We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1(Leicester)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winstanley House(Leicester)
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Leicester(Leicester)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Leicester Fosse Park Hotel(Leicester)(Great Value!)
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
110
94
53
37
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
94
53
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish piebooked a tablean evening mealsunday lunchnice breakfastan overnight staylovely roomfull english breakfastpuddingtea and coffeegood nights sleepweddingleicestermanageresspubvenueradiator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 318 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I took my grand parents our for sunday lunch with my partner and what a big mistake that turned out to be! I decided to take them to the castle which was nearby to where they lived, however i had never eaten there before but i have been there for drinks and the place itself is nice, so i thought why not try it....

On arrival we went to the bar to order drinks and was asked are we eating today and if so to take a seat and someone will come and take your order. Well 20 mins later no one had taken our order so i decided to go to the bar again and was told once again to take a seat, so finally after 25 mins we finally ordered our drinks. NOT A GOOD START!

We all opted for the sunday roast a choice of beef, gammon, pork, etc which was reasonably priced at £9.99, this arrived quite promptly to my surprise but it was quite clear why!

To say the least i was very dissapointed and embarrassed when the dinner was served but i thought dont make a scene. Anyway after trying to cut through the yorkshire pudding which was dry and can only explain it looked and tasted like aunt bessies, this was also the same for the roast potatoes which was barely warm! The final straw was the meat which was fatty and cold! I ordered the manager over and said i refuse to pay for this rubbish, which she didnt looked surprised at and it seemed as if she had heard it many times before!

Anyway we left without paying and we had to find another place to go and eat on a sunday at peak time. We found this lovely pub called with the Windmill in Newbold Verdon who were able to accomodate us and the food was like a home cooked sunday lunch!

My advice stay away from the Castle at all costs and dont be taken in by the exterior looks!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asht83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Ash, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the level of service in the restaurant was not up to our usual standards, your comments have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Castle Hotel in a double room on the 1st floor and I would describe it as good value for money - it's basic, comfortable, inoffensive.

The room: compact (there was enough room for 1 bed side table but not the 2nd). Modern + clean. The bed was lovely with crisp linen and a duvet - hurray! ( when i've stayed in similar hotels, you normally get a blanket that never gets washed, just recycled from one guest to the next).

The bathroom looked dated but once again was clean and had a good shower.

The service was fair, although they were rather keen to get us checked out on the day we were leaving - we still had half an hour till official check out time.

We thought the breakfast was too expensive for what it was and opted out.

A few handy hints: this hotel is ideally situated for the M1 motorway, but with the bonus of lovely surroundings - from your bedroom window you can see the ruins of the Kirby Muxloe Castle (an English Heritage site).

Room Tip: The rooms are VERY warm - great for a chilly October weekend. However, when my father-in-law stayed in the hotel in July, he did mention his bedroom was so hot he couldn't sleep, even with the windows open. So either take a table fan with you or request one on arrival if staying here on a hot day!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Travelmerchant, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found the bedroom to be spotless and comfortable. Your comments regarding breakfast and the checkout service have been duly noted and will be passed onto the Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have been away for two years and this place was always a favourite due to the quality.

Upon our return we find that the staff are obnoxious, the owner contemptuous and service just in their way.

What a shame that such a great venue can come under the tenure of such rude, arrogant and unfriendly people.

I will never to their again, and neither will most locals, at least until it has new management.

So sad..........oh, and the food......yuck

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weyoun30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayte W, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Thank you for your review, we are very disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel. At The Castle Hotel Goodnightinns it remains our objective to deliver a high standard of service in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. I will then be able to investigate the issues raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our room, no. 47, was on the ground floor next to the car park.It smelled mouldy when we arrived but we thought maybe it just hadn't been used lately, until at 6am the next morning water came through the ceiling from the room upstairs!The ceiling was stained but we hadn't realised why.We could hear a person snoring loudly upstairs all night, then their television came on at 6 am then we were flooded out by their shower!There was no phone in the room so we waited until checking out before reporting to be told that nobody else had told them about it and our comments would be noted.

The spare pillows were carefully wrapped in plastic, don't know why when they were stained and not clean.

Only 1 bath towel in a double room.

We had an evening meal which was good value but my husband's meal had a corner of a plastic bag in it. We reported this and they refunded the cost of the one course.

Breakfast is served from 7-9am. We went for breakfast at 8.20, there was hardly anything left. We were told that everyone else had been and eaten everything. We asked for more cups and glasses and were asked how many we needed. Only 2 croissants left (there were 4 of us) and we could not have more as they were frozen. Had to even ask for sugar for coffee. We paid over £5 each for this excuse of a continental breakfast.

This visit was a total disappointment and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room so you don't get flooded!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayte W, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. At The Castle Hotel Goodnightinns we endeavour to deliver a high level of service in all our hotels, and we apologise that you did not receive this during your stay. Your feedback has been noted and will be duly investigated by the Management team at our hotel. Since your stay we have had a brand new refurbishment and have solved the problem of the damp in room 47. We have also given all our team vigorous training and as a result the level of service has greatly improved. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My partner and I stayed for two nights in June, on the Saturday it was my 36th birthday. The staff were excellent providing a top notch service. On the first night we shared two platters, one seafood, the other a Greek meze ... scrumptious. Both the fillet steak and the rump steak on the second night were exquisite. There is a beautifully large beer garden at the rear of the Hotel which borders with 13th century castle ruins, well worth exploration. The room was clean and accommodating, wifi a bonus! The staff brought an ice bucket twice to our room on request and were eager to deliver breakfast in bed on both mornings. Neither the drinks or food were overpriced and we were both enamored with Stephens hospitality and his mothers, Chez. The two hoteliers were friendly and efficient, I would not hesitate to stay there again. The village of Kirby Muxloe is quaint, peacefully and pretty, a must for all travelers! We were a little late checking out but the staffs remained patient and polite. Location + staff + great food = great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylanCJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayte W, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one on your special occassion. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews