We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of Star

Star
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chalton
Price range: $20 - $30
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Sorry but the service was terrible, our steaks were over cooked and bland. I did complain but staff were not bothered at all!!!
We have eaten here before and it was ok, but this time I felt as if I was done out of my dinners. The chips were hard the sauce was a strange combination blue chees and pepper. The good good bit was the onion rings whoopee doo. Come on guys it was only steak and chips you should be able to do better :0(

Helpful?
Thank Lillybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Star, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Lillybot,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the food you received at the Star I have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    101
    58
    48
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garvagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We visited The Star (Chef & Brewer) for a family meal for seven people in Feb. The pub is very quaint, with a cosy atmosphere... and low ceilings with beams.
The variety of food offered on the menu is very good, and gives different choices to some other pubs who serve meals...venison etc. Food was plentiful and very tasty. Will visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby6859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“enjoyable meal”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat whilst travelling back from London on a Sunday evening and settled on the Star. We both enjoyed the food we had and the service was ok, with the staff being friendly and efficient. Three hand pumps with Real Ale.Above average chain Pub.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LutonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great pub. poor quality and unfriendly manager.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch. Expensive food. Manager?? was walking around the pub. She could not even manage a smile it was like we was an inconvience. We spent quite a bit of money for lunch. Food very expensive. Nice food but manager needs some communication skills. They need more lunch ideas. Nice pub with no atmosphere. :-((( .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willangelcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton beds
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

had the best meal out for ages this evening at the star .. I chose the scallops followed by the slow cooked lamb .. delicious . disabled facilities very good although I didn't see allotted car parking spaces for the disabled . only critizizm I have was that restuaraunt was full and there didn't seem to be enough staff for the very busy Friday night therefore staff were a little rushed and harassed . if you fancy going there on a busy weekend evening I suggest you book a table . noticed some people couldn't get one .we booked and had no problem

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tillyLutonBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star also viewed

Toddington, Bedfordshire
 
Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
 
Henlow, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing