We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing wedding venue with exceptional cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
hedge end southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding venue with exceptional cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family attended a wedding here and couldnt have been more impressed the room was lovely with everything you need,the hotel grounds were divine.the actually wedding was beautiful the service was good and the staff friendly but the highlight was the exceptional cuisine asparagus and prosciutto ham tartlet with beet root sorbet,roast sirloin of beef and assorted of chocolate it was all presented beautifully and tasted immense compliments to the chef I would have not hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone first class

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck140372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southamptonmanor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for a lovely review of the Hotel, it’s great to read how much you enjoyed the Wedding.

I know our Head Chef and his team will be delighted to read your comments regarding the food.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the future

Thank you once again for your review

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    434
    242
    112
    46
See reviews for
173
604
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

What a difference two years make....

I last visited CM a little over 2 years ago, before they became part of Best Weston.

Nothing much has changed since then, though one noticeable difference was the restaurant had become busier, which for me was a good sign for a Monday evening.

The staff appeared busy, but not in an efficient way, they kept getting the table orders wrong. One couple next to me, must have been asked 3 times if they had ordered steak!

I had to wait 45 mins for my starter, which was in parts raw. I ordered the wood pigeon. The main course Salmon was much quicker, but was full of bones. I accept a small quantity, but I feel on this occasion was a little over excessive.

I'm due back to Southampton in the next couple of weeks, but I think on this occasion with go down the road the the Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southamptonmanor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

Repeat business is what we strive to achieve as it demonstrates we are doing the right things. It’s obviously disappointing to hear you may try another local Hotel next time you are in the area.

Although we are branded Best Western we are an independently owned and have the had the same owners since 2001 along with the same Management team. We have a new Restaurant Manager due to start early June and I’m sure with his experience he will be able to offer guidance to the team.

As you mentioned we do operate a busy Restaurant and as a whole our service is excellent and the younger members of the team have performed brilliantly during the short period we have had without a Restaurant Manager.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor in the future

Thank you once again for your review

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed one night at Chilworth Manor Hotel before going on a cruise. We were greeted by a nice friendly lady at the desk. Our room was a standard room and we were not disappointed at all.Everywhere was lovely and clean.My husband and I ate in the very pleasant dining room and the food was excellent with very attentive waiters. I had the best night's sleep I had had in a long time and made sure they were aware of this the next morning. It is a very pieceful hotel with a lovely drive to it and lovely gardens. Breakfast was also very good - buffet style. The hotel package we had included a very excellent taxi service to the port and parking for our car in a secure area whilst we were on the cruise. The hotel taxi service on our return from the cruise was also super efficient. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone and would certainly use it again if in the area or on another cruise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshlady61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Have stayed at Chilworth Manor many times and have never yet been disappointed. The hotel is set in stunning grounds including a wild area of woodland with a lake as well as formal gardens. There is a life size chess set in one of the courtyards. The rooms are superb: comfortable, well-appointed, quiet and cosy. The food is superb, whether the buffet breakfast or the waitress service dinner. The galleried bar is a very comfortable, quiet, haven to have a nightcap or evening snack. As for the swimming pool in the fitness suite - we have never had to share it with more than 4 others at once, there is a sauna and a hot tub and lovely warm changing rooms. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone be they young, elderly, couples or families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
625 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We used the spa for the day with a travelzoo deal.
The facial was lovely and the massage very good but could have been more deep tissue.
The pool, steam room and jacuzzi are clean and nicely compact and the light lunch was very pleasant.
I would use the spa again but only at the reduced rate as it is otherwise very pricey.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

For my friends 'hen do' 5 friends and I went to Chilworth Manor in Southampton. We were totally welcomed and spoilt from the moment we got there until we checked out the next day! The staff were lovely, polite, professional and nothing was too much trouble. We spent the whole day in the leisure facilities, having treatments and totally chilling out. In the evening, we had a 3 course meal with lots of alcohol and it was absolutely fabulous and by the end of the night we were exhausted!! We all had a bedroom each and they were very clean and spacious. Breakfast the next day was absolutely delicious. I would most definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms we stayed in were a modern yet aged block behind the main manor house. The manor itself is quite small and is located within an industrial / science area. Bar staff were not knowledgable at all (which one is tequila?). Spa treatments book months in advance so last minute spa days are difficult - check spa availability first. Spa facilities are a separate club located a short walk down the road. The grounds did not seem well tended either...a bit rough around the edges. While we enjoyed the break, the price seemed high and the advertisement on the BW site seems misleading for what we ultimately got. Oh..and breakfast was cold. BW have some much better manor house hotels out there than this one.

Room Tip: Rooms may not be in the manor but in an more modern, yet still aged facility to the rear of the mano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 589645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
9.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Address: Chilworth Manor University Parkway, Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing