We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking the South Downs - go the extra mile!”
Review of George & Falcon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George & Falcon
Ranked #1 of 1 Warnford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walking the South Downs - go the extra mile!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wife & I stayed one night. Arrived soaked after walking in heavy rain from Winchester and were immediately welcomed. Our room was well appointed, comfortable & warm. Outstanding food, both in the evening and for breakfast. Genuine & friendly. Go the extra mile from the path and stay at the George and Falcon. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many thanks! It was a pleasure to accommodate you. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    55
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
80
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed overnight 3 times. Each time I had a pleasant welcome and was shown my room. Rooms are great - modern , clean , white duvets etc. Great shower.
Food very good in evening. Matt is obviously proud of his food and breakfast with a warm croissant was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HjayWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dajh, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a meal here on a Friday evening as family of four with two teenagers. I booked the table (as had come here many years ago and was always packed at weekends). The pub was very welcoming and had been completely refurbished to how it used to be; although quite empty. It appears the other few diners were more likely staying in accommodation at the pub. We all ordered our main courses, but it was more than an hour before they arrived. This wasn't a problem as we were enjoying good conversation, just a little concerning when as I said previously not many diners to cater for.

The mains arrived and they were beautifully presented and very tasty. They averaged between £11 and £15 but I think compared to other places we have visited, they could have had a little more potatoes and veg with them. We decided not to choose a dessert.

The 'something missing' - I think is possibly atmosphere because it was very quiet for a Friday night, although the few staff were very welcoming and attentive. We parked in the back car park and noticed that there is a decking area painted in 'new England' style (I believe where the previous conservatory dining area used to be), with lovely patio furniture and I would imagine on a summer's evening looking over the garden with a glass of wine would be really lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diam0nd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We do appreciate all guest reviews and take them seriously. I was personally on hand on Friday evening and do recall your table.
The size of our property is deceptive and we did have a large group of diners in the rear restaurant which may have caused a slight delay to service at the time of your visit.
But I am pleased you found the food to be of the high standard we strive to consistantly achieve albeit it takes a little longer as all dishes are freshly prepared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a couple of nights there over Easter. This is a family run establishment. Matt the chef loves his food and preparing it for guests. We were looked after all weekend and made to feel at home.

The George & Falcon is great for those just wanting a meal or overnight stays. Its in a quiet village location. It was cold weather so we didn't enjoy sitting out in the garden by the river.

Would recommend for walkers, cyclists, business stop overs or a lazy weekend like us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanaryWharfSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a lovely pub which we find ourselves going back to time and time again.
We live in Southampton and find this a nice stop on our travels round the countryside. We are always made very welcome,along with the dog and the food is great !
Pleasant,friendly,cosy and welcoming.

Room Tip: We have never stayed here, but the food is very good and the staff are welcoming and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We are staying at the George and Falcon tonight. The staff have been genuinely helpful and friendly, The rooms are clean. The restaurant is not cheap, but the menu offers local produce and authentic british recipes. The pub and rooms are very nicely presented. Overall we highly recommend the George and Falcon to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strelitsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was helping out on a 3 day course in a nearby conference centre, whose accommodation was fully booked when I enquired. The weather in November was around zero and the daily journey from my home was daunting in the dark both ways. To save some pain, I booked one night in the George & Falcon after reading some positive reviews. The pub/restaurant is right on the A32 Meon Valley road (very pretty in the right weather) with a large car park. My reception from the landlady was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortably furnished with an adequate bathroom and shower. I dined out with colleagues, so am unable to comment on the restaurant. As the pub was closed when I returned, I had to use the combination lock on the side door - in the dark. Not easy until I remembered that I could get a little light from my phone! My 7:30 breakfast next morning was excellent and reasonably priced. Service is friendly. Suggestion: put a light on the lock! Overall - good value for £70 B&B (continental) and a good cooked breakast wihout being ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warnford
6.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,393 reviews
9.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.7 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,763 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
997 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Falcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Falcon

Property: George & Falcon
Address: Warnford Rd (A32), Warnford SO32 3LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Warnford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warnford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — George & Falcon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 18th-century Coaching Inn and Restaurant in village of Warnford on the A32 in the Meon Valley, Hampshire. Five en-suite rooms all AA rated 4*, restaurant for up to 120 people, riverside garden, alfresco dining on the terrace, dogs welcome throughout, log fires during winter months, friendly and welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your George & Falcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing