We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average room at an overpriced rate.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hello Hotel Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hello Hotel Manchester
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swinton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average room at an overpriced rate.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

After looking at various websites and photos I had high hopes for Hello Hotel and for the price and location (I was visiting for Tattoo Tea Party) expected a decent service.

On arrival I noted that the handwash dispenser didnt work and noted a bodywash dispenser but assumed this worked as it was all over the bath on arrival. The bathroom was clean in the main areas but skirting boards and floors were filthy as was the bin. There was no shower gel or shampoo or conditioner but on the wall was a sign saying toiletries would be available at reception so thought I would just ask in the morning as we were both really tired.

The bed was comfortable and satisfactory and they did provide water and coffee/tea which was nice. Again the room was hit and miss with cleaning.

In the morning I noticed the bath gel dispenser didnt work so sent my partner to reception. No soap, shower gel or shampoo was available. My partner had to drive to the nearest garage but could only get soap so I had to leave with unwashed hair. I thought for the price that toiletries would be provided as they usually are so didnt pack any.

The breakfast consisted of a bacon and sausage sandwich and orange juice and a muffin. No choice was given for breakfast and we wasnt told what was inside or asked if we were vegetarian. Im not, but did not want the bacon and sausage sandwich so ate just the muffin.

For the price the room and service was very average, for what we got I would normally expect to pay B&B rate, not 4 star hotel rate. I would not stay in the hotel again and will in future stay closer to the event we were visiting.

I would avoid at all costs for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristieNC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellohotelmanchester, General Manager at Hello Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that aspects of your recent experience in our Hotel have given cause for dissatisfaction and we appreciate you taking the time to write about it.
We usually have an experience of receiving very positive feedback from our guests. Having reviewed your comments, we assess your points one by one set training to develop our staff abilities to perform better and more importantly to inform our guest of what we do offer, like choice for breakfast, toiletries, and we have worked closely with our maintenance team on improving the function of our facility for an overall guest experience in our Hotel.
I assure that we take every feedback positively and work hard to create very welcoming and satisfactory stay for everyone of our guest.
I can only assume this was one of an incident and we look forward to welcome you back in near future for an enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Hello Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    78
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
64
58
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epping, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was a last minute booking for me as I walked out of another hotel due to the room being a health hazard. The Hello Hotel in Swinton was like a breath of fresh air. I turned up, early Saturday with no booking, and was met by a very friendly receptionist. Shown a nice clean and spacious room and enjoyed a perfect nights sleep. Good powerful hot shower, comfy bed and even though it is situated next to a major A road the with the windows closed I couldn't hear a thing. When I left the following morning another very friendly receptionist had my 'grab and go' breakfast ready (a sausage and bacon roll, muffin and OJ). Tea and coffee plentiful. Will definitely recommend and stay again. You turned a nightmare situation into a dream! Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

booked out 3 rooms for a night out with mates in Manchester. Easy booking process, free car parking and friendly staff. Excellent location booked a taxi into Manchester, which cost around £12 for 6 of us. Very clean rooms, comfy beds and a nice breakfast bag in the morning plus free tea and coffee throughout the stay! Quality and Value

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Easy to book, fantastic price, genuinely friendly and helpful staff..mega clean and all the facilities needed for our visit to Manchester to watch United at Old Trafford ! Ten out of ten...we'll be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed over on Christmas Day night. The three members of staff we encountered over our visit were friendly, courteous and made sure we were settled.

The room was comfortable, with a huge bed, good powerful shower. The breakfast that was provided was just what we needed.

The hotel was under construction and so we didn't have use of the lounge but that did't bother us.

Would def use this hotel chain and this particular hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazAsh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and good value. Have stayed here twice now and would return again. Especially as restaurant due to be built soon. Have nothing negative to say - great breakfast bag, free wifi, good tv. Watch out Travelodge!

Room Tip: Prefer the back as less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janjan5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Decided to book this hotel for an overnight stay after looking at the previous excellent reviews. We arrived earlier than planned, but were allowed to check in a few hours early by the helpful and friendly lady named Mary on reception. Mary also recommended to us the best places to visit in the area and how far away they were. Our room was spacious and more than adequate. Both the room and the en suite bathroom were spotlessly clean and the large bed was really comfortable. Takeaway breakfast was good with a sausage and bacon sandwich, a muffin and an orange juice with tea/coffee provided. The hotel was very quiet on a night time enabling all guests to get a good night's sleep. I think when the refurbishment work on the hotel and adjoining restaurant is completed, the hotel will be excellent! I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone visiting Manchester!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tybalt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinton
1.7 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
1.7 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Isis Hotel and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Swinton) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Hotel Manchester

Property: Hello Hotel Manchester
Address: 267 East Lancashire Road, Swinton, Salford M27 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Swinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hello Hotel Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Hotel Manchester is a quality budget hotel from the hello hotel group situated within 5 minutes drive of Manchester city centre. All room rates included free Wi-Fi, free parking, free coffee/tea and a free hot takeaway breakfast. Ideally located for football stadiums, Trafford centre shopping and Manchester Arena. Situated on the A580 it is within easy reach of all major motorways. Say hello to a good night's sleep........................... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hello Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing