We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet standard expected from Best Western hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
1 review
“Did not meet standard expected from Best Western hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Parking poor - not enough space near the hotel and no lighting on route back to hotel. Dated and tired rooms, in particular the bathroom. Room service food was cold and not of a good standard. Bed was too hard making it difficult to sleep. On the plus side hotel staff friendly and helpful and room quiet and warm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Angela H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

I am sorry we did not meet the high expectations set by the Best Western brand on during your stay. We have car parking spaces for over 250 cars, making it one of the largest of any hotel in the area. Unfortunately not all of these spaces can be close to the entrance.

Thank you for your kind comments about our ever friendly and helpful team, I am pleased your bedroom was quiet and warm.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    453
    255
    114
    46
See reviews for
179
636
38
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I only visited this hotel to have a meal in, so cannot comment on rooms etc. The drive up to the hotel is lovely, and when you first see this hotel it really looks grand. on entering the hotel it doesnt live up to the expectations that you visage in your ,mind. Having said that, we ate in the restaurant, and could not fault the food or the service that we received. it was very good. and I would recommend people to eat there. However, the Restaurant is like the entrance, you get a picture in your mind of what it should look like, and I was dissappointed to find it a little on the small side, and in need of some TLC .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaWaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear GemmaWaterlooville,

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts from your recent meal in our restaurant.

I was thrilled to learn you had an enjoyable meal and you couldn’t find fault with the service or cuisine. Our restaurant is the original dining room from one the Manor was a private residence. It is in an ‘L’ shape so the size of it can be deceiving. It can hold almost 100 diners at anyone time.

I appreciate all the comments you have made and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor once again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked this for my friends 50th birthday and was sadly disappointed. The building and grounds are beautiful however the interior lets it down badly. The interior is dated and shabby. I was quite shocked when I saw our room. For £120 bed and breakfast I expected a lot more, comparing it to other places I have stayed, it failed. Simple things like bedding was lacking in quality. The hallways were shabby and need redecorating. Carpets looked tired. Our walls in room had been patched up with non matching paint. There was no alternative bar for non wedding guests therefore we felt we were intruding and could not relax. Our room was right next to wedding function room so the music was loud even with window closed. Hence to say will not be returning or recommending, which is sad because with a few adjustments the place could be fab.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 112 when there is a wedding on or unless they have refurbished it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Maria G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was obviously disappointed to learn that we had not been able to live up to the high standards our guests are used to and we have set ourselves.

My apologies for any noise disturbances you experienced, as standard we allocate our non-event guests away from any potential noise.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights bed and breakfast at the Chilworth Manor Hotel. The Hotel itself was very impressive. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. The rooms were very comfortable, however the decor was a little dated but this did not detract from our experience. The beds were a bit firm and lumpy. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and must say the food was delicious and very competitively priced. A lovely weekend, would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Isabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Isabelle H,

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts from your recent weekend break at the Hotel.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hotel and the lovely team we have here, I am delighted to read you would return to the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor once again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We used our Tesco vouchers to pay for our stay of 3 nights. It's a beautiful hotel with picturesque gardens. We dined in their restaurant the first night as it was my birthday. A varied choice for each course which were well presented and delicious. Staff were attentive and pleasant. Breakfast was also excellent. A varied menu offering alternatives to the usual full English. We used the spa facilities which were housed in an outer building. Pool was quite large and there was also a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Our bedroom was comfortable with a large en suite. We did find the temperature rather high so we had to keep the windows open all day and night. There was a bus stop near the hotel outside the Chilworth Arms. We took the W1 bus to the middle of Southampton on one of the days and on another we drove to Lymington and took the Wight Link to Yarmouth. An enjoyable stay! We can also recommend the Chilworth Arms for food!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor in room 342. There is no view of the gardens and it was rather hot there. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fflamgoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear fflamgoch,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your comments relating to our team, cuisine and setting. I am thankful you chose to redeem your hard earned Tesco Club card points with us.

It is pleasing to know you took advantage of the public transport, it has recently been improved at it’s something we have been supporting for many years.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Being an old manor house, the decor is in keeping with the building, the room decor looked a bit tired but that is the only non positive aspect of the stay. All staff we dealt with were very welcoming from checking in to going to breakfast, which was also very good. Including the use of the health club on site, this hotel was ideal for a couples leisure break, and on a dry day the grounds would be great for a pre dinner/breakfast walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Gary D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from you recent leisure break at the Hotel.

I really appreciate your kind comments regarding our team being very welcoming, the quality of our breakfast and lovely grounds.

I hope next time you stay with us the weather is more kind so you get the opportunity to explore the gardens of the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

had a pamper session given to me as a present - went on my own last month and felt totally spoilt!
arrived early and had a coffee with the manager talking about my plans for the day. managed to get booked into an aqua class mid-morning so spent a bit of time in the gym beforehand - great machines. after aqua, swam around then relaxed until lunchtime - good choice of interesting sandwiches served when I wanted. after lunch read and relaxed until my treatment - a wrap and facial, expertly administered, then more unwinding till it was time to leave.
coffee and tea (and juices) available all day, space to chill or chat with friends if you were with a group, friendly and helpful staff, nice clean changing rooms ... a fab present
don't know what it cost but I thoroughly enjoyed it ... and would like it if I was given one again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear m s,

Many thanks for your review of your recent day spa retreat at our Health Club.

I am really pleased that our Club Manager Kris made you feel welcome and was able to make space for you in our morning aqua class.

We hope you return for more pampering again soon.

Regards


Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,746 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,028 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
9.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing