We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre cruise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Chilworth Manor prior to a Baltic cruise
Paid £171 for the night and two weeks parking with transfers to and from the port - lovely location in the village of Chilworth but near enough to the port (15-20 mins)

Great start to the holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear PIJLondon,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the Hotel and the pre cruise package you stayed with us on.

I am glad you enjoyed the relaxing location of the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor next time your cruising from Southampton.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

992 - 998 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed at Chilworth Manor on Cruise & Stay Package several times last one in June this year and find it perfect for us, being just off the M3 coming from the North we don't have to drive into the city and the taxi service ( provided in the package) to & from the port is brilliant,no hassle each time being prompt with very friendly helpful drivers.
It is an old hotel so expect few creaky floorboards didn't,t find that a problem,had good nights sleep and room on first floor good size and clean.
Would recommend going to breakfast up to 8.15 as if hotel busy cooked food can get a little low but choice is very good.Staff helpful took us straight to table and offered tea or coffee.
We put our luggage in their secure area so only had take hand luggage to our room.
Complimentary tea or coffee in the lounge is very welcome after walk around lovely grounds and whilst waiting for taxi.
We did not have evening meal as met family who live nearby so cannot comment on quality.
We would recommend this package we think excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Ginger004,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again on our pre cruise package, I am really pleased you find our package perfect for your needs.

Our aim is to make your time with us as trouble free and as relaxing as possible, we like to think your holiday starts a day early when you stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor many more times.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The grounds and main hotel are very nice, however the side area to the other rooms is a fair walk if you have a bit of luggage.

For its location the cost of drinks and food can be compared to London prices. The portion size of some main meals is less than an average starter but with a high price.

Room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Richard S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us, I am pleased your bedroom was clean and peaceful.

We offer a porterage service 24 hours a day and we are only too happy to help guests with their luggage or anything they require.

The prices we charge are very competitive locally and the prices charged in the vast majority of Hotels in and around Southampton are considerably less than those of Hotels in London.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed there with a few friends an family. The staff were all very polite, friendly and welcoming with nothing was too much trouble attitude. They were smart, cheerful and always happy to help. The manor it's self is very well kept with beautiful surroundings to walk around. It has a lovely terrace area with seating, to enjoy your dinner or drinks on. Although its very close to the motorway, you can't hear it when your in the grounds of the hotel it's self. The rooms are exceptionally good value for money, clean and spacious with all you need provided for. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, the menu has a variety of dishes. Which were all made to a high standard and very filling. Breakfast also did not drop in standard, lots of choice and kept us going till tea time. Looking forward to coming back soon. Thank you all at chilworth manor, for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Jo H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you and your friends had a really enjoyable stay and that you found you found the team very accommodating and helpful throughout your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

.Beautiful hotel in very beautiful settings. As you drive along the very long drive you are transformed into yesteryear it is long and beautiful,
The Manor itself is a perfect country house hotel.
i suggest you park right outside the hotel and checkin, unload your bags then try and find a parking space which is quite a walk away if you have bags, be warned...
The reception area is lovely - when booking prior to arrival, try and ensure you request a room in the main part of the hotel otherwise they will put you in what seems to be the next county.
It is a long walk, and with baggage it is a real workout, now combine that with the electronic key not working, the walk back to reception is even longer not only because you have had to leave your bags outside your room in the corridor but you know you have to walk all the way back...again.
The room really was not worth walking once let alone a 2nd time, basic but clean.
Given a choice i would stay again but definitely only in the main part of the hotel...Njoy...
Oh Ps. Breakfast, Staff seem to have this attitude that you are disturbing their tranquil aura by your presence, you do not have your beverages offered to you when you sit down, you are not shown where the buffet breakfast is and i had to ask for the table to be wiped down...sloppy..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Notwhite,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We really appreciated your lovely comments about how beautiful the Hotel and grounds are, we are unique in the local area being the only Edwardian Manor House with substantial grounds for our guests to enjoy.

We have staff on hand to support with guests luggage and we are more than happy to collect them from your car and take them to your room. I am very sorry your key card did not work when you first went to your room, I can appreciate how frustrating this may have been. The electronic locks are there to offer extra security to our guests. We do have telephones along many of our corridors where you can contact the front desk by dialling ‘0’.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Been twice on a cruise and stay basis. The food was first class, the accommodation was in the DL Sayer suite which we hadn't booked, but was very pleased to be in. Comfortable beds and very comfortable pillows. Car was safely parked for nearly 3 weeks whilst we cruised. Prices very reasonable. We feel it beats other more expensive hotels by a long way. Everything about Chilworth manor is recommendable.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babooska64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Babooska64,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us on one of our Park and Cruise packages.

We were really delighted and grateful for your positive comments. Chris Keel; our Head Chef was delighted with your comments about our cuisine.

I am also pleased you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade, we are limited on the amount of upgradeable rooms we have available but we always try to offer them on a complimentary basis to our regular guests and BEST WESTERN reward cardholders.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights (originally booked one but extended). The hotel is an older property and if you are looking for the chrome-modern feel, maybe try somewhere else. It suited our purpose. The room was adequate without being huge, it was clean and the staff were very helpful. It appears to be very popular for weddings so weekends might be busy and possibly more expensive. Breakfast was pretty typical and the grounds were very nice. Depending on dates this hotel may be a touch more expensive than the budget hotels but we thought it was better value and on some days it was less expensive than the local Premier Inn. I have no hesitation in recommending it and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear FLB24,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent 3-night break at the Hotel.

We were delighted to read your comments about our clean bedrooms and helpful staff, we are all pleased you had an enjoyable stay and extended your break with us by two nights.

We strive to offer good facilities and a high level of customer service; I am very pleased you found us good value for money and thank you for your recommendation.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,764 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
984 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: $77 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing