We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Kirby Muxloe B&B and Inns
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We got married at the Castle on 27/10/12 & had the most perfect day. The setting, staff and whole organisation is fantastic. We had one minor blip the evening before, but it was quickly put right & we couldn't have asked for a more helpful team. The food is exceptional & for the cost of our wedding package, it was far better than we expected. An absolutely amazing day, & the staff are a credit to the business. Louise & Andy.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite. The night before the wedding I had my 3 daughters in that room with me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear LouiseCB

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to hear that your Wedding Day was a success and your comments have been passed over to the Management team so that they may share your kind comments with the team.

Many Thanks

Good Nights Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    84
    43
    32
    16
See reviews for
69
91
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Always a good stay at The Castle. Stayed here more than 10 times and always a good experience. Good rooms, iron and ironing board in all rooms, good food, good bar, good access to the motorway and great staff. Highly recommended on all fronts. It does not have Sky Sports but a 5 minute walk around the corner and there is the sports social club bar.

Room Tip: The rooms in the outhouse/anex bit at the back are good if you smoke as there is no long walk to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenoseSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear bluenoseSouthampton,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoy visiting the Castle Hotel, we have passed your kind comments onto the team.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times whilst working in Braunstone. Even though it is effectively a pub with rooms, which as a lone female traveller I would normally avoid, the lovely friendly staff remember me and put themselves out to make me feel welcome and comfortable. There has always been a good atmosphere here whenever I have visited.

The food is great, parking is plentiful, TV is the full freeview menu and free wifi available

The castle itself is worth a trot round and the village is quite pretty with a good deli just down the road.

Good connections for M1 M69.

This is my first choice when staying in Leicester

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awayagainDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear awayagainDevon

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatelet, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Service is very friendly.
Bar and restaurant on location.
Rooms are just missing airconditing, while the windows can't be completly open. So a bit moisty and warm in summer.
The old Castle ruins are to be discovered while looking between the trees on the back of the garden.
Very funny and great place to stay.
Very quite, even though highways are not too far for an easy reach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Flying_Teddy

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Booked through Laterooms so got the usual discount, although all seem to be offering the same rates. We liked the quiet location and easy parking and being just a couple of miles or so from the park & ride was a bonus. Only downside was that we had rather a small room, with very little spare space to move around in. Bathroom was very clean and looked as if it had been recently refurbished. Excellent TV with full set of Freeview channels. Maybe they give the smaller rooms to those who book through the discounters. Overall, quite a good hotel, but their full rates, if anyone ever pays them, look to be a bit on the high side. At least it's not one that we would never consider again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneyBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear StoneyBloke,

Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your experience at the Castle Hotel, We have passed your comments onto the management team so they may take them into consideration at their next review.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I went there for a belated 35th anniversery meal and had an enjoyable and tasty meal with good service with a smile. We would not normally go to pub chain rest., but was pleasently surprised and will certainly go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Normally stay in Leicester city centre hotels, or the hilton/marriot on the outskirts - decided to book into something completely different- a small 'village' inn - and so glad I did. Its basically a large country pub/restaurant with rooms. It was a lovely evening so was able to take my pint and sit out in the peaceful gardens at the rear. The rooms were typical '3-star' accomodation - absolutely fine - on the small side but very clean and comfortable. Best bit of all was the food - could't believe the size and variety of the menu, which often worries me as it can mean 'food bought in', but I had starter and main course that were unusal - and even more so for a place like this - but the quality was just amazing! Both were seafood/fish and were absolutely excellent. I eat out a lot and takes a lot to really impress these days - but impressed I was. Congrats to the chef, and I am (when I get around to it!) writing a personal letter to both the company, the hotel manager and the chef. So, if you don't want the 'big hotel attractions' - fitness centre, pool, etc, and have business on the west side of Leicester (particularly good for the Braunstone Business Park) then give it a try. Oh, and if you have time, visit the castle next door. Its in ruins, but is really amazing to walk around the grounds (didnt have time to do a proper day time tour).

Room Tip: Stayed in what they called the 'coach house' - at least I think that's what it was calle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186220Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear 186220Kevin

Many thanks for your recent review of the Castle Hotel. It was of great pleasure to read your feedback and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have passed your feedback to the Management team at the Castle Hotel so that they can share your kind comments with the team.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirby Muxloe
4.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
3.8 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#18 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Forest East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Farm Main Street, Kirby Muxloe, Leicester LE9 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Kirby Muxloe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirby Muxloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the rural village of Kirby Muxloe, just off the M1 and five miles from Leicester, the Castle Hotel is a beautiful 17th century pub restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing