We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprisingly Unforgettable Clamming Experience!”

Experience PEI - Happy Clammers
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The original providers of Happy Clammers, Gilbert and Goldie Gillis have decided to retire but Gilbert's brother John and his wife Jackie have stepped in to take their place continuing to provide their unique clam digging experience in front of their house on the beautiful Pinette River. You'll dig your own soft-shelled and hard shelled clams (quahogs). After digging, you'll go back up to their house overlooking the river where Jackie will steam and grill the clams for you to enjoy. You're welcome to bring additional food with you...bread, cheese, wine, beer to make a full meal. The experience takes place half an hour east of Charlottetown and is offered daily Monday-Friday subject to John & Jackie's availability. All equipment needed is provided. We have some rubber boots you can use but we suggest everyone come with footwear that won't be damaged if it gets wet.
Utila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Surprisingly Unforgettable Clamming Experience!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This review is definitely a little bit delayed - but me and two friends decided to go clamming with Happy Clammers this past May 2013. We only saw trip advisor reviews from the year before so weren't really sure what to expect. Come to find out we were only the second group of clammers for the season, which explains why! ANYWAYS! What a great time we had!! Gilbert and Goldies house is spectacular beyond belief, so beautiful. They were so warm and welcoming. Gilbert took us clamming right away. We dug up almost a hundred clams I think, and we also picked some mussels from the mussel beds. Gilbert also showed up Oysters (Too bad it wasn't Oyster season!). How remarkable that you pay so much at a Restaurant for a small platter of mussels when you can really just pick them off of a mussel bed!! The experience was just SO neat. When we got back to Goldie and Gilberts all muddy and smelly - We had freshly steamed clams and mussels with a butter sauce (a little crunchy from some sand particles, but this just added to the experience!! So fresh!!), Clam pizza, and pie towards the end. we were absolutely STUFFED. Dinner included great conversation, story telling, and educational PEI and fishing information. We were shown all the different types of clam shells and Gilbert also showed us how to go Oyster digging!! What an amazing UNFORGETTABLE experience. and i recommend this to anyone, whether traveling alone, with kids, with friends, or with a mate. worth every penny!! Thank you so much Goldie and Gilbert and I am truly sorry for this review being so late!
Brooke (From the Cayman Islands).
P.S they also gave me a gift which was a stone with holes in it from the clams digging into it - I use it as a pen and pencil holder :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldie G, Owner at Experience PEI - Happy Clammers, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know that you enjoyed our Happy Clammers Experience. Your very kind review is greatly appreciated.It is so rewarding when we are told that you trully are happy with all aspects of the experience.
We want to thank everyone that booked our experience in 2013. A big Thank You to those that wrote such wonderful reviews about us.
We are looking forward to providing our experience in 2014 and making many more "clammers" happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
guelph
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two VERY happy clams!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My boyfriend Christian and I went to PEI this past weekend and decided to book a clamming expedition - and are we every glad we did! This was defiantly the highlight of our time on the island. Gilbert and Goldie sure have things organized when you arrive at their beautiful abode. Gilbert quickly won us over with his knowledge of fishing around the area and soon enough we were off to ‘hunt’ our dinner while Goldie stayed back and prepared the house for dinner. When we arrived with our catch she welcomed us in with open arms. We steamed up our catch and severed alongside was Goldie’s homemade clam chowder—best in PEI!!! We loved the experience so much that we talked about booking another one while leaving their house. A must do while on the island!!! Thank you so much Gilbert and Goldie a time we will never forget.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is something not to be missed on PEI. Very special people who make this experience memorable. Great for kids and anyone else. From sea to table, some of the best clams I've had, and learned so much about the island, clams, etc. This is one of the true east coast experiences that travelers should experience. Reviews are 100% accurate....you should make time to do this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Claming at its best”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Claming would not of been as exiting without Gilbert and Goldie , they are very special people.
They welcome you into their home ,cook you the best clams that you have ever eaten,very well rounded not only about claming ,but also about oyster chucking ,lobster fishing etc. the trip to pei. Would not of been as exiting without the happy clamers

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clam-sational!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Could this experience really be as good as the reviews? In a word - yes! It was the most money our family put out on any experience during our time in PEI and we drove almost 2 hours each way just to try this out...and it was worth it in every way. Our kids love telling people about it. Gilbert and Goldie are wonderful people and the pride they have in their heritage and their home is evident from the moment that you meet them. We sat at the same table with 820BobB and agree with his review whole-heartedly. The only down side of this experience is that no clam I ever eat again will be as fresh as the ones we consumed on the deck that day. If you ever have the chance...do this...and show up hungry. You'll be glad that you did.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fanookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Experience PEI - Happy Clammers also viewed

Stratford, Charlottetown
Belfast, Prince Edward Island
 
Belfast, Prince Edward Island
Belfast, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing