We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing after other good visits”
Review of Castle Hotel

Castle Hotel
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Markfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing after other good visits”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I ate here on a sunny Sunday; they were busy but the staff were friendly; after ordering our food and waiting 25mins we enquired about our order and were told it was on its way; mine was fine but my husband had ordered Mediterranan chicken and when it arrived it was mediocre and the chicken looked more like Turkey. My husband told the staff about this and was offered a complimentary coffee to recompense (they did offer to redo his meal but he declined) The staff were attentive and busy but there did not seem to be enough.
It will be a while before we return i feel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dudie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    87
    38
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“improved food in village pub”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

It had been a while since I had eaten here. I arrived unsure of the quality having had mixed experiences in the past. However I was pleaed and surprised to find that the food has improved significantly.
nice large table to accomodate our party. All starters and mains werecwell cooked and tasty.

just two things:
There are not enough staff! One lad to serve all meals, deliver drinks is not feasible. As a result, pace was slow and tables full of empty glasses
to becgreeted by smokers at main entrance , was offputting. An unpleasant, smelly start to the evening. I felt I was in the way.

nevertheless a good meal so may the improve ments continue , this part of Leicestershire needs decent food and some choice!

s:

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank queenbonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice lunchtime meal”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Having visited this pub a number of times for lunch, the food / service has previously been a little bit variable. On this occasion the food was very good with a wide choice on the menu. In addition to the main menu, there was also a special lunch menu with a limited number of best value options. The service was a little bit slow considering that there weren't that many people in the place, however the waiting staff were helpful and courteous.

The pub has a lovely relaxed feel whilst still being smart, and is in a lovely location. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“.”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Was a fantastic familly restaurant and a friendly atmosphere. Was a very busy evening and there was a wait for food but we was greeted with a smile and was looled after by the duty manager tom who seemed to be in control of the whole restaurant whilse staying calm and polite. Was a great evening and I will return with friends and family

Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Above average pub grub ”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Yeah, nice food - in a nice village,
Worth. Visit. We have been a few times and not been let down. Recommended for a decent pub meal,

Helpful?
Thank LLee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Hotel also viewed

Kirby Muxloe, Leicester
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing