We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandys girlie get together”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sandys girlie get together”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

There was a large party of friends to celebrate my friends recovery from the big C . The restaurant / pub catered very well for the large group . the food was fresh ,cooked to perfection and very well presented . the price was reasonable as well , would definitely eat there again !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy6627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

everything was excellent and the food was amazing went with family of 26, food was very quick and was very tasty. lovely atmosphere lovely area. definitely not pub food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tillss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Much more than just pub food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Home made and locally grown food, an interesting menu and friendly, helpful staff. Each time we have visited the restaurant it has was well patronised. Meals are also served in the bar. Ample parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and service”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been here on several occasions: Nana's 99th Birthday, School reunion, and lunch.
On each occasion the service and food was fantastic. I wish I lived in Kirby as it would be my local!
The food is homemade and consistently good. I can recommend it for all ages and all occasions.
When I visited this week, there were lots of mums with babies and also lots of retired people enjoying a good value lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gambiabev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Kirby Muxloe, Leicester
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing