We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular place with delicious dishes”
Review of Puccini's

Puccini's
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Swinton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Popular place with delicious dishes”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived fairly early and received a warm welcome, however, they squeezed in one too many tables as staff and customers constantly bumped my chair (my son in a high chair was shunted half a foot along when a customer accidentally kicked his chair leg).

Ordered a special for starters - smoked salmon with crayfish which turned out to be either hatchlings or shrimps.
For a main I ordered Penne Al Salmone which according to their menu was smoked salmon but turned out to be plain salmon.
Regardless the dishes were delicious and the service warm and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rckl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    96
    49
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, Scotland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fabulous Authentic Italian”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited at the weekend with our Manchester friends. What a gem of a restaurant this is. Greeted at the door by lovely staff, very attentive throughout our meal without being 'in your face'. Menu is excellent and all our food was just delicious! We had a litre bottle of house red wine, what can I say, probably the best wine I have tasted in a while, and I drink a lot of the stuff! Ambience is just perfect in here, you feel as if you are sitting in a bistro in Italy. We even got kissed on both cheeks when we were leaving - us ladies that is! Typical Italian hospitality. Keep up the good work guys and we hope to return for some more delicious nosh on our next visit. Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfHols31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The only place the fairer half and I go when we really want to treat ourselves. The atmosphere is second to none and made all the better by the juxtaposition of it's warmth against the cold Sovietesque backdrop of Swinton Civic Centre.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced and ok food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is over rated, all the pasta dishes taste the same! Lasagne nice and the spinach ricotta tortellini but everythin else very mediocre. They pack you in like cattle and its very over priced for a little restaurant in Swinton and you don't get that much, expect to pay about £20 per head and still be hungry and not really of enjoyed what you ate very much. Sort your prices out to reflect what you serve and make a bit of room and would be a little gem. I also think the man united tat which covers the restaurant is not appropriate and very tacky, some of the dishes are named after man unt players which they think makes it elite and special and overcharge you for a simple pasta dish, I'm not that impressed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Shellby1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Happy, passionate staff about the food, lovely and refreshing.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited several times now, everything has been brilliant every time. Staff are so passionate when they talk about the food, made to feel very welcome. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini's also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Worsley, Salford
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Puccini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing