We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with all facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old world charm with all facilities”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. 4 miles from Southampton. Handy to visit Portsmouth. Lovely older building with good sized rooms. Surrounded by beautiful park setting. Adequate parking. Pool and Gym on site. Service very good and meals in restaurant very good. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upstairs room overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Utsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Usta,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent four-night break at the Hotel, we are delighted to be ‘highly recommended’ by you.

As well as enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the Hotel it is good to hear you ventured out to near by Portsmouth. The Hotel is ideally situated on the south coast with great transport links to Bournemouth, Winchester, Portsmouth and along the M3 corridor to London.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    455
    260
    115
    47
See reviews for
183
641
39
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked to stay at Chilworth Manor through Spabreaks.com. We got fantastic value for money, our evening meal surpassed our expectations - Mango Soufflé is a must. We had excellent spa treatments as well (which were included in our package) and the swimming pool/facilities were brilliant. My only criticism would be that the hotel rooms are dated (and missing the luxury that is air con) but it wouldn't stop me from staying again. Also the staff were very polite and efficient. Overall a very pleasent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear RaeEssex,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you felt you had received fantastic value for money for your overnight spa break and that you enjoyed your treatments and our cuisine.

It is true that we do not offer the luxury of air conditioning in our bedrooms; it is not a facility most of the Hotels locally offer. Our Health Club and Meeting rooms are air-conditioned and we have a large stock of fans for guest bedrooms available on request from Reception 24 hours a day.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

visited Chilworth for both the price and the cruise parking stay with taxis both ways. This is truly a lovely hotel set in delightful grounds. We had the luxury of good weather so had a walk around the grounds and particularly enjoyed the untouched woodland. We stayed just the one night before cruising and had only booked b and b when we saw the dinner menu was reasonable and that we would have quite a way to drive or walk to any other venue we stayed for what was a very acceptable dinner. We were a bit disappointed with breakfast it was adequate plenty choice but we felt we could have expected more. Reception staff were very helpful and both getting to and from the cruise terminal was very well organised and we would definitely use again if we were to cruise from Southampton.

Room Tip: because it was a Friday night they had a wedding on and we were at the back of the hotel first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Carol57,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to read that you felt the package was good value for money and that our menu enticed you into the restaurant for your evening meal. I’m really pleased you made time to take in Chilworth Conservation Area; we are very fortunate to have this area right next to the Hotel grounds.

We have recently carried out a review of our Breakfast offer and our new and improved offer will be going live this week.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor next time you are sailing from Southampton.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight on 4 July 2013 prior to a cruise. Great venue and good value for money. Our only complaint was that when we arrived a school prom was taking place and we were unable to park anywhere near the hotel. We had to park way over on the university campus and drag our overnight bags and fight through the relatives watching the prom assemble to get to the hotel. When you have travelled and just want to check in and relax this is the last thing you want. Also our room was near to the venue where the event was taking place and it was somewhat noisy. Had been known about the prom we would have booked elsewhere. Next time we travel if it is in July when the prom/graduation season is in full swing we will avoid Chilworth Manor. Otherwise very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear SassEssex,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your positive comments relating to the quality of the venue and the value for money of the pre cruise package you chose.

I am sorry that there was some confusion over the parking of your car when you arrived, the staff posted on the main entrance should have been clearer in their directions for your allocated parking.

There are many local schools celebrating Proms in July each year and the majority of the local Hotels benefit from hosting these events.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor next time you are sailing from Southampton.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I travelled here for a long weekend with my family. It's the hottest weekend of the year and the hotel doesn't have air con! I have stayed in Travelodges before and they have air con. This is not acceptable for a hotel of this standard! Also we are staying here as a family and we can't cool down in the pool children are only allowed in it for 4 hours a week! Ridiculous! My 3 year old can't understand why she can't go in the pool. I will not be staying here again!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gough41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Gough41,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience of the Hotel.

The Hotel does not have the luxury of air conditioning; similarly the majority of Hotels in the local area also do not have this facility. The standard British Summers we are used to do not normally reach these temperatures and more often than not air conditioning is not required during the summer. We have a large supply of fans available on request from our Reception 24 hours a day.

With regards our child swimming restrictions, these are in place for the private members of the club and for our spa guests. We carry out a review on these restrictions annually; your comments will be included within the review.


Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good Hotel setting with extensive gardens.Has some character within the original manor house.Ample free parking.Extension which houses the main accomodation. Nicely furnished rooms most looking onto gardens. Nice bathroom and good storage with double wardrobe. flatscreen TV. coffee making in room.Free WiFi to all rooms.Comfortable beds.Nice restaurant setting which serves evening meals and breakfast.Good nicely cooked and presented hotel food at hotel prices.The breakfast is buffet style with good variety.there is one toaster and one coffee machine so expect to wait in line.The grounds are very nice with outside seating. The heated indoor swimming pool is an excellent size with sauna and hot room and is located just off the hotel.take your £1 coin for locker (returnable) towels are provided and the changing room includes showers,hairdryer and spinner to dry your swimming costume.Wedding venues at the hotel are frequent so ensure your room is some distance away from their venue. there are probably 3 -5 rooms to close for comfort. Due to a few bedroom carpet stains and frosted-up bedroom window(faulty double glazing) I would rate this hotel as 4* only but well worth the visit. With the extreme recent temperatures the hotel has no air con.The Hotel is located in Chilworth. quiet countryside but only 20 minutes to Southampton and close for New Forest area. There are nice Country pubs serving reasonable priced food further on the road to Romsey.

Room Tip: Ensure room is well away from the Frequent wedding venues Disco music until late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Rogera,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of the Hotel.

I’m certain potential future guests will find your review both informative and helpful. It is nice to know you would offer the Hotel a 4 star rating, as we are actually a 3 star rated Hotel.

We will continue to develop our team and our facilities in order to try and surpass the standards you now expect from the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the near future.


Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for the weekend and as always had a very enjoyable stay. We were upgraded to an executive suite upon arrival. We had a lovely view of the grounds and were able to sit and enjoy an evening drink whilst waiting for our dinner reservation. We were pre warned there was a wedding party in so the disco would be on until midnight but we didn't hear any noise from our room. Food was lovely (dinner and breakfast buffet). Checkout was simple. Will stay again next year when down south.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Catherine M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent weekend break at the Hotel, we were delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated your complimentary upgrade on arrival.

Also thank you for your kind comments regarding our cuisine.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the near future.



Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,777 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
7.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing