoulders and they always hurt but she was really gentle and took time to work the knots out. I had a wonderful relaxing time and will be definitely booking a regular course

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwoman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear catwoman 40,

I was delighted to read Leanne in our comfort zone spa was able to help you; Leanne has been with us for sometime and due to her quality has built up a regular client base. She will be delighted to know of your high praise.

We hope to welcome you back to our spa very soon.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
9.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Address: Chilworth Manor University Parkway, Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing