We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Isis!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Station House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

As one of the couples in a group of friends we were booked in for an overnight stay as we were all attending a party close by. On arrival some of our group were already in the restaurant and had ordered their lunch but the staff re-arranged timings so that we were all able to eat together. The food was great, very hot, and if anything, too much of it, but hoovered up by other members of our party!! We then retired to the garden as it was a lovely afternoon and enjoyed cocktails. Our bedroom was super - the largest i think, but having seen them all, they were all of a similar standard. Super ensuite with a great shower. Anything I didn't like? No hair dryer in the room - there was one available if you asked, but was just expecting one to be there. Breakfast was served buffet style for us, when we all finally appeared, very tasty, but could have been hotter, but i can't blame the staff for that as some of our party didn't arrive until 15 mins after the allotted time. As to the staff - everyone was friendly, helpful and courteous, what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Ours was the big room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went here with the inlaws and what a great place. Whilst we were checking out the menu we had a drink at the bar. Once our table was ready we were taken though to the eating area. The food is superb and slightly more than what I would normally pay but it was defiantly worth it! Recommend it to anyone in the Swinton area!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I have been here a number of times with family. It's not my choice of restaurant. Whilst the food is mostly nice it's overpriced & often not hot enough. My main complaint is the amount of vegetables & potatoes you get with the Sunday lunch. It's just not enough & it's always the same. Carrots, cauliflower & roast potatoes with sharp corners that stab your gums when you chew. Mash potato & spinach can be ordered as an extra but the prices they charge for this are laughable. £3.50+ for about 4 table spoons of spinach. Staff are pleasant & the restaurant manager Mike is a joy.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curlypops1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had a brilliant night at Isis, 19 family and friends went for a meal to celebrate my sister in laws 60th birthday. We all had starters and mains, all the meals came out within a couple of minutes of each other and were hot. All 19 of us enjoyed our meals and said we would not hesitate to go to Isis again. A couple of times we did have to go to the bar ourselves, but, the restaurant was extremely busy and sometimes a walk to the bar is necessary to stretch your legs!! The staff brought out the birthday cake and stood with us while we sang. Thanks again to all the staff, a lovely night was had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy8623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Having been persuaded to visit I was expecting a lovely meal, nearly half an hour to take our orders, another half an hour before being told the starters will be 5 more mins would you like your garlic bread now, 10 mins before that appeared, immediately followed by starters which were lukewarm at best and hardly a mouthful, another 30 mins for mains, one dish had no chilli in it because I think theirs was put in mine, I like hot food, but at least be edible without pain, scalding hot in the middle, cold at the outside (all the time having to put up with the loudest foulest mouthed person at the next table blowing clouds of e-cig smoke our way, disgusting), the worst part, after nearly 40 minutes of trying to get someones attention, was the bill, a bleeding joke - starving now, wish I'd gone for a greasy kebab instead - WILL NOT EVER BE GOING THERE AGAIN

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynzr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner recently moved to the area and saw your restaurant and thought it looked great from the outside as we both love Italian food and being only 5 minutes from home we thought we'd become regulars here as we dine out often. However we had a friend visiting and thought this would be a great time to try it. We was seated to our table and given menus however we was constantly ignored, nobody even came to take our drinks order. I appreciate good food isn't fast food but after being sat for 20 minutes and not even been offered a drink we thought it was ignorant! Especially as there seemed to be plenty of staff stood around the bar area talking and laughing amongst themselves!! It's such a shame the place looked like it had such promise!! Very disappointed!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Went here for works Christmas doo , very full but attention to detail was fantastic .
Lots of very good and pleasant staff on , got served quickly - Nice clientele inside .
Good food at reasonable prices , well presented .
Would go again because service , food and music were really good .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YORKSHIRE123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinton
2.7 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.9 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
1.3 mi away
Hello Hotel Manchester
Hello Hotel Manchester
#1 of 2 in Swinton
232 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Heaton Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Station House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station House Hotel

Address: 390-392 Bolton Road, Swinton, Salford M27 8UX, England (Formerly Isis Hotel and Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Swinton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swinton
Price Range: $100 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Station House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Station House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing